We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (423)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveller rating
259
129
26
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
129
26
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews infinity pool small town junior suite staff were excellent pastries private beach few steps room was clean naples airport amalfi coast boat trip aperitivo balconies citalia seaside francesca festival
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 423 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Good restaurant, excellent wine list, nice staff, very good sea-water infinity pool. Lovely sea views and wonderful sunsets. Rooms fine but rather small bathrooms. Private beach with imported sand is nice but take swim shoes and beware of the underwater rocks of the dead reef. Palinuro itself does not have much to offer, so ideal for a relaxing holiday, though pool sometimes a bit noisy. Beach very peaceful.

Stayed: July 2018
1  Thank UKJmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Modern, package holiday style hotel that did not completely justify the 220 euro/night we paid for a cramped “junior suite” in mid April, which is very much off season in this area. Sea water pool is fantastic, with great views over the bay of Palinuro. But despite double checking in advance that it was open, it was not ready for swimming until nearly 6pm on the day we arrived ... not easy to explain to toddlers!
Steps down to rocky beach (totally unsuitable for children) were strewn with building rubble from ongoing renovation works. Balconies all overlook each other and have tired plastic furniture. Cheap pillows and towels but beds and showers ok. Breakfast quite good: they have a fresh orange squeezer and will cook eggs to order.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Angus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

Previous reviews are all relevant and correct . We booked through Citalia arriving Naples from Gatwick . 3 hour transfer in big Merc saloon was on edge of reasonable transfer time for us . ( Especially with Italian style driving !) . This hotel is smart , modern with a beautiful elevated outlook over the bay . It has its own small beach and a lovely seawater infinity pool . Nicely located close to the small town centre . Need to be fit . Fair few steps and hills . Smart Italian design loungers , chairs and outside areas kept beautifully .
We stayed end of season and the ambience of the hotel consequently suffered and the resort definitely had an end of season feel about it . If you are lucky with the weather ( as we were ) then this does not matter so much . But what you can do is limited if you have no personal transport . Car hire expensive . Public transport limited for the longer
journeys to get to other points of interest in the hinterland or up towards the Amalfi coast ( e.g. Paestum , abandoned villages , monastery and Castelabate ) .
But there was an excellent festival ( San Antonio ) with parade through the street of brass and woodwind orchestra during day culminating with accomplished rendition of Rigoletto in the main square in the evening .
The town itself is scattered and not as picturesque as the likes of Amalfi , Positano , etc . But has the advantage of less crowds . This is where the Italians holiday and it is much less hustle and bustle ( especially end of season )
We had a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite which was a lovely room with nice balcony overlooking the bay . I believe all rooms overlook the bay .
The staff were excellent , friendly and knowledgable . Elga on front desk is enthusiastic and with good English . Antonio , the maitre'd and his staff , also deserve special mention. Room service was efficient and immaculate . We did feel the restaurant ambience was lacking especially as there were relatively few guests at table and no background music . Meals were consumed in silence. Also lack of fresh salad and very limited hot vegetables for us Brits . No doubt all of this would have been provided if we asked for it . One doesn't feel one should have to ask for tomatoes , fresh salad etc . Having said that anything that was asked for was immediately dealt with ( change of mattress , salad in our case ) .
Free wifi throughout is a nice touch . Be nice to have more than just news for English channels on the room tv but this seems to a problem in all European hotels . Why is it ?
All in all we enjoyed the hotel and its facilities. If we came to this undiscovered part of Italy again we would be happy to stay at this hotel but maybe choose to come in the mid- season .

Room Tip: all rooms have balcony overlooking the sea . A junior suite is nice to have.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank phil e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We booked this hotel with Citalia who were very helpful.
It is magnificently situated overlooking the bay with beautiful views (especially the sunsets!!) from every bedroom and the restaurant.
Lovely friendly staff who were so helpful.
There were only 4 English tourists staying there in June. The rest mainly Italian which is itself a recommendation.
Lovely deep sea water infinity pool good for swimming.
THe beach is easily accessible down a flight of steps & once you have been there they tag your umbrella for future use. Clean toilets and shower and simple drinks available.
The hotel food was excellent and I would advise 1/2 board as the small town is limited with restaurants.
The staff were most helpful and we needed their help to book taxis and find out about trains.
Transport: I did not want to drive so we used local transport. 8 euros each from Naples.
For the return Citalia booked a taxi which collected us at 5am for the journey to Naples airport. Well wort it as I did not want the hassle!!

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view and are equally luxurious. We were given a ground floor room overlooking the beach
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank paulbennett2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The room was clean and tidy, not the same star rating as in the UK. The rooms a little dated, the view out to sea magnificent. The breakfast excellent and lots of staff available to meet your needs.
Francesca at reception was particularly helpful with information of restaurants to recommend, which boat company to go with on a tour which is wonderful.
Luigi on the boat trip another enthusiastic informative person.
Giovanni in the bar friendly, considerate and accommodating. You can not fault the staffs care and attentiveness. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna444_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews