We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great golf courses, Hotel needs refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ragusa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2017

The 2 very different courses are well designed and my preferred ones in all of Sicily (I have played all of them). The structure of the Resort is very nice, but the hotel side is a bit old and dusty. Reception and golf service staff is very helpful and polite; less so the staff of the restaurants.

Room Tip: rooms on the Southern side, with a view of the golf courses are much nicer, but more expensive-
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank n0rbert07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnafugata G, Direttore generale at Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest "n0rbert07",

We would like to thank you for reviewing our property and services after your stay. We are proud in reading that your overall experience, expecially for the golf, was to your satisfaction. Our customer's comments are a very important input that help us to continuously improve the level of services we always strive for.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Donnafugata Golf Resort, I remain with
Best regards

Giulio Polegato, General Manager
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,489)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,489 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

We(6 ladies) had an excellent week at the Donnafugata Hotel. The staff were all very friendly, pleasant & helpful especially Rafaela (reception), Paolo(head waiter),Giovanni (executive chef) and the general manager, Giulia Polegato.
Ariana in the pro shop was very friendly and helpful as were all the pro shop staff & the caddy masters.
The 2 golf course were fun to play & challenging. Most of the ladies had buggies but I was happy to walk with an electric trolley.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GOLFER1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnafugata G, Direttore generale at Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Ladies "GOLFER1152",

We would like to thank you to have dedicated your precious time in reviewing our property and services after your stay. We are particularly proud in reading that your overall experience, golf courses included, was to your full satisfaction and that you have appreciated the friendliness and professionalism of our team, our real strength.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Donnafugata Golf Resort, I remain with
Best regards

Giulio Polegato, General Manager
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Only two things keep this from being a five star resort in my opinion: firstly, the room we were in was rather tired - the floor was heavily scratched, for example; and the state of the greens on both golf courses, which were far too slow.

Otherwise the place ticked all the boxes. The staff were uniformly excellent and super-friendly, especially the people in the pro shop/caddy master. The resort is large, it was uncrowded and the golf facilties are first class. There is a choice of restaurants, a large pool and a well-equipped gym. The room was very quiet and overall Donnafugata provided one of the most relaxing holidays I have ever had.

The two courses are both long - about 6,500 metres off the yellow tees - and provide a good test of golf. The Links course is more open and more undulating, with some lovely holes around the lakes and panoramic views from the top of the course. The Parkland course has more trees and has some enjoyable holes after the first 5 or 6, which are rather flat.

The public buildings are attractively laid out, with a special mention to two beautiful, massive fig trees at the front of reception, really two of the most magnificent trees you will see anywhere.

The restaurants are a mixed bag. The Clubhouse/19th Hole is a barn of a place, lacking any atmosphere, but the food is good and there wasn't any alternative when we finished our rounds of golf. Breakfast is a buffet served in a large, high-ceilinged space.

The signature restaurant Il Corruba was excellent, very high standard food and reasonably-priced wine, located in an attractive building the older part of the resort. It felt a bit like Valentine's Day, because the entire clientele comprised couples, reflecting the fact that it is a special-occasion place rather than an every-day eatery.

The resort is some distance from a town or any shop or alternative eating places. We ate a couple of times Punte Secca, on the coast past Santa Crocce Camarina, where there are a couple of recommended restaurants and a good pizzeria. The place is about 20-25 minutes drive away (provided you find it first time).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank hareparklane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnafugata G, Direttore generale at Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear Guest " hareparklane",

We would like to thank you to have dedicated your precious time in reviewing our property and services. We are particularly proud in reading that your overall experience in our resort, golf included, was to your full satisfaction. Our customer's comments are a very important input that help us to continuously improve the level of services we always strive for.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Donnafugata Golf Resort, I remain with
Best regards

Giulio Polegato, General Manager
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

The resort met and exceeded all expectations. The well trained staff are very friendly and helpful. Albeit working in a large resort, they take 'ownership' in their work which they perform efficiently and proudly. Do take time to dine at the Carruba Restaurant - and the set menu with the wine degustation option is a great choice.

Room Tip: Probably a first floor room would be a better option than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnafugata G, Direttore generale at Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Guest "Tony B",

We would like to thank you for having dedicated your precious time in reviewing our property and services after your stay. We are proud to read that your overall experience was to your full satisfaction and that you have appreciated the friendliness and professionalism of our team.
Our customer's comments are a very important input that will help us to continuously improve the level of services we always strive for.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Donnafugata Golf Resort, I remain with
Best regards

Giulio Polegato, General Manager
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The resort is located in the Ragusa region, 10 minutes drive from the southern beach of Sicily and 75 minutes from Catania Airport. Rooms are nice and clean, the resort itself and the two 18-holes golf courses have a good layout. The two old trees guarding the main entrance are just wonderful. The concierge, the receptionists, room service and the staff around the nice and pleasant swimming pool were pretty professional, helpful and polite, though some of the senior reception staff once (male) a little bit unprofessionally has blamed the otherwise nice and helpful receptionist lady in front of the guests. The waiters have sometimes forgotten about an order, or have made us waiting for 20-25 minutes for a drink or the bill, that was a bit annoying.Golf courses are well designed, provide a good golfing experience, though despite the twice a day watering have suffered a bit the July heat, especially the Bermuda grass fairways. Greens were in good condition, but a little bit too slow. Links course is maybe more fun to play than Parkland, though the latter one is very close behind. The kitchen is good, well above average, but considering the high Italian cuisine standards nothing exceptional. The culinary experience seekers have to look around outside the resort, and have also good chances to find something in Sicily. The "own" beach is nice, but unfortunately not easy to approach.
Even with car (shuttle is the other option) you have to walk 800 meters from the parking to the sunbeds and umbrellas, and the last 100 meters across a not so small dune, while shower is on the other side of the dune. The beach experience of the resort, due to the awkward accessibility is definitely not 5 star.

In any season a pleasant place to spend holiday, especially for golfers but not only. Best time to go is probably mid September or early June. I would go back to Donnafugata.

Room Tip: The rooms with view to the surrounding golf course are probably the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LongWalkWiddaPutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donnafugata G, Direttore generale at Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest "adanyt2017",

We would like to thank you to have dedicated your first review on TripAdvisor to our property describing your 'Sicilian experience'.
Together with the Donnafugata Team, I am particularly proud in reading that your overall experience in our resort was to your satisfaction.
Our customer's comments are a very important input for us that help us to continuously improve our level of services we always strive for.
Looking forward to welcoming you again at Donnafugata Golf Resort, I remain with
Best regards

Giulio Polegato, General Manager
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ragusa
133.3 km away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,907 reviews
85.4 km away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
72.4 km away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
88.5 km away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
91.8 km away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
149.7 km away
Valtur Portorosa
Valtur Portorosa
#2 of 3 in Furnari
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Contrada Piombo, 97100, Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ragusa
#1 Spa Hotel in Ragusa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ragusa
#2 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range: RM878 - RM2,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury five-star Donnafugata Golf Resort & SPA is a heavenly place for anyone wishing to experience an unforgettable stay in one of the most enchanting places in Sicily. A real delight for golf-lovers, venue of the Sicilian Open 2011, the resort lies 17 km (10 miles) from Comiso airport and 100 km (62 miles) from Catania international airport and just 30 minutes drive from the historic centre of Ragusa. The Resort offers two 18-hole championship golf-courses, 900mq Spa and fitness center, swimming-pools, 3 restaurants, 4 bars and 8 meeting rooms - the ideal destination for a holiday focused on sport and relaxation and for important events in a truly exclusive setting. The nearby seaside locations, such as Marina di Ragusa, Punta Secca, Sampieri, Santa Croce and Camerina, unveil all their charm with pristine beaches and quaint fishing villages. Within easy reach from the resort, you can visit the most beautiful towns of the Val di Noto, the cradle of Sicilian Baroque: as a matter of fact, Ragusa, Modica, Noto and Scicli all belong to the UNESCO World Heritage Sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnafugata Golf Hotel Marina Di Ragusa
Donnafugata Golf Resort And Spa
Donnafugata Golf Resort & Spa Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing