We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Le Ginestre(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$313/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Petra Bianca(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$367/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Colonna Resort(Porto Cervo)
US$367
US$357
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$405/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Dolce Vita Hotel(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$261/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Bagaglino I Giardini di Porto Cervo(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$473
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$601/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Luci di La Muntagna(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$275
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$554
US$444
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$578/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Balocco Hotel(Porto Cervo)
US$287
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$336/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hotel in Porto Cervo(Porto Cervo)(Great Value!)
US$247
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$291/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
162
40
24
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
40
24
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscala di volpeprivate beachcosta smeraldafishing villagespeak loudlyhigh end resortpool restaurantoutdoor gymstay was wonderfulclassic styleoff the chartsmain restaurantgelatohotel is beautifulhigh pricescold cutsturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

The Cala di Volpe bay offers most probably one of the best sea view in the world. The hotel is located right in front of this fantastic corner of the planet. The flavor of the surrounding nature and the peaceful atmosphere give to the place a magical touch which is hard not to fall in love with.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maso007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Mr Emanuele M,
Thank you for you kind feedback. We really feel happy offering a great service to our guests in this tribute to nature like Cala di Volpe. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

This property exudes retro charm and style and has a fantastic swimming pool and interior decor. There are some drawbacks to its age and position as the first high-end resort in Sardinia, such as small rooms, no spa, etc but these would be easy to overlook were the service and overall hotel experience charming and guest-friendly. Unfortunately, the service, with a few exceptions, is largely indifferent. For example, no-one came out to greet us on arrival, information about transport and activities is hard to source, and very few staff, particularly the pool attendants, seem invested in the guests having a good time. Many of the staff seem bored and a little resentful that these days they are mostly serving ordinary holiday makers rather than jet-setting celebrities. It is extremely pricey and, as it is currently run, the value-proposition just doesn't add up.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear Sue H,

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay with us at Cala di Volpe. We are happy to hear that you have appreciated the charm and original style of our property. However we really regret and very sorry that you had this kind of impression with regard to the kind of service delivered by the associates who are working here for many years and are very passionate with this job. Every guest for us is special and is treated with special care to recreate the atmosphere of home. This is also proved by most of the reviews you may read here within the Community.

Want to take this opportunity to welcome you back in order to turn your experience around.

With much appreciation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Lovely old resort now loosely run by Starwood as part of their luxury collection. Rooms aren't big but have been well maintained and most have lovely sea views and balconies. Food is hit and miss, the breakfast buffet is very nice, the cold food is excellent but the hot food is poor. The lunch buffet isn't as good and is very overpriced, the main restaurant for dinner is VERY EXPENSIVE but also top notch. The most disappointing aspect to me are the amenities or lack of. The hotel pool is freezing and frankly for a resort that is as expensive as this and only seasonal should be heated, only young children went in. Also the beach area is a joke, a hotel with these prices should have a proper beach club with a restaurant not a boat taking you to a semi private beach offering nothing but a chair and an umbrella, not even a table. If you stay at mostly any other top notch resort in Italy the amenities are far better than Cala. All in all a nice hotel but Starwood should examine what can be done to take it from nice to a true Luxury Collection property.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BethesdaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear BethesdaDave,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Cala di Volpe. From your review we understand that you stayed at our Hotel and therefore should have benefited from a reduction price on the menu. We regret that you did not like our famous buffet as this is exactly the format that permits to meet most of the tastes of our guests who have different preferences. Fresh meat and grill prepared right there on a grill, all kinds of pasta. There's almost everything from the Mediterranean cuisine one can desire.
As for the amenities we have inaugurated our new Beach Bar & Restaurant just in 15 minutes from Cala di Volpe by boat. For more we are sure that it's our advantage that our guests may choose where to stay - either on the beach or by the biggest sea salt swimming pool in Europe, or probably change day by day. As for the beach where you can swim and just in front of you we may suggest you to visit our sister property Romazzino Hotel or also Hotel Pitrizza.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to experience our new outlets

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

I must tell you that Sardinia has been too overmarketed.
It's a nice island with nice resorts which you can find better ones at much cheaper cost.
Hotel Cala Di Volpe sounds very nice to your ears. The architecture of the property is very impressing, inside and outside. The location is perfect. The service is great. Food is very good. However, you must stay outside 24 hours a day because rooms really suck. It may be claimed that it is characteristic of Sardinia but I do not buy that. Rooms are tiny tiny tiny, very old and bathrooms are worn out. In addition, rooms are not sound insulated as you hear everything from the corridors and other rooms in addition to sounds of shaking Windows as doors of other rooms are closed.
For the value, it has been one of my worst deals yet.
However, if you have never visited this island and you think you must feel as the wealthiest, this hotel ofcourse can be your choice at a price which is not justified.
If I visited here 20 years ago, I would fall inlove with it but not now.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ztacir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Ztacir,

Thank you for your review. Sardinia is one of the few islands in the Mediterranean with such care and protection towards the landscape. For more it is one of the 5 islands of longevity known worldwide for the highest percentage of centenarians. This is due to various reasons, such as the climate and nutrition. The conception of today luxury lies in simplicity. The architecture of the Cala di Volpe and its rooms have maintained its history. We have more than 60% customers who return year after year because in love with this style. It's relatively easy nowadays to find spacious gold decorated rooms (we also have very large suite) but Cala di Volpe is not so much about the rooms, but the experiences. The experiences that the hotel make live to its guests.
We took into a deep consideration your comments and would like to assure you anyway that we have already foreseen some structural works on the next year.

We are very much looking forward to see you back with us to turn your experience around.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We have been there the first week of June and got a double room on the third floor. The beds were quite comfortable, bathroom with shower and tub, everything very nice and exclusive.
The hotel is an old/classic style (would guess '80), very well kept and for those that like type, one of the best you can find in the Porto Cervo area. It is by all means a luxury hotel: excellent service, many facilities (worth to mention the gym, the pool, free parking and the kid playground,
the cozy restaurant in front of the pool).
There is a free taxi-boat that will land you at a nearby very nice beach and move back and forth every 30 minutes.
If you want to stay at the (big) pool you can enjoy the excellent sun beds (with appropriate space).
So now the weak points:
-In a five star luxury hotel I expect of course high prices, but IMHO here they are too high considering that it's not a new hotel. A dinner for 200€ fixed price per person (100 in low season), without drinks is not acceptable. All services like boat rental, water sky and in room service are a challenge for a normal wallet.
- breakfast is served in the restaurant. Options are fair, but quality is not what you would expect. One thing is very bad: cold cuts are exposed to air and you will find plenty of flies on it.
-the beach is nice but doesn't offer anything to eat. There is a private bar in the area but not of the level of the hotel.
In a nutshell, the hotel is very nice, long standing and well know, that will take you quite much out of your pocket.
If you are rich, go. If you are not, go there only for an important anniversary.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Alessandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cala D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cala di Volpe, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Alexander M,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay at the Cala di Volpe and appreciated our services. At the same time would like to clarify to readers some points we are not fully agree with.

We are not responsible for the services provided by external suppliers.

The discount on the set menu of 50% that we proposed to our guests has been granted as an invitation to stay with us, because we know their tastes and we want them feel home and comfortable. Our restaurant menu together with our personalized service are well known worldwide through the project Taste of Sardinia by Cala di Volpe.

For the beach we organize lunch box upon request, very convenient and appreciated by our customers. This year we also opened Beach Bar & Restaurant in proximity to our beach.

Agree about flies, but we've already found the solution to this problem. These are the unique unwelcome guests we must admit.

We hope to see you back in our hotel enjoying our services with a postcard view in front of you.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews