We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, casual place to get a decent meal”
Review of Luna Morena

Luna Morena
Ranked #40 of 180 Restaurants in Orbetello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$23
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We stopped in randomly, on the way from Rome to Palaia, not knowing if we'd find anywhere good to eat. This place is very casual, with a TV hung on the wall, a few tables inside and some outside, with locals sitting around shooting the breeze. Has more of a cafe or bar feel than a restaurant feel. The servers didn't speak much English, but were very friendly and put up with us and our poor Italian. We got a simple side salad (fine) and a pasta each. I got spaghetti with clams, which was oddly really good. Pasta wasn't homemade, but it was in a light sauce of olive oil and seasoning, and the clams were abundant and fresh. I was really surprised at how nice it was given the surroundings. My partner's filled pasta with ragu was okay, but the ragu sauce had more of a cinnamon flavor than I like. Mine was clearly the superior (go me! I never order the best thing between the two of us!) If you're on the motorway and want a reliable place to stop, don't go to the horrible roadside "restaurants," this is just 5 minutes drive away from the main road and it's a very decent meal at low prices.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 128meredithb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Some might find this place a little rough around the edges, with its giant screen tv above the outdoor eating area - but we really liked it. We ate: great pizza & pasta with wild boar sauce, & a pretty good tagliata di manzo (sliced steak with rocket salad and parmesan).

The ightly-chilled house red (3.50 euros for a half-litre) was best wine we had over the course of a few days in the area during high summer.

Staff were very friendly, our toddler was thoroughly indulged as he romped around. We will be back.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Not bad... the good points are:
Value for money
The polpo con patate
Good servings
Friendly staff

On the negative side:
I don't like eating while people is smoking at few metres
A lot of the food served is frozen. It still takes a chef to cook it in that way, but more fresh products woul be welcome

Thank Filippo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luna Morena also viewed

Fonteblanda, Orbetello
 
Orbetello, Province of Grosseto
 
Fonteblanda, Orbetello
Orbetello, Province of Grosseto
 

Been to Luna Morena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing