We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great home base”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Spoleto, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Catharine...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great home base”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were two couples travelling together and spent four nights at Terazza Bella after a weeklong stay in Perugia. Laurie met us at the Conrad shopping plaza as prearranged, and we followed him to the apartment located in the lower part of town, just inside the walls, and a short walk from Piazza Garibaldi. In the square, you will find ATM machines, restaurants and a wonderful bakery. As well, there are several large grocery stores nearby, one is within walking distance.
The apartment was well equipped and adequately furnished. One bedroom had double beds and the other twin. It is located along a pedestrian only street which made weekend evenings very noisy even with the windows closed however, the weeknights were quiet. Since the apartment is located in the lower portion of Spoleto, and most of the sites are located in the upper area, we were faced with quite the hike each day, but there is a moving sidewalk nearby that travels to the upper portion and it’s free. Laurie showed us were the sidewalk was located as there is no signage – we took the sidewalk up, saving considerable effort and walked down. The sidewalk closes at 9:00pm. It takes about 15 minutes to get to the top and one can get off at various points.
It is worthwhile to purchase the Spoleto card for 8Euro, it is good for a week and if one wishes to visit all the sites, it would total 40Euro. We also booked the onsite parking and only drove when we wished to visit the countryside. Try to avoid driving and parking in Upper Spoleto, while we were at the Tourist Bureau, we overheard that a couple was facing a 90Euro infraction fee for taking their car into the square. As an aside, it is worthwhile to visit the Tourist Info Centre. It is equipped with informative brochures and suggested walks. Try to spend an evening strolling around the Rocco with all the locals, viewing the Pointe delle Torri all lit up and then stopping at the bar just outside the Rocco for a drink in the evening – the views are outstanding.
Overall our stay was comfortable. We enjoyed eating our meals on the balcony and returning to the apartment for afternoon siestas, or just to regroup before continuing the day’s adventures.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2015
Terrazza Bella, with WiFi throughout, is located in the buzziest part of town, in a pedestrian area known as "il borgo" ie "the village". The travellator is just 2 mins walk : moving walkways, escalators and elevators connect all parts of Spoleto with dropping off points wherever you want to go.

Spoleto is a traffic free city. And, especially between May and October, festivals and concerts take place in various parts of this tiny city. Maybe our reviewers stayed with us during the wine festival, when there is "a white night", where the shops, bars and restaurants never close, life continues for 24 hours and, the streets are abuzz with revellers !

We have 17 central Spoleto apartments, some in quiet alleyways, behind the Duomo, where the only sounds you hear are of the swifts, the swallows and the cathedral bells tolling the time of the day.

Other apartments, eg Terrazza Bella, are in the midst of it all. And, to this end, they are triple glazed. The reviewers talk about hearing noise, “even with the windows closed”. The triple glazing is in both the windows and external glass doors. When you close the windows and the doors, you can hear a pin drop, such is the quietness in Terrazza Bella, even when the carnival is full on.

However, some guests do not like to shut themselves up in order to have peace and quiet. To this end, I recommend you ask for an apartment in a quiet location. Although, it is hard to guarantee total peace in a tiny city, where fun is the name of the game, there is a restaurant at every twist and turn of the cobbled arched streets and the atmosphere is relaxed and mellow. Indeed, total peace is hard to come by anywhere, In the countryside, you have logging machines, dogs barking, roosters crowing and combine harvesters droning.

If peace is high on your agenda, ask for triple glazing ! Terrazza Bella has it !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flats74
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular Spoleto in Snow”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We travelled as 2 families of 4 with children 10 to 17. We had 2 apartments through Norma and Laurie and they were both very comfortable and warm with everything we needed. Laurie was more than accomodating...picking us up from Hertz and dropping our luggage at the train on our departure. Laurie apologised for the weather as it was cold and snowed no New Years Day...but we were overjoyed!! We were all like kids out on the balcony at Midnight New Years Eve watching all the fireworks explode all over the town..and all the beautiful xmas lights everywhere added to the beautiful display....we awoke the next morning to snow and it was truly a wonderful memorable experience...the kids loved it! The days were sunny and the town is magnificent...perfect base to explore Assisi and Norcia. The Rocca and Ponte Delle Torri were like a gem in this town...the walk could also be made by the new travellator that opened the day we arrived...it goes underground and takes you up to the Rocca. Choosing photos to share is difficult.. So much to explore in Spoleto and it will not dissapoint.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The noise from the door opening and closing and echoing in the stairwell
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin A
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Perfect place in a fabulous town”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 8 wonderful days in this well-appointed apartment, on the 4th floor of a historic building. Loved the open plan kitchen/living area, with big doors onto the plant-rich patio; golden light and a warm, indoor/outdoor feel. This is a remarkably private and secure place, given that it's in a very busy town. Double glazing means you can shut out sounds from the pedestrian street far below; but for us that was part of being there. Also, it's all so easy thanks to the private parking space (by arrangement) plus elevator. Norma and Laurie are such generous hosts: they will do anything they can to make your stay perfect! But the location really makes it. We loved just walking out in any direction: to a cafe or restaurant, to participate in the passeggiata, to see the wonderful buildings and sights there are in Spoleto... we spent more days in town than planned, simply because we loved 'living in Spoleto', and the apartment makes you feel as if you do. We look forward to returning!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme D
Kilcreggan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven in Umbria”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stumbled upon our holiday destination purely by chance and after receiving excellent information about Spoleto from Norma we decided to book the last week in August. We were met by Laurie at the train station in Spoleto and driven to the apartment which we were grateful for as we had been travelling all day. The apartment was centrally located in the old town which made it ideal for access to all the local amenities and visiting the local historical sites. The apartment was clean, spacious and fully equipped (just as described) including a welcome pack.

The typical Umbrian evening with Daniella and Luiciano is a MUST. We met some lovely people from Holland, New Zealand, Australia and America and Daniella and Luciano were excellent hosts providing amazing typical Umbrian food and an endless supply of wine.

Spoleto is a great base for visiting other nearby towns and cities which we did by train. We found the service excellent and the ticket machines very easy to use. The recommendations of restaurants and bars provided by Norma were very useful and eating out is very reasonably priced. Our only regret was that we were only there for a week and when it was time for us to leave Laurie kindly took us to the station at 5.30 a.m. which we thought was beyond the call of duty. We would definitely recommend this apartment and hope to return to Spoleto again.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the apartment and the lovely terrace.
Liked least: Not having air conditioning at night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cath04T
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just perfect - like staying in a dear friends home”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This was one of the most perfect holidays we've ever had despite decidedly variable weather, a severe kidney stone attack and our youngest daughter breaking her wrist and this was undoubtedly due to the fantastic accommodation and the care and attention given to every detail by Laurie and Norma.
I can't praise this accommodation highly enough, this is a home not a holiday let. You could easily move in here and an extended holiday would be a joy. If you're used to the usual holiday apartment 4 plates, 4 cups etc you're in for a treat - a well equipped kitchen with everything you need to create even the most complex meal (given the vast quantity of fabulous restaurants this is unlikely but even the supermarkets have the most tremendous range of produce and if you're keen cooks like us you'll probably want to experiment).
The living/kitchen area is much larger than it appears on the photographs and is a delight on a sunny morning with the doors and windows open on to the terrace. We had terrible unseasonal storms and had a couple of 1/2 days stuck in, but this wasn't a problem. The apartment gave us plenty of room for 4 adults without us going stir crazy.
There's a large selection of fiction if you run out and a massive range of guidebooks and suggestions/recommendations for the local area.
A really pretty bathroom, plenty of hot water and a washing machine so the practicalities are well covered.
The two bedrooms are light and airy have good wardrobe space and plenty of extra bedding if required.
We loved the terrace which is surprisingly private, nice comfy chairs were great for snoozing in the sun - but a sunbed would have been nice to even up the tan! Lovely tubs and plants on the terrace, the scent from the jasmine was sublime and a good selection of herbs was handy.
The location of the apartment cannot be faulted and given that you are in a residential block you can pretend that you're a resident (I wish!). Access is restricted and so it's extremely secure and we had absolutely no concerns about security.
Despite being right in the middle of Spoleto we had no problems with noise and we were there during the World Cup when games were being shown outside the bars.
We were thoroughly spoilt by Laurie and Norma from my initial enquiry to being waved off at the end of our holiday. Norma's emails giving advice regarding transport were spot on, we travelled easily by train from Rome, telephoned Laurie who was then waiting for us at the station. They provided excellent recommendations regarding local restaurants - we only had one complaint "so many many restaurants and too little time" and useful advice for shopping etc
Unexpected building work in the town lead to the water supply being cut off one evening - Laurie arrived at the apartment to make sure we knew and helped us fill pans etc with water and later arrived with 6 huge bottles of water to make sure we didn't run out.
Spoleto is a wonderful location 12 days didn't allow us to explore it fully - we only scratched the surface. We had our daughters (18 & 21) with us who loved every minute, soaking up the sun, enjoying the Italian street life and eating the most fantastic ice cream.
The food is incredible, we ate delicious roasted pork sandwiches from the man with the van in the market square to the tasting menu in the old school charm of Apollinare and everything inbetween.
I can't recommend this apartment, Norma and Laurie's service and Spoleto itself highly enough. We can't wait to return

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spoleto, the apartment and the FOOD
Liked least: A sunbed would have been nice
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We try our best. But, if only you had mentioned there wasn't a sunbed ! We have plenty to hand around - usually, there are at least 2 on the terraces. So, that there were none was an oversight on our part ! Smacked wrists ! Ooohhh, aagghh.....but, how is the broken wrist ? Healed to perfection we hope.... saluti, Norma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.