We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (660)
Filter reviews
660 results
Traveller rating
523
106
18
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
106
18
9
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 660 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My husband and I booked into Hotel Bernard for 2 nights en route to a villa holiday in the mountains. We wanted the full-on experience of staying in an Italian family holiday hotel in San Benedetto Del Tronto and we were not disappointed. Life at the hotel revolves around food and wine, sunbathing and swimming at the hotel's nearby private beach (there is a nice pool but everyone seems to use the beach), cycling excursions around town on the hotel's complimentary (and lockable) bicycles and promenading along the palm-fringed seafront.
We were the only non-Italians staying at the hotel and everyone made us very welcome. All guests are allocated a table in the dining-room and a sun umbrella and sunbed and lounger on the beach for their whole stay when they arrive so you get to know the families around you as you see them every day.
I would describe the food in the hotel as good Italian home-cooking. You choose your pasta and main course from a menu in advance and help yourself from generous salad and dessert buffets. The service was excellent. Each night we were also charmingly presented with extra dishes as gifts by the hotel's proprietor: seafood antipasti, deep-fried fresh squid in a twist of brown paper, fresh figs served on a fig leaf....... Bottled water is free, wine is very reasonable..... I can recommend the Rosso Piceno.

Our room was a pretty standard but very clean and comfortable 3-star with balcony and good reliable hot showers.

For me what makes this hotel stand out is: the excellent value for its package: location, meals, bicycles, beach sunbeds etc; the warmth, generosity and cheerful efficiency of its owners and staff; the friendliness of the other guests and the delightful experience of just being totally cosseted. If you wanted to you could take some good books and just lazily roll between bed, restaurant and beach for the perfect rest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We recently spent one week at Hotel Bernard from 22nd - 29th August 2013 had a great time with friends David and Margaret, the service and hospitality was fantastic the cleanliness in and around the hotel was spotless and the English speaking staff were a great help to us.The pool was fantastic and the beach which was only a 2 minute walk away was superb. This Hotel is more suited to family's but would not deter my wife and myself going back Giuseppe and his staff are a credit to the hotel Bernard, hope to visit again soon - Bob and Anne Gamble SCOTLAND

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rggamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard22, Responsabile reception at Hotel Bernard, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Mr Gamble,
it was a pleasure for us to have had you and your friends as our guests. You are very nice people. Thank you for your positive review. Hope to see you next year. Greetings from all the Hotel Bernard staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

It's amazing how the staff do his best to support families with young babies: cleaning the pacifier if it drops and we are having a meal, hot milk 24h a day, kitchen makes anything they can to cook exactly what you baby likes.
At Bernard you order something from the list at evening but every day many "special" dishes are ready for you, most of them are based on fresh fish. Food here is an 5 star!
Cleaning service is very precise, we are on the sea and you bring with you lots of sand, a good cleaning service is mandatory.
Free cycle service is also a good plus

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard22, Responsabile reception at Hotel Bernard, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernard22, Responsabile reception at Hotel Bernard, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews