We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baglio Donna Franca
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Marsala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Amazing place, amazing service, amazing wine, amazing food, amazing rooms! What else do you need? The view is also spectacular and the sunsets are breathtaking! I will always bring my clients in this place! Thanks Angela for your great support and work!

Room Tip: suites are amazingly beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luca V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaglioDonnafranca, Hospitality Manager at Baglio Donna Franca, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Luca V,
thank you for these lovely words, it's the reward for what we do with great passion every day!
We're really looking forward to welcome you next season, a lot of surprises are on the way!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

This is one of the jewels of Sicily!
From arrival to departure,the experience is amazing. The beautiful and elegantly Italian design and service can’t be improved on.
The winery tour and tasting is not to be missed.
Breakfast is the best we’ve had at all the hotels we have stayed at in Italy and Sicily!
And as for dinner, the quiet and sophisticated dining experience will set the romantic evening perfectly.
This is one place all my friends will be referred to,

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank loveFoodWestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaglioDonnafranca, Hospitality Manager at Baglio Donna Franca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear loveFoodWestVirginia,
thank you very much. All the staff here at Baglio Donna Franca is very proud in reading your words, every day we try to do our best in order to give you unforgettable moments in Sicily and for us is a real pleasure when our preciuos guests love the time spent here with us.
We're looking forward to welcome you again soon!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

It was annoying to have to put up with a wedding reception in a place that should be quiet and peaceful . The owner apologized stating that the reception was scheduled at the last hour. I traveled with my siblings, a family get together. We booked 5 rooms and we all paid the same amount yet the rooms were totally different in size and look, and should not have had the same price. Do not book a room on the first floor! You will have a problem with privacy and you will have a car parked right in front of your window!
On the second floor make sure you have a BIG room. I had room 205 which was a normal size. Furniture in the room are like your grandmother's, bathroom is ok but needs to be fixed. (The sink did not drain well.) Restaurant is ok. Breakfast too. No bar or aperitif, just so you know.

Room Tip: Second floor, room 203, 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gioia44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaglioDonnafranca, Hospitality Manager at Baglio Donna Franca, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Gioia44,
thank you for your review. We would like to give you our feedbacks.
For what concerns the wedding reception yes, it was a last second request this is why we didn't inform you in advance.
For what concerns the fee for the rooms, our reception manager decided to offer to your group a discount applying to the deluxe with view room the same fee that is for the standard one.
We kindly invite you to browse our website and see how all rooms have different fees. Apparently, it wasn't a good idea giving to your group a discount since all of you complainted about it instead than appreciating it.
Upon arrival we ask to all the guest do not park in front of windows' room, but sometimes it's really complicated to deal with everyone bad behaviour.
Our bar is open all day every day to prepare drinks or aperitif.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Quite nice small guest house / hotel just outside of Marsala. Rooms quite basic, but comfortable. A bit small and dark. Bathroom basic but ok. Not much to do close by. All other restaurants a drive to. Marsala about a 15/20min drive away. A lot of garbage all around the place nearby, quite dirty. Can hire electric bikes at the property - worth doing, but do organize it well in advance as it takes quite some time to get it organized with the staff (over an hour of messing about). Restaurant has good food - but is really spoilt by the service, which can be very poor, depending who is working (Flavio was excellent, the young girl waitress was terrible - very rude, very slow and very unhelpful- she either needs a lot more training, or needs to get a different job). Watch out for the final bill, which is not fully broken down, no visibility into the charges such as bar / restaurant - so its not easy to see if all charges are correct or not. Also charged a fee for the use of pool towels, which is pretty poor, especially as they did not mention this at the time. Vineyard tour is poor - would not recommend. Expensive, formulaic and only a small number of wines to try. Better places to do a vineyard tour for sure. probably better places to stay too.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I've been very disappointed with my stay at this hotel: we booked a night because of all the good reviews, but did not get the experience we were expecting. As we arrived, we realized that there was a wedding happening in the courtyard of the baglio. The host apologized, saying it had been a sudden request and that she was unable to let her guests know of it, saying she would amend with a free cocktail.
In the end here's what happened: we were lodged in a room in the adjacent courtyard, loud music went on until well past midnight, we never had our free cocktail and we never even had our Booking "genius" free welcoming cocktail. We were presented our bill at the end as if nothing had happened.
I understand a wedding event brings much more money than an overnight guest, yet I believe the hospitality industry should be respectful of all the guests nevertheless. I would have felt more respected if they had told me in advance, offering alternative staying options in the area. It would have been a much less awkward situation for all of us.
This said, the property looks nice, the rooms are small and minimalistic, the food at the restaurant is just ok. The only thing that shines is the breakfast with fruit, charcuterie, cheese, cereals, juice and a vast choice of desserts.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank chiya_serena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BaglioDonnafranca, Hospitality Manaher at Baglio Donna Franca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear chiya_serena,
we are very sorry that you dind't enjoy your stay at Baglio Donna Franca and we would like to reply to your comments.
The request for the wedding reception came from out of the blue, even less than 24 hours in advance, this is why we didn't inform you, not because we wanted to disrispect you or any of the other guests in any possible way.
For what concerns the cocktails, we believe that it's not correct if we decide when and how a guest should have them, so it's up to you to order them at your convenience, and you have never ordered them, this is why you have never had them.
We hope that in the future you will give us another chance in order to change your mind.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marsala hotels
11.3 km away
Carmine Hotel
Carmine Hotel
#2 of 18 in Marsala
578 reviews
5.8 km away
Rainbow Resort
Rainbow Resort
#4 of 18 in Marsala
108 reviews
8.9 km away
Villa Favorita
Villa Favorita
#6 of 18 in Marsala
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Baglio Cudia Resort
Baglio Cudia Resort
#9 of 18 in Marsala
111 reviews
16.3 km away
Hotel Baglio Basile
Hotel Baglio Basile
#1 of 1 in Petrosino
1,716 reviews
11.1 km away
Best Western Hotel Stella d'Italia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglio Donna Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglio Donna Franca

Address: Via Vincenzo Florio 1, 91025, Marsala, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Trapani > Marsala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Marsala
Price Range: RM354 - RM809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baglio Donna Franca 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wine Resort was built after the restoration and conversion of a large "baglio" located in the centre of an agricultural establishment that, at one time, belonged to the Florio family. The historic Sicilian dynasty of the Florio family introduced Marsala wine to the entire world, invented the tuna fish industry in Favignana and controlled the largest commercial naval fleet at that time in Italy. The name Donna Franca is a homage to Franca Florio, who was an important and well-known figure of the Florio family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baglio Donna Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing