We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A* Alpha”
Review of Alpha Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alpha Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sant'Agnello
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A* Alpha”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here in July 2011 for a week but have only just got round to doing the review.
We had lovely stay here. The location suited us as it was quiet in the evenings and we could sit and relax with a drink or two.
The staff were all excellent - the guy behind the bar was genuinely concerned when I twisted my ankle and provided a large bag of ice. The drinks were about the price I would expect but sometimes with very generous measures!
As others have said the food was great, I am not very fond of desserts so didn't try many, but Salvatore picked this up and provided a plate of cheese and biscuits instead.
Everywhere was kept very clean and our room was cleaned properly everyday. The room was adequate - it would have been nice to have had a little more space to be able to fit in a comfortable chair but for the price we paid I cannot complain. The only thing I would have liked to see was the facility to make tea and coffee in the room, but I think this is not common in Italian hotels.

All in all a very good hotel - highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    257
    89
    12
    4
See reviews for
230
679
4
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Having read other reviews we confirm what was said. Outside Sorrento but easily & cheaply reached by buses & the nearby trains a great base, quiet but not isolated. The food is excellent and all the staff very helpful. Our triple room was spacious with a small balcony and the pool is way better than average, deep at one end & very easy to access.

Room Tip: Garden side rooms are sometimes both quieter & offer better balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EnglandTeenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Recently spent a week at the Alpha largely because of the positive reviews on here. All that's mentioned by previous contributers about the location is valid, easy to get around both to Pompeii, Herculaneum and also to the Amalfi Coast.

We both love our food and were so looking forward to sampling the food here. Firstly can I say that all that is said of Salvatore is true, he was warm and welcoming from the start and made us feel like special guests in his dining room. Service was very good and on the whole the food was too.

We were a little disappointed with a few minor things such as the quality of the coffee and fruit juice at Breakfast, also I would have liked to see omelette/scrambled egg for breakfast as I found the choice a bit boring. The starters at dinner were the best part of the meal, the rissotto was wonderful. The candles at the Gala Dinner added the ambience to the dining room I would have liked every night! Desserts were mostly heavy and cakelike and not really to our taste.

Drinks in the hotel were expensive and in particular the mini-bar, why? Missed having a hospitality tray in our room so we could have a drink at our own convenience.

Our room was fine but for two things. There was a paper-thin door connecting our room with the room next door. We could hear every word said next door and every time they showered/flushed it was as if there was someone in our room. Surely this could be soundproofed somehow?

Biggest gripe however was with our shower. On the first morning we showered ankle-deep in soapy water (YUCK) as the drain was not working properly. This was reported at reception before we went out and we were assured it would be looked at. Next day, same thing, again reported to guy at reception. By the third day this was tedious, reported again and AGAIN assured it would be fixed. We were on holiday and didn't want to waste precious time moving all our belongings to another room and banging on about it. Really unacceptable in a 4 star hotel and there was no enquiry from reception if we were now happy with it (which we were not!). That said the hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the room maid was both efficient and charming.

We loved our time in Italy and cannot wait to return. We would probably recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Sorrento as it was a good base. We were just left a tad disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure there is no connecting door with the room next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthernHeatseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A good quiet place to stay, an easy walk to the station to catch the train to Pompeii. Sorrento is just down the road and takes about 30 minutes so don't do it on a hot day but there are plenty of buses and of course the train. If you want a lively place I would suggest you stay closer to Sorrento as this may be too quiet for you. It is in a lovely setting with a pool among citrus trees. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, the rooms are large and comfortable although there is a fair amount of noise both from the road and other residents (getting up early to go places). We chose to eat out but breakfast was plentiful with a fair amount of choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingWInnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We have just returned from a week’s stay at the end of October – perfect time for sightseeing, and the weather is still fine with almost 25 degrees during the day. We only had one day with rain.
We highly recommend this hotel for a number of reasons.
We had sent an e-mail to the hotel to ask for a quiet room with a view to the garden or pool as we had read in some of the reviews that it was best to stay in such a room. So we got a spacious room on the second floor with a big balcony overlooking the beautiful lemon and orange garden and with a view to the mountains. That was very beautiful.
The service and food at the hotel was excellent. There was an excellent range of food for breakfast, and we always got fresh orange or grape juice. Salvatore, who was in charge of the restaurant, gave us a very special service, as well as the other servants, so although we had only ordered breakfast in advance, we ended up with also dining there most of the days because we got a much better service there than in the other restaurants we visited. The reception was very very good too.
It was no problem for us to stay 30 minutes from Sorrento. We sometimes walked to the centre, and when we went sightseeing outside town, we just walked to the train station in Sant’Agnello situated 5 minutes away from the hotel. There we bought a 24 hour ticket which could be used for both the train and all the busses along the Amalfi coast. So we took the train to Sorrento and then the bus to Amalfi from there. The price of such a 24 hour ticket is 7.50 EUR. It is also possible to take a bus just outside the hotel which will take you to the centre of Sorrento.

Best Regards
Jytte and Bjørn Larsen. Denmark

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bjørn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agnello
0.6 km away
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
Hotel Mediterraneo Sorrento
#2 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,288 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,088 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
Hotel Corallo Sorrento
#3 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Majestic Palace Hotel
Majestic Palace Hotel
#10 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
732 reviews
3.2 km away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#26 of 100 in Sorrento
3,054 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Hotel Flora
Grand Hotel Flora
#53 of 100 in Sorrento
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpha Hotel

Property: Alpha Hotel
Address: Viale Dei Pini 15, 80065 Sant'Agnello, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Sant'Agnello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agnello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agnello
Price range (per night): RM553 - RM2,877
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpha Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpha Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpha Hotel Sorrento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing