We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and a comfortable and...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hollen

from the tree line looking west towards the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
from the tree line looking west towards the house
Kitchen looking South East Shower room to Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
25 reviews
from the tree line looking west towards the house
Kitchen looking South East
Shower room to Master Bedroom
looking towards the house from above the parking area
looking towards the house from the end of the drive
sitting room
sitting room
sitting room
sitting room
master bedroom
master bedroom
from outside the wood-shed looking at the back of the house
east end of the kitchen/diner
looking west in the kitchen diner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Chateauneuf du Faou, Finistere, Brittany

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
101JDU
StSaviour, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and a comfortable and exceptionally well equipped cottage, a real home from home.”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage close to the hamlet and the canal ( both within walking distance) and yet it felt like we were in the depths of the country-side. The location was perfect for visiting both the coast and the "mountains". Hollen itself is a delight, we didn't have the best weather and we were grateful that the house was light airy and spacious and the lovely log fire on a wet evening was a delight. The fact that the house has two "sides" with bathrooms and bedrooms in both halves would make it a great place to stay with grandparents or teenagers as each party could enjoy their own space. To have two "reception rooms" on the ground floor was a luxury for two of us but would be a real boon if you were staying with six - TV could be watched/games played in one area while those who preferred could settle down in the large lounge with a book. The house is exceptionally well equipped and furnished - we couldn't think of anything that was "missing" and the detailed instruction manual a real boon when it came to using the kitchen. We certainly intend to return to Hollen and perhaps on the next visit will get to use the lovely garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and the fact the house is light and airy
Liked least: the weather and the pillows (a bit too soft for us)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smudge245...
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

just returned from 10 night stay at Hollen our second visit there.The house in a lovely setting and grounds.Close to canal and lovely walks and picnic areas,Kitchen well equipped for all cooking needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: lovely setting.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gobi
Glos, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage in the beautiful peace and quiet French countryside”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Located in a beautiful part of the Brittany countryside, the Hollen is somewhere to unwind and enjoy the peace and quiet.

We stayed for a week with two young children (3 and 5) and the in laws. The Cottage benefits from a lovely modern kitchen with ample room to make it a great social area as well as a further large living room with a wonderful log burner (although it was summer so we didn't get the chance to light it but can imagine it would be a wonderful room in the winter). The large garden was great for the children to run around in and we enjoyed a few games of badminton and bowls. We were unfortunate with the weather but on warmer days we imagine the patio area would be a lovely place to have a late evening BBQ and enjoy the sun setting.

A small shop is only a couple of minutes walk and we enjoyed getting our daily supply of croissants and pain au chocolats for breakfast each day. Chateauneuf du Faou is only 5 minutes away with two bigger supermarkets as well as smaller shops to cater for all your needs, a swimming pool, and is set in beautiful surroundings along the river L'Aulne.

The Cottage is a great base for exploring the area. We particularly enjoyed Quimper, the Crozon peninsula, the beaches to the east of Concarneau and the Domaine de Travarez is worth a visit with beautiful views across the area.

Finally the owners are friendly and welcoming and promptly reply to your emails. We received clear instructions on how to get there and what to do once there as well as providing the invaluable "hollen book of knowledge". It is clear this a well loved cottage, thank you for a lovely holiday base.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area peace and quiet and modern facilities.
Liked least: Stairs to the basement ( but this can't be helped!)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lollyredd...
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful, good location and very comfortable”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is a very well appointed house in a good location. The bedroom in the new part was very comfortable - as there were just two of us we cannot comment about other bedrooms. The kitchen/sitting room is very nice as is the other sitting room which was nice and cool after spending the morning on the patio.
We found getting to the washing machine in the basement a little difficult as the stairs are very steep, however we managed.
Overall we were happy with our stay here, we slept well and relaxed nicely.
It's a great location to explore this very picturesque area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good comfortable bed and lovely kitchen
Liked least: Stairs to basement
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JurriaanB...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect family home in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We've had a fantastic vacation at Hollen. The house really is what we expected and hoped it would be. An earlier review described it as a 'home away from home' and that is really what it is. The house is well taken care of and has everything you need, the garden was great for the kids to play in and it even has a cool tree house!
The location is very quiet in a small village in the country side, which we really liked.We visited lots of places and found the location quite ok. We've found a great beach (Kermor plage) at about a 45 min. drive.
Small shop nearby for your daily croissants and baguette.
And last but not least: Jenny is a wonderful person to deal with. Very helpful and very friendly. Many thanks for that and we hope to come back some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The way the house feels like a real home, instead of a rental
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing