We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Sestri Levante
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

The hotel was a pleasant stay with a warm atmosphere and attentive staff. Our room was clean, spacious and with a lovely sea view. Portrayed well on website and trip advisor. I would say areas they could do better that didn't meet my expectations were breakfast offering and dining experience. The food wasn't of the rating that i would expect of this level of venue but overall pleasant and i would go again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Grace N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

We were put off using the private beach by the 30 euro charge. But .. turns out it was 30 for the two of us. Not sure why we didn't know about the charge when we booked. Anyway, other private beaches charge more, we were quoted 35 elsewhere. We also tried the public beach where 10 euros gets you 2 sun beds and a parasol. But that was crowded, soon full and didn't have toilets, showers, changing rooms or a bar. So we ended up using the hotel beach which is a great facility. You get lots of space, an armchair, handy shelf on the parasol, life guard and the beach was half empty in August making it very peaceful. The hotel was great, staff were excellent and breakfast to die for. Opposite the hotel is the Chiosco Douro which is great for drinks, snacks, ice creams and serves great apéro spritz!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TerryAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This was our second visit to Villa Balbi and we enjoyed our stay as much as the first. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The kids (aged 11,13) loved the good sized pool. Being right next to 2 beaches allows the best of both worlds.
The breakfast selection was fresh & varied.
The cocktails we enjoyed in the evening were superb.

We requested a room on the top floor of the main building. It has duplex rooms and access to the roof. The views from the terrace are amazing. No picture windows but a small price to pay if you like to sit outside with a glass of wine.

Thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Top floor has a small roof terrace with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJWSurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Beautiful old Villa, lovely garden and outside restaurant.unfortunately every millimeter of the garden was packed with cars (parking).
The room had a more then terrible view, but was ok if you did not look out of the window.
The breakfast and dinner disappointing, in spite of the lovely setting under trees.
A lot has to be done to keep up with what they offer in their publicity!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front, if you can stand a little noise.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 975merel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Villa Balbi whilst on business and was very happy. There were also lots of people on holiday there and they seemed very happy too. The room was an adequate size but kept to a very good standard and with high ceilings. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank JonKwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sestri Levante hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
Hotel Miramare Sestri Levante
#5 of 21 in Sestri Levante
476 reviews
0.3 km away
Vis a Vis Hotel
Vis a Vis Hotel
#3 of 21 in Sestri Levante
709 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Due Mari
Hotel Due Mari
#4 of 21 in Sestri Levante
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hotel Villa Agnese
Hotel Villa Agnese
#1 of 21 in Sestri Levante
308 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Helvetia
Hotel Helvetia
#2 of 21 in Sestri Levante
324 reviews
0.1 km away
Suite Hotel Nettuno
Suite Hotel Nettuno
#8 of 21 in Sestri Levante
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Balbi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Balbi

Address: Viale Rimembranza 1, 16039, Sestri Levante, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Sestri Levante
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sestri Levante
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sestri Levante
Price Range: RM768 - RM1,523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Villa Balbi 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Villa Balbi is an old aristocratic XVII century villa; it stands on the seafront of Sestri Levante, a few yards only from the beautiful sea of the Gulf of Tigullio, between Portofino and Cinqueterre. Converted in 1947 into an elegant Hotel, Villa Balbi has elegante and rich interiors, made precious by rare and valuable antique furnishings, tapestries, pictures, precious marble, beautiful parquet and finely finished ceilings. The Balbi palace, once the mansion of noble, aristocratic families, site of historical events and abode of famous men and women, still keeps all its charm today. A quiet and very comfortable Hotel, with careful and professional service. With its own pool, private beach, restaurant and parking area is the ideal location to spend a relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Balbi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Balbi
Grand Hotel Sestri Levante

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing