We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”
Review of Hotel Cernia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cernia
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Marciana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

It is a Very nice spot, well situated
Beautiful garden and nice place to hang around for breakfast
A bit too big and commercial, rooms correct no more and service not at the top

Can find more convivial in Italy
...

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Booked a table with view on the stunning botanical garden (worth a walk). Service was really good. Had fish dinner: original variation of typical Italian dishes. Tasty and with a little Asian twist. We had a bottle of Ansonica from Elba. Fresh and lemony. Pleasant. Price was also in line with what we had (50-60 euros each). I would recommend it for a romantic dinner (all other restaurants nearby are all somehow the same in terms of menu. All average. This one sticks out)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Highly disappointing place despite the previous reviews we read. Although the hotel is advertised as one of the best 3-star hotels in Elba, we faced an extremely rude staff, a tiny room with paper walls and a very small, fully crowded beach. Except the only one English-speaking lady at the reception, the staff was highly unprofessional and arrogant, especially the main waiter, who for some unknown reason felt to project superiority towards us all the time. We even heard the staff talking about us in the kitchen, since they did not assume that we understand them. Although the environment is nice, it can't compensate the rudeness and attitude towards visitors, so do yourself a favor and find a better place to stay in Elba!

p.s. Unfortunately, we did not make pictures about the room.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dorottya02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isolabotanica, Direttore at Hotel Cernia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Considering that you are giving us your opinion for the second time, we would like to answer kindly to your rewiew once more. Many many thanks for all the attentions that you decided to provide to our hotel : ) ....

"Of course we take responsibility if something went wrong but we are do not agree with you with regard the score very penalizing compared with the "Quality" that everyday we try to offer at restaurant, with our helpful staff, in the service, about the rooms, in the swimmingpool, and in others details... Anyway, our very good lady at the reception is not the only one English-speaking person in the hotel and , I assure you, nobody here behaves arrogantly. Be hospitable is our first thought. Best regards"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

A nice lovely evening in a nice setting - prides itself on its greenery. Attentive staff. Really Good food. Food is very well presented and is tasty. Having enquirer about rooms we wish we had stayed here rather than where we are staying.
Would definitely go back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank amit19822016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Although we were not staying at this hotel, we passed it several tines during our daily walk to the beach. We were attracted by the wonderful gardens and planned to treat ourselves to a meal surrounded by them as the restaurant was open to the public.
The waiter came to take our drinks order and was obviously offended that we didn't order wine. From then on, he was rude and made us feel so uncomfortable that we decided we didn't want to eat there and left to go to our friendly beach bar!
On our way back home, we passed as the friendly barman was outside and we apologised for not staying to eat and explained why. We will not return.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Nuttalls0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isolabotanica, Direttore at Hotel Cernia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Good Evening,
We are really sorry if we did something wrong; if our job was not well done it is our responsibility!
We just would like to say that of course for us our guests are all equal and we don't make differences if they just drink a bottle of water, wine, just a coke, a glass of milk... :)



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marciana
7.8 km away
Hotel Montemerlo
Hotel Montemerlo
#1 of 5 in Fetovaia
477 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Sant'Andrea
Hotel Sant'Andrea
#11 of 22 in Marciana
205 reviews
21.5 km away
Grand Hotel Elba International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Hotel Hermitage -- Portoferraio
8.5 km away
Hotel Del Golfo
Hotel Del Golfo
#1 of 10 in Procchio
447 reviews
14.6 km away
Hotel Airone del Parco & delle Terme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cernia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cernia

Address: Via San Gaetano 23 | Capo S. Andrea, 57030, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Marciana
Price Range: RM400 - RM954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cernia 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A house open to imagination and an enchanted garden in the wild heart of the island of Elba. The Cernia is a house greeting its guests with love. Its interiors say a lot about the care for particular that keeps on drives this place. The Cernia is also an enchanted garden where to rediscover the child that is within all of us. It is an art hotel and a curious and fine cooking restaurant that, while keeping a view to Mediterranean customs, grounds its roots in Tuscan traditions. First of all the Cernia is a place where people greet other people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Cernia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cernia Hotel Elba Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing