We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is Villa San Cosma the most beautiful spot on the Amalfi coast???”
Review of Villa San Cosma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa San Cosma
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Is Villa San Cosma the most beautiful spot on the Amalfi coast???”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

In the late 1970's before my wife and I were married we visited the Amalfi coast and stayed at Hotel Santa Caterina, perhaps the best located hotel on the entire coast. The pool sits down on the water. The hotel hangs on the cliff on the ocean side of the coast road. Our balcony was the largest the hotel offered and it was a memorable stay. We were afraid to come back to Amalfi after that experience. It is something you do not forget.

So it was with great trepidation that we came back to the Amalfi coast. The Villa San Cosma, is high up on the mountain, below the village of Ravello, and looks out at the sea from a wonderful elevation. Margherita, a young woman runs the Villa for her parents who are the current owners. In fact the property was acquired by her grandfather many decades ago. Lemon trees grow everywhere down the cliff to the sea and all of the hillside from up on high down to the sea belongs to them. It is amazing to see the gardens and buildings set along the cliff side. I asked Margherita how long it took to contruct the complex and she responded that it took five years to build the property and grounds. All of the tile throughout was custom made for the property. The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated.

The grounds were beautifully planted and well kept. Actually better so than the two more famous villas that Ravello is known for, Villa Ruffalo and Villa Cimbrone.

Our balcony-terrace provided a wonderful view of coast and the sea. I am attaching pictures taken on a story day and also at night. While the balcony was not as large as the one we had on our first trip to this beautiful part of the world, it was still an amazing spot and large enough to throw a party, but we did not..

Breakfast was all kinds of fruit from fresh cherries from the cliff orchard, melon and other fruits in a basket for the taking, along with cheeses, meats, breads and croissants, including unlimited cappuccinos.

Margherita, was named after her grandmother, and she is a wonderful hostess. When we told her what we would like to do each day, she prepared the itinerary schedule, writing down the bus times, the boat times, both coming and going, and she arranged taxis at half the going price in this part of the world, which is quite expensive if you attempt it on your own.

Having breakfast every morning outdoors, looking at the sea, it was hard to leave to go sightseeing. We would linger and not want to leave.

At the end of the day when Margherita was leaving the Villa she would run us up in her car to the Ravello village so we only had to walk down after dinner. Another time she saw us walking along the roadside up to Ravello's village and she stopped and picked us up, saving us the walk up the hill. There is not enough she can do for you, ask anything and she will attempt to do it.

How nice is this Villa on the hill, Villa San Cosma? We were not disappointed and will remember it as fondly as we remembered Hotel Santa Caterina.

A very nice touch is the signed photograph obtained by Margherita's grandmother, also named Margherita, of Jacqueline Kennedy and her children and personalized to Margherita. It was obtained from Jackie when she was staying in Ravello.

Ravello and San Cosma are enchanting. You will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
33
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We were so happy in this place that we want to share our feelings.
My husband and I celebrated our 7th marriage anniversary, in Italy it was for the first time (before only business trips to Italy), and I searched for some extremely special place to remember it for years and to come back there to refresh feelings from time to time. We wanted lots of comfort, beatiful, expensive design, astonishing nature views, romantic atmosphere, a very warm approach of the owners and feeling like at home, and all this at the same time. And we found such a place!
When we arrived in Ravello late in the evening completely exhausted after 5 crazy days in Rome (program maximum), hostess Margherita kindly offered to meet us at the bus stop with her car. Ravello was in dark already, so lights of the villa which appeared in all its beauty made some magic effect: flowers, flowers, flowers in delicate shapes, and branches with lemons, and different colour illumination, and fantastic view from villa at night...
Margherita showed us our apartment - Limoni. It was splendid! It's impossible to express with words how gorgeous it looked inside. Wonderful taste of the owners! Glazed ceramic floor everywhere: a complex pattern in the center of the living room with an open kitchen, delicate colour everywhere, touching sea figures on the floor of the bathroom. Beautiful, I would say unique vases! And all this not speaking about beautiful furniture and modern equipment in all rooms. Two LCD TVs, a good conditioner, modern kitchen and bathroom.
We felt happy immediately, and this happiness doubled in the morning with ASTONISHING view over the sea and the mountains from the terrace where we had a very tasty breakfast with a fresh-cooked chocolate cake and croissants prepared by Margherita. There were also delicate cheese and sausage and a lot of other tasty things there, including orange melon that I liked so much.
The terraces around the villa with flower-beds, tables, a jacuzzi and beachbeds are also decorated with ceramic vases. The owners of the villa own a successfully developing ceramic factory. So this mix of beauty is composed of 4 components: art, flowers, lemon trees and love. We could feel it everywhere. Margherita cared of us in the best way. We felt safe and comfortable during all our holiday thanks to her recommendations and help with everything, and we were surprised how much love their family pays to their job, to their villa and to everything they do, how hospitable, kind, generous and talented they are. Thank you so much for everything!
We have also liked Ravello very much! It's a town of love and music. VERY romantic and beautiful. We visited other towns on Amalfi coast but they seemed to be more touristic and crowded. In the evening after our day tours (Amalfi, Capri Island, Pompei) we felt so intimate in Ravello. People greet you with smile everywhere. Charming main square with flowers and an old church (inside lions hold columns on their backs), and nice cafes. And restaurants: we are gourmets and always spend the most part of our budget on good food, so here, in Ravello restaurants were our soul comfort - high level and better price than on touristic routes, and extremely warm personnel, and correct approach (when the owner of the restaurant asks you about your impression, can serve you some dishes and make some presents if you visit the restaurant regularly). After dinner we visited music concerts which Ravello is proud with. We saw a lot of people coming to Ravello for purpose - just for these concerts held in the old villa.
The beaches are nice - clean, with beautiful views, and water is so blue. Umbrellas, beach-beds and drinks are available. You just go down the steps from the villa (10-15 minutes). For the way back we preferred to take a bus (we are too lazy) just at the way out from our favourite beache. The location of the town is surely worth of stay there thanks to those fantastic views.
By the way, on the last day of our stay I asked Margherita to organize smth like a farewell party, and she cooked a delicious lunch for us and one more couple from another apartment of the villa - we learned how to cook, enjoyed the lunch and laughed a lot!
We came back home only a couple of days ago - with refreshed, tender feelings to each other - thanks to this wonderful place! And we are already missing Margherita and Villa San Cosma! My husband is already planning to spend our holiday there next year - now with our son and parents - we want to show this dream to them!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olena80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2011

We stayed in Apartment Arancio as part of our honeymoon – the Villa San Cosma was by far the best of six places we stayed over three weeks and I very strongly recommend it. Likewise, Ravello itself is stunning, like no where else I’ve been and by far the best place on the Amalfi coast we stayed. The San Cosma is in an absolutely stunning location, Mahgerita very welcoming and helpful, always pleased to be of service. The villa was very modern and spacious, with nice tiles throughout, spectacular views along the coast and baking hot sunshine every morning. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful, prepared fresh by Mahgerita. Short walk to the main square (up 100 steps, not steep but easier coming back down!). There is a longer, easier route along the road in to town if you’re unfit. The thermal massage bath and grotto spa cave both brilliant additions. Overall, clean spacious and modern – we will definitely be back and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidpaulcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We traveled here at the end of a 3 week trip in Italy, and it was just what we needed. Relaxation, beautiful views and hiking. The most amazing hostess, Margherite, spoke great english, and was there for us all the way through our stay. She helped us with whatever we needed. One example: There was a laundry machine, and Margherite even offered to hang up our laundry after the washing machine finished. When we arrived back at Villa San Cosma that evening after a wonderful day hiking, our laundry was there for us on the deck, dry. Also, at breakfast she made Capuccino and tea for us, and there were fresh breads, yogurt, fruit and cereal. There is an abundance of fruit on the property, and we were able to pick fruit each day for juicing as well as for snacks. The family also has a great ceramics shop in the village, and we purchased some beautiful plates. Amazing work. Our apartment had a kitchenette that was small but functional, with everything we needed. Bathroom was beautiful, bed very comfortable. We had an outside and inside eating area. We were also welcome to use any other sitting area around the property. Every evening we sat out on the deck in the lounge chairs, overlooking the Amalfi Coast, and enjoyed wine and a few snacks before dinner. Ate each night at Cumpa Cosimo, and were taken care of well by the owner of the restaurant who makes all her own pasta and amazing meals. I had put inquiries into TripAdvisor prior to our stay on the Amalfi coast, and many people were suggesting that we stay in Amalfi or Sorrento during the winter, and to not stay in Ravello. I completely disagree now. We visited Amalfi and Sorrento, and they were much more tourist oriented, and definitely no where near the relaxation quality of Ravello. Now, I would not stay anywhere else on the Amalfi Coast. It was always such a relief to go back to Ravello each day. Quaint, quiet, calm, beautiful. There are buses that ran every 30 min to 1 hour from Ravello to/from Amalfi. We got the bus schedule the 1st day from the tourist info location in Ravello. Also, saw a beautiful classical music concert in Ravello's ampitheater. Hiked the Path of the Gods...amazing. All in all, it was one of our most favorite destinations over our 21 days in Italy. I would definitely recommend Villa San Cosma.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorGirl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

An established family in the ceramics business had this property in their family for many years. They decided to completely renovate the home into four pretty apartments appointed with hand painted tiles, high ceilings, and lovely finish out. Our apartment had a nice sized living room with a small open kitchen and a separate bedroom. We had windows overlooking the ocean from the living room, bedroom, and bathroom. The large property is terraced with all sorts of fruit trees and landscaped with many flowers. It is on a lower part of Ravello facing the ocean and overlooking small towns. (Ravello is up the mountain from Amalfi so even the lower part is up on the mountain) The views are terrific. On one level is a Jacuzzi spa with lounge chairs. The house sits on several levels. There’s also this cool cave that you can sit in with cold spring water. Because of the location, we had privacy and didn’t feel crowded into a town. There’s a large cliff behind the property and an old historical church (surprise!) in view. There are also interesting paths from behind the Villa. Next door is the famous Momma Agata’s cooking school.
There is car parking about the equivalent of two blocks away. Nearby is the friendly local bar which was the social center for men playing cards, young people visiting, and a place to pick up a sandwich, drink, or dessert. Going into the center of Ravello, we either walked up sets of stairs, walked up the road, or took our car depending on the weather. It’s about a fifteen minute walk. There is a local bus that runs occasionally nearby, and the Sita bus which travels between the towns has a more frequent schedule starting from each side of Ravello.
While I believe that this home is officially called an “agriturismo” it is run similar to a B & B with breakfast either at the lower level outside, or inside depending on the weather. Our lovely hostess, Margherite, was on hand most of the time to help, visit, and give information. Her English is good.
This is a very nice place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alice2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.5 km away
Ravello Art Hotel Marmorata, BW Premier Collection
0.9 km away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#2 of 21 in Ravello
728 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#13 of 21 in Ravello
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Giordano Hotel Ravello
Giordano Hotel Ravello
#16 of 21 in Ravello
217 reviews
0.2 km away
Villa Cimbrone Hotel
Villa Cimbrone Hotel
#7 of 21 in Ravello
337 reviews
0.9 km away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#3 of 21 in Ravello
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa San Cosma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa San Cosma

Property: Villa San Cosma
Address: via San Cosma, 11, 84010, Ravello, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Ravello
Price range (per night): RM723 - RM1,861
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa San Cosma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing