We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Luise(Riva Del Garda)
US$225
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Garni Orchidea(Riva Del Garda)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Antiche Mura(Riva Del Garda)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassador Suite Aparthotel(Riva Del Garda)
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Du Lac et Du Parc Grand Resort(Riva Del Garda)
US$372
US$317
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Albergo Alle Porte(Riva Del Garda)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Agritur Comai(Riva Del Garda)
Booking.com
View Deal
Agritur Planchenstainer(Riva Del Garda)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,345)
Filter reviews
1,345 results
Traveller rating
469
520
227
83
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
520
227
83
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstravel departmentattic roomlake gardaoutdoor poolscrambled eggs and baconolder partthe air conditioninglovely hotelthe ground floorwalk in showerhalf boardthe dining room staffpackage holidayreception staffpublic areassense of humourspa facilities
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,345 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We stayed in Hotel Liberty from Aug. 23-30th 2016 while on holiday with the Travel Department. The hotel is very convenient to the lake, bus stops, supermarket and shops in general. My husband and I arranged to go to an opera in Verona and were able to get a mini bus just a short distance from the hotel and were returned to the hotel after the opera. From very near the hotel we got a bus to Trent and visited the new natural history museum there and also the Diocesan museum where we saw a number of tapestries which hung on the walls of the room where the Council of Trent was held in the 16th century.
At the end of August each year there are fireworks by the lake in Riva Del Garda which are spectacular.
Grand Hotel Liberty is old and has character.The staff are friendly and helpful. The bedrooms and carpets need updating, but our room was spacious as was our bathroom and both rooms were spotlessly clean. The food in this hotel was very good. .

Room Tip: There are not many balconies in this hotel, but it's worth requesting one and you may be lucky !
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 503aine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your stay and review !

We are going to make some works this winter in most of the rooms
Keep an eye on our website !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are fantastic and so helpful. Our room was clean and spacious. The outdoor pool is clean. The spa facilities and indoor pool are fantastic, although be careful of residents not obeying the steam and sauna dress code !!!! The food in the restaurant is lovely for dinner. Breakfast selection needs improving though. Location of the hotel is ideal.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Carmel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Good afternoon,
thanks a lot for your holiday with us !

Waiting to see you again next year
we wish you a nice day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Been coming to Riva for quite some years and always admired the exterior of this hotel, especially at night. After staying here I can say that's the only nice thing about it.

Had a room on the third floor (i.e. the attick), although clean, small and outdated. The only new thing in the room was the large LCD tv.
Worn-out sanitation. You have to shower in the bathtub. No screen or anything though, so you'll have to shower carefully to prevent everything getting wet.
You can't control the airco, but ask the reception. Luckily we could sleep with the windows open, so we didn't need it.

Personnel speaks English well but is not very friendly. We wanted to extend our stay with one night the day before we left (Riva was totally booked out, so we had no choice). They wanted to charge us €199 for this single night while we paid €125 per night for the three nights before. This was not negotiable and they'd rather have an empty room I guess, quite arrogant.

Breakfast was ok I guess, the standard buffet. The dining room has the same outdated ambience as the rooms: packed with tables, worn-out chairs, even the personnel wears those 80's-two sizes too big-suits.

All in all a hotel not worthy 4 of stars, if I didn't know any better the room also could've been in a cheap motel. Do yourself a favour and don't let the nice exterior fool you into staying here.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PimDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Good afternoon and thanks for your review !

Regarding the price we have same prices or less than similar hotel in the town, only think that you come in the more expensive week of the year, middle of August.
We will refurbish most of the room this winter, so take info from the website when we will post picture and rendering.
The price in an hotel changes every day, there is not a fixed price for every season, so maybe the night you like to stay more the hotel was nearly full or at our last room, and the price is higher. Sorry but it's not Guest work to guess if we have or not empty rooms. Thanks a lot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Stayed here with the Travel Department for a week. The hotel is old, but that adds to the charm. A balcony would have been nice but aside from that we had no complaints about the rooms, which were spotless. Beds were comfortable, with extra pillows/blankets if required. The staff in the restaurant were superb, and happy to cater for all needs (dairy free etc). I had read some complaints about the food before we went but there was an excellent selection of Italian food to choose from and we were never disappointed. The pool was lovely, though we did not spend much time there as there was so much to do in the vicinity. Minutes walk to the harbour, lovely shops, cafés etc.

Room Tip: ask for a garden facing room and with a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Owner at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Good afternoon,

thanks a lot for your review !
See you again in the future !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Stayed for a week as part of travel department trip. The room initially allocated was on the 3rd floor and could only be described as a cell. On complaining was immediately offered a better room. Obviously they gave the worst room to see if we would complain - this is nasty.
The evening meals from the "special" menu were terrible. Italian is my favourite food so its not like I wanted bacon and cabbage. Non TD diners had a completely different menu in another section of the dinning room. Can you imagine getting "hard" pasta on a regular basis in a quality Italian restaurant. A main course of 4 small (1 cubic centimetre each) chunks of "white fish" is a quality dish.
However we discovered on the last day that if you complained you were immediately offered a decent dish like a steak or chicken. Once again this is very nasty and I am surprised that the travel department sanction this as my previous experience with TD has always been excellent.

Room Tip: Mane sure you can see out of the window a sour first room was too high up to see out
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JODO101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessandroLiberty, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Liberty, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Good afternoon,

that is not true that we give the worst room, we give the rooms that we have free at that time, and sorry but the weeks in august in Riva del Garda and Lake Garda, are always fully booked. We always give our best possibility to our Guests.

All Guest have same menu, all time time, all the year, so please don't say something wrong.
Of course we give always a choice if you don't like something.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews