We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveller rating
233
100
8
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
233
100
8
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 348 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We came for the climbing, mountain biking and mountaineering in the summer – if you’re thinking of it don’t hesitate – the area is outstandingly beautiful and the people utterly charming.

To echo another reviewer, what a little gem this family owned and operated hotel is. From the wonderful welcome as we arrived, through the easy car parking and the kindness and hospitality we encountered during our stay to the lovely room and many little details I have nothing but praise for the Pescollderungg family.

My sons said “is this really only 3 stars?” as we entered our suite in the new part of the hotel – it really was excellent – clean and modern, extremely comfortable and with a lovely shower area. Not to mention free high speed wifi internet as well of a quality that would put many a 5 star international chain (mentioning no names – you know who you are) to shame

Breakfast was a comprehensive buffet with excellent, eggs and thoughtful touches such as lactose free milk.

The dinner is excellent – a salad buffet of really diverse and imaginative salads – not just lettuce and tomato - a choice of 3 dishes each for a starter and main course including vegetarian, and then a choice of pudding. The food was very well prepared, plentiful and delicious. There’s also a good and cost effective wine list. The hotel made us a delicious packed lunch for our mountaineering excursion without a moment’s hesitation and at no additional charge. The bar was also staffed throughout the day with a cheerful, happy and extremely pleasant bartender/waiter always ready with a smile and a cold beer.

We had a slight laundry crisis – 3 men on a long trip with multiple specialist activities and a number of packing oversights can cause this - which Signora Pescollderungg was exceedingly kind to sort out for us. Many places would have just said “No, we don’t have a laundry service” but La Fradora said “OK, we don’t normally do this, but this one time…”. It was so sweet and exactly what separates competent (and incompetent!) hotel keeping from great hotel keeping. And no charge – just taking care of us…so unusual these days…

My sons and I did discuss whether we should stay quiet on Trip Advisor and keep La Fradora for ourselves but having seen some of the other (only 7 in English) reviews we didn’t think, on the basis of our experience, that apart from one notable exception they had been treated very fairly so we have decided to add our review to what I am sure will be many more.

We’ve stayed in all sorts of hotels over the years from the very top to the, ahem, not so good, but La Fradora is a stand out for the warmth and generosity of the overall experience, not to mention the very high quality of the rooms in the new area.

I’ll be coming back during the ski season to my new home from home – I hope they’ll have space for us!

Thanks to you Christian, your delightful family and all your happy and smiling team!

Room Tip: The rooms in the new section are excellent
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We just completed our second stay at the family-owned Hotel La Fradora. It is the perfect place to stay in the Dolomites, with sparkling clean rooms, a very good restaurant and a new spa, all offered for a very affordable price. The small town of San Casino is a short walk away, as is the gondola lift to the high mountain pasture, which is surrounded by some of the most beautiful mountains in the world.

Room Tip: The sunny windows facing the road can be hot in the afternoon, but that would be a plus in cooler weather,
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian P, Proprietario at Dolomites Hotel La Fradora, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Dear Mr. Scott,
thank you for your compliments. See you next time.

Best regards from the dolomites
Family Pescollderungg & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2016

This was our first time in this hotel. We selected it based on the shared photos on booking.com and the hotel's own website. The owner sent an offer for me with photos about the new part of the hotel with renovated hotel rooms. When we've arrived to the hotel the owner informed us that we booked rooms in the "old part" of the hotel but for some extra fee (in total 460 EUR extra on top of the previous fee) we can get the rooms which were in the pictures. There is also a misleading information what the hotel shared on booking.com that it is a ski-to-door hotel which is not true. On top, our friends were staying in another hotel nearby and they came to visit us in our hotel but the owner didn't allow them to get in. The hotel could get a good rating anyway, because the renovated rooms are nice and the wellness area is great.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank BBonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian P, Proprietario at Dolomites Hotel La Fradora, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

The customer has been contacted directly by the property for the necessary clarifications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel was lovely and the staff was friendly….. until the last moment. When they charged us 1/3 of the breakfast bill more after accusing us that we ate too much. We are two young women on vacation trying to relax and take our time to finish our breakfast. We ate a couple of apples, tomatoes, a cucumber, one egg, one piece of marble cake and we each have 2 teas.

We had plans staying in this hotel next time we come back, as we are frequent visitors, however after this insulting incident we will never stay here.
Please, if choosing this hotel, I advise that you make a clear contract with the hotel about the prices or plan for a bigger budget than indicated.
THAY ARE SNEAKY.

Yours truly, apparently a very well fed customer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
6  Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian P, Proprietario at Dolomites Hotel La Fradora, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

No comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a skiing holiday with my teenage son. New part of the hotel is impeccable, very stylish and comfortable. The SPA located there is also very nice. What I find odd though is that they do not provide bathrobes for use while in the hotel; one can be obtained on request, but you'll be charged for it. I never experienced this in any other hotel - it seems to me that in a hotel with a SPA a bathrobe in the room should be a norm.
The front (older) building will obviously have to be brought to the same visual standard as the new part of the hotel, as this way it is somewhat strange to wander between hip and stylish and purely traditional Tyrolean sections that have nothing in common.
The food is OK and plentiful, but I found the menu rather unimaginative and was totally disappointed with the fact that they did not make their own pasta. In Italy, this is what you get in every rifugio on the slopes; to have industrial pasta served in such a venue is below standard in my opinion. Ah, and don't expect the waiters to pour you wine once they deliver the bottle to the table. You'll have to help yourself.
All in all, this is a place I recommend for its location, comfort and owner's hospitality. Having seen the investment in the new part of the hotel it is obvious the owners have ambitions to make this hotel stand out in San Cassiano. Attention to service and cuisine would greatly improve their chances for further success.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews