We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location- food nothing special”
Review of Rocce Azzurre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocce Azzurre
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Lipari
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely location- food nothing special”
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Just returned from a tour to the Aeolian Islands with Travel Editions. The Rocce Azzurre is beautifully situated unless you have walking difficulties, as one of our party did- it's quite a steep climb to get down to it, and back up to the town. The hotel is very clean, and the sea-view rooms a delight. Breakfasts were boring- identical fare each day. Very unimaginative- adequate, but not fun. Other meals fair, though we didn't eat a la carte. Certainly not the best in the island. Out tour manager took us to family restaurants in Lipari and Salina that were much better- really exciting cooking. The staff at Rocce Azzurre were very friendly, and always helpful.

Room Tip: It's well worth paying the extra for a sea-view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julian1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    54
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
26
97
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is the best on the island. Adriano and his daughter know how to treat their guest.I travel all over Italy with my friends and I have to say this is one of the nicest places and hotels we have been to. It is my second time there and it will not be my last. See you soon Lipari and Hotel Rocce Azzure
Nancy

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

I returned to the rocce azzurre for the second time in two years because we could think of nowhere we'd rather spend our holiday. As it was last time, everything has been fantastic. The rooms and hospitality are both first rate but special mention must go to the food - it is the best in lipari in my opinion and I have tried many restaurants. I was surprised to see one review comment that everything was good EXCEPT the food!? If you want burger and chips, stay in Blackpool. If you want proper fresh Italian food at it's most authentic, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinyEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We have just returned from 10 wonderful days at the Rocce Azzure, and it was again very difficult to leave! Adriano, Ariana and all the staff are so attentive and made us feel extremely welcome. Nothing was too much trouble to ensure that our stay was perfect. The location is superb and dinners on the terrace watching life on the Tyrrhenian Sea must be one of the most relaxing and beautiful restaurant views ever. The food was absolutely delicious - beautifully grilled sea bass, excellent risottos, home-made pasta. The room was spotlessly clean and very well maintained as always. A fantastic venue to recharge your batteries. We'll be back next year, if not before!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCWeybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I have just returned from a holiday with my daughter who wanted to celebrate her 21st birthday with me by climbing volcanoes. The hotel is in the most beautiful spot overlooking the sea, there is a sunbathing platform , where you can lie and listen to the sound of the sea all around and swim in the beautifully clear turquoise water from the steps. The hotel has 33 bedrooms and all of the staff are warm and welcoming especially the proprietor and his daughter who are natural hosts. We travelled on BA flights which meant we arrived on the mainland after the hydrofoil finished but the hotel had chartered a boat so that we were able to complete our journey, gaining a wonderful view of the lunar eclipse from the top deck, arriving at the hotel just after midnight where we were warmly welcomed and there was a light meal available. It is possible to book excursions from the hotel - at least as cheap if not cheaper than booking direct with the companies in town. The pleasure boats go from the Marina Corta. An alternative is to go to the other harbour - the Marina Lunga - from where the hydrofoils and ferries go to all the islands. There is also a very good bus service which leaves from this harbour. The highlights for us were climbing up to the crater on Vulcano and walking up to the Geological Observatory.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lam70he
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lipari hotels
0.6 km away
Borgo Eolie Hotel
Borgo Eolie Hotel
#1 of 33 in Lipari
551 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Mea
Hotel Mea
#5 of 33 in Lipari
457 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Carasco
Hotel Carasco
#24 of 33 in Lipari
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Villa Enrica - Country Resort
6.4 km away
Hotel Residence Acquacalda
1.1 km away
Hotel Aktea
Hotel Aktea
#4 of 33 in Lipari
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocce Azzurre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocce Azzurre

Property: Rocce Azzurre
Address: Via Maddalena 69, 98055, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Islands of Sicily > Aeolian Islands > Lipari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lipari
Price range (per night): RM592 - RM1,184
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocce Azzurre 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocce Azzzurre Hotel is situated in the quiet bay of Porto delle Genti, 10 minutes from the tourist harbour. It features 32 well appointed bedrooms equipped with modern comfort and spread over three floors. For your convenience the hotel provides a restaurant, a bar and a terrace where you can enjoy the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Rocce Azzurre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocce Azzurre Hotel Lipari
Rocce Azzurre Lipari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing