We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pictures do not tell all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arathena Rocks Hotel
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Giardini Naxos
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Me and my sister stayed in hotel Aranthena Rocks on july 2017 one week. There were some that were good some were not.

Good:
Beautiful pool area, with plenty sun chairs choose from.
Excellent cleaning staff. Cleaning standards met our requiment.
Hotel staff spoke well enough English.
Quiet hotel, not for partying.

Negatives:
Hotel is far from centre of Giardini-Naxos, nearest grocery store is 1 km away. It's long walk with heavy water bottles.

Hotel breakfast was quite poorly, plenty to cakes choose from (we thought that they served day old cakes from dinner buffet). Basic coffee and bread with some meat.

And room... our was poorly dated, some would say that they were decorated with old-fashioned italian charm... we found toilet sink in room (not in the bathroom), open consept shower and separate wc. It can be issue with some at least if you need total privary when doing your bathroom chores.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank SoileR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Very friendly personnel. We booked the honeymoon suite for 9 nights in July2017 and were gifted a bottle of local wine. Our room had the most beautiful view! The rooms are cleaned every day. The pool is clean and filled with sea water. Very quite neighbourhood. 5 minute walk from city centre. Possibility to book day trips at the hotel and being picked up at the end of the street.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kübra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We got a bit off on the wrong track while taking a walk in the outskirts of Giardini Naxos. 1 km walk from the beach left us at a dead end street and us facing the Arthena Rocks Hotel. Having the choice of walking back or trying the Arathena kitchen - we let our stomachs decide. Upon entering the reception, we asked for the restaurant and where unenthusiastically pointed in the right direction.
When entering the restaurant, we asked if we could sit outside but were told only drinks outside. Inside, the empty restaurant, the TV-set was blasting the news and the staff more interested in spending time playing with the mobile phones than to serve.
The menu was bland and uninspiring. Eventually, we got to order in the end, and yesterday's bread was served with olive oil and balsamico. But we had to ask for plates to pour the oil and balsamico for the bread.
We both ordered the mozzarella and parma ham sallad. The sallad contained mozzarella, parma ham, leaf sallad, carrot and tomato. No dressing, no spices or any other taste enhancing ingrediences. Utterly boring and bland.
The water ordered to the food was forgotten and only upon us taking the final mouthfuls of sallad they seemed to remember and offered to serve it. We declined. At least we did not have to pay a service fee.
We feel sorry for the guests staying here as their food options are extremely limited since it's quite a bit of a walk to the restaurant in Giardini Naxos.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank mr1336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Stayed at the Arathena Rocks for 2 weeks second half of August. For the first few days for the Ferragosta (Assumption) holiday weekend, the hotel (and the one beside it which shares the hotel pool) was very busy - as was Taormina in the evening. Lots of older Italian older/couples/families there who knew each other from going back every year at the same period. The following ten days there was a mixture of all nationalities. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas to go around even when the hotel is full and the pool attendant will get you one if they happen to be all taken. The pool is cleaned daily. There were those who as usual reserved their sunbeds the night before and didn't turn up until late... Be aware that there are no activities offered during the day and live music only one evening a week. My teenage girls moaned that the free wifi wasn't great and it's available only in the public areas including the pool area. The breakfast (included) was good and varied with lots of fresh Sicilian oranges to be squeezed yourself. The staff throughout the hotel are very pleasant indeed and the hotel is full of quirky and period pieces of furniture and objects most of which came from churches. We had very good lunches there as it was easier to just walk up from the pool to the breakfast/lunch restaurant than going down the road to a restaurant. We didn't have dinner at the hotel but walked the 5 minutes to the end of the road and then along the seafront where you can find a wide selection of restaurants. Our two rooms overlooked the sea on the second floor and were large and comfortable with a lovely view across to Calabria - not the most modern but very clean with plenty of wardrobe space and a safe. When we arrived the hairdryer wasn't working but it was replaced the very next day by the maintenance man who is always available. There are a few rooms with bath and others with a shower cubicle only. The water pressure isn't great at times and it's hard to get the temperature just right. We were told that the third floor rooms (as well as the façade of the hotel which is in need of a lick of paint) would be done this winter. I got the impression from other guests that the third floor rooms were smaller than those on the second floor. There's a wonderful view across the bay to Taormina and Castelmola all the way along the seafront of Giardini Naxos. At the end of the road you'll find a bus stop for buses to Taormina and other places - ask at reception for the timetables.
The hotel is kept very clean and you can see that all staff work very hard to keep it that way. All in all very happy with our stay and would return to the Arathena Rocks again if we were to visit that area.

Room Tip: second floor sea view rooms are large with a great view. Mountain view rooms at the back have virtua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LyndaLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful week at the arathena rocks hotel. The service was always great, and the food was good as well. The sun beds were comfy and the rooms was nice. Very old furniture and decorations but that was part of the charm. My sister didn't like the spaghetti al Pomodoro so she got a discount on the price. I borrowed a adapter for my mac charger all week. The experience was overall great! The only thing that bugged me was the food times. There was a few hours between breakfast-lunch-dinner, quite many actually where there no food to buy, at all. So if you didn't eat at these times you either had to walk to giardini naxos, 10-15 minutes, and buy something there or wait! And for me who sleeps longer than 0930 on holiday, I starved some of those mornings! Haha.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Giardini Naxos hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Kalos
Hotel Kalos
#12 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
147 reviews
0.1 km away
Nike Hotel Sicily
Nike Hotel Sicily
#14 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
60 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#1 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
Hellenia Yachting Hotel
#25 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
432 reviews
0.8 km away
Villa Daphne
Villa Daphne
#3 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
280 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#19 of 38 in Giardini Naxos
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arathena Rocks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arathena Rocks Hotel

Address: Via Calcide Eubea 55, 98035 Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Giardini Naxos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Giardini Naxos
Price Range: RM396 - RM763 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arathena Rocks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arathena Rocks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arathena Rocks
Arathena Rocks Giardini Naxos
Arathena Rocks Hotel Giardini Naxos, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing