We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
17
17
7
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
17
7
4
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Very large room, very central location right in the heart of the old city. Nice breakfast in a beautiful room overlooking the main square and the duomo. Very basic cooking facilities just 2 hotplates, no oven, no microwave. I thought it was a bit overpriced especially for mid January. Shower had jacuzzi jets but our shower door was missing so we couldn't switch them on!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DalissMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

The hotel is located right in the center of old town, on the second and third floor. The rooms are nice and clean. But the hotel has some down sides too:
- Parking is about 10 minutes walk away
- Old town with it's bars and restaurants can be rather loud at night, so bring ear plugs
- Breakfast starts at 7:30. I was on a business trip, and had to be on the way to the customer at this time. So, no breakfast at the hotel for me.
- The WiFi didn't work, and they were not able to fix it in the entire week of my stay.
It is a nice hotel with a great location, but it just doesn't work for a business trip.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coyotetrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2008

First the good things - we had one of the flats overlooking the cathedral. The view was amazing, and we never tired of looking out over the piazza watching people. The suite itself had plenty of storage space, so we weren't falling over suitcases and boxes. There are lots of great shops and bars close by, which made both self-catering and eating out easy and fun.

The 'suite' itself, however, was very average. We had booked for 4 adults, but were given a suite with one double bedroom, one (tiny) single room and a sofa bed. This meant that my father-in-law ended up sleeping in the main room on a very narrow sofa, which was not ideal. Most of the lights didn't work, nor did the fan in the bathroom, which wasn't great with 4 people using it. The air conditioning was very noisy, and most of the vents were blocked by a decorative casing leaving it ineffective. The kitchenette had very little in the way of cooking equipment - so the knife, tea towel and spatula I had brought with me came in useful. It also cost 30 Euros extra if you didn't clean it yourself before you left. The suite itself was 'serviced' quite randomly. The rubbish was removed a couple of times, but towels were not changed all week (again an extra charge), nor toilet paper replenished. No cleaning was done at all, but nor was a dustpan and brush or any other equipment provided so we could do it ourselves.

We didn't use the front desk much, apart from asking them by email to make a reservation at a nice restaurant for my husband's birthday. We were assured they had done this, but on arrival discovered that, because it was a Monday, everything was closed and no booking existed. We ended up finding a nice, simple restaurant ourselves.

On balance, the convenient location and great views made up for the suite itself, which was just adequate, though perhaps better for 2 than for four.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suite Duomo, Manager at Suite Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2008

We would like to respond to this review to clarify some comments provided by the guest.
As specified in all the internet web sites where our structure is publicized, Suite Duomo offers 2 different way of accomodation: Hotel and/or apartment.
The hotel has very large single, double, triple and quadruple rooms and guests can avail of hotel services such as daily cleaning, breakfast, reception service, room service etc.
The apartments are very large and composed of two bedrooms (a double and a single), a living room with sofa bed and kitchenette. Naturally, this kind of accomodation is cheaper than the hotel, so we do not provide daily cleaning, breakfast and room service. However, we do offer reception service.
The guests can possibly misunderstand the two different types of accomodation because the apartments and the rooms are allocated in the same building, so they can easily think that the services are the same. For this reason in the booking email we clarify the details and services included in the rate.
Even this guest received the same email where we specify that the breakfast and the daily cleaning service is not included in the apartment rate. The hotel only provides sheets, towels and courtesy products (soap, shampoo, toilet paper) when the guest first arrives. If during the stay the guest needs new sheets or towels, there is an extra charge, otherwise we have the selfservice laudry without an additional charge. For TripAdvisor pivacy policy we cannot enclose the emails sent to the guest. If you book an apartment in any place in the world would you expect the landlord to clean the apartment everyday and do your laundry and take out the garbage?
We also want to clarify that for the Italian jurisdiction all the bathrooms have a ventilation system and that the hotel uses ecologic lights (so some of the spotlights have been voluntary deactivated, without jeopardizing the correct illumination of the apartment).
Hopefully we have clarified the situation and we would like to thank TripAdvisor for the opportunity to respond to reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

This hotel is very well situated in the center of town. Our room had a view of the Duomo which was very nice. The problem is that at night the bars in the Piazza Duomo are open very late and the noise can be a problem. We ran the fan on the air conditioner and it blocked out the street noise our second night. The hotel has a lovely roof garden which is lovely for breakfast and for relaxing after dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2008

Thank goodness I listened to the majority of reviewers on Suite Duomo! I saw two reviews badmouthing this hotel, but I can only imagine these two folks are unhappy anywhere.
Suite Duomo was the best deal I had during my stay in Italy - a number one in my book. The views were incredible, the rooms were huge, modern and comfortable, the staff was great, and the price was a bargain. Book a room facing the 11th century Duomo - I called directly for a room and the staff spoke good English.
The town of Ferrara was a diamond in the rough - a great stop between Tuscany and Venice if you can afford a stop for the day. Make sure you take a bike trip around the town wall, visit the Museo della Cattedrale right next door (with some real jewels of artwork) and walk the medieval town. See Palazzo Schifanoia for some beautiful murals. This is a great town for biking and walking since cars aren't allowed in the majority of the city center and isn't overrun with hoards of tourists being so close to Venice. I also took a day trip to Bolgna by train - about a 30 minute train trip and enjoyed the sights there immensely as well.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LuvToTravelGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews