We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare!”
Review of Villa Villoresi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Villoresi
Reviewed 4 September 2016

This Villa is not the same as it look like on the photos. In reality this an old villa and not worth of the amount you have to pay for on this villa. The whole area and place are needing full renovation and updated. Full of mosquitoes and the amenities is not what it look in the photos. So glad we managed to get out of that place coz its so far away from the main city of Florence and transportation are so awkward to get to unless you drive your own car.

Room Tip: Don't be fool by the photos of the hotels. Look for the one that you know you can have easy acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2016

The photos and most other reviews suggested this hotel was a luxury outpost of Florence and ticked many boxes. On arrival however we quickly realised the hotel was a shadow of its former self and was kind of dilapidated, the photos on website maybe taken many years before. Walking through the main entrance hall was a charming walk into the past. With old style furnishings, paintings and murals on the ceilings, it was a relic of a grander/bygone time. We continued in and eventually this quiet spoken man appeared in the gloom and proceeded to check us in. He asked for our passports to confirm, then after a few moments took us to our room. At this moment I asked for our passports back....he replied they would be returned when check-in was processed! I started to dislike the feeling and once we arrived at our room I knew things were not good. The room was tiny and bed cover dirty. Everything was really old, or falling apart.. eg. the shutter on window falling off. The real horror though once we were in room for a little while was the presence of mosquitoes! We immediately started to itch and saw them flying about. My wife is allergic to their bites and we immediately went back to reception and complained. The owner, this eccentric old lady, said she would get her handyman to sort it out. The same guy from check-in came to our room and showed us this little plug in device and capsule and said this would protect us from the mosquitoes. We were not happy and decided to check out and find another hotel. The owner at this point got quite annoyed and heated....saying “everywhere has mosquitoes and we cannot just decide to leave”. I asked for the return of our passports, to which she refused, unless we pay for at least 2 nights. This was the beginning of our holiday and it just turned from dream to nightmare.
Here we were in another country, our passports being withheld and threatened to have to sleep in a mosquito infested hovel in order to please this crazy woman.
After calling our booking agent on celfone and explaining the situation, then several stressful conversations with the lady owner, she relented and returned our passports to us, but still demanded we pay for 2 nights. On the phone to our agent we managed to cancel the payment and book us into a different hotel, paying for only 1 night as a gesture for the inconvenience. Though the owner still wanted more, our agent informed us we could leave without any further adu; that we definitely owed no more. We grabbed our suitcases and ran out of the premises and through many streets till we found a railway station, for train into main city. NB. There are no taxis in this region, unless called from city of Florence. Thankfully our replacement hotel was the bees knees and we went forward to have a wonderful stay in Florence Italy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016

Garden overgrown, trash, bear cans, old toilets next to parking and entrance, room not vacuumed etc - no chance we could get a good nights rest so we left even if they charged us €155, which they did.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Morgan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Just spent five wonderful days at the most charming villa with two teenage girls. Perfect for exploring Florence and Tuscany.
You can almost feel the history as you walk through the rooms, relax in the loggia or sit by the pool in the afternoon.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, thank you all for welcoming us to the beautiful Villa Villoresi.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank ElisabethKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015

We loved our stay here. It felt like a real privilege to stay in such wonderful surroundings. We only stayed for one night on our way to Milan but we will return some time for a longer stay.

Our room was huge and interesting. The staff were extremely friendly. We ate in the restaurant - steak Florentine... delicious!

When we checked out we were given a lovely drawing of the villa with a hand written message from the owner. What a lovely touch!

Great place, great people, great food!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gaynor208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sesto Fiorentino
1.1 km away
Hotel Villa Stanley
Hotel Villa Stanley
#3 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
340 reviews
4.2 km away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
1,218 reviews
4 km away
The Gate Hotel
The Gate Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Hotel La Villetta
Hotel La Villetta
#2 of 8 in Calenzano
99 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel First
Hotel First
#6 of 8 in Calenzano
559 reviews
4 km away
Hotel 500 Firenze
Hotel 500 Firenze
#2 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Villoresi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Villoresi

Address: Via Carlo Ciampi n 2, 50019 Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Sesto Fiorentino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Sesto Fiorentino
Price Range: RM396 - RM587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Villoresi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa hotel on the Florentine hills with swimming pool restaurant frescoes and antic furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Villoresi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villoresi Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing