We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel, and interesting artwork”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albornoz Palace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Spoleto
Reviewed 10 August 2017

stayed at the Albornoz hotel for 3 nights during our two and a half week Italian road trip in June 2017, and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised.
originally booked it because it was on the main train line to Rome, which we visited on one of the days, but we never realised what a little gem we had discovered in Spoleto.
so much history that we never realised previously, we paid 9 euros for an all day ticket to visit all of the many different museums and roman houses that Spoleto has, and the scenery aswell was stunning.
the hotel was very clean and very modern, and the staff very attentive and helpful. the car park was underneath the hotel and not the biggest I have ever been in but we managed to get the car parked ok. the food we ate there was very good and the staff on the front desk we very helpful indeed, all in all a very good find

thank you everyone

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albornozpalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albornoz Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Roger,
Many thanks for your nice review about our hotel. We're glad to know you enjoyed your stay in a comfortable place, among nice artworks and relaxing nature. Our chef is thankful for appreciating the delicious dishes offered by our restaurant with tipical local products and best italian recipes. It was a pleasure for our staff to welcome and help you during your stay, trying to satisfy any kind of request! Hope to see you on your next visit to Spoleto! Albornoz Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

While this hotel is very nice and clean. The rooms are nice and big. The bathroom wasn't disabled .The staff are very nice. I travelled with my husband who has walking difficulties and has to use a wheelchair some of the time. I chose this hotel because it said it was good for the disabled. Well it is not. There is a lift to the rooms . But steps to the restaurant about 6. The access to the pool is very difficult. Leading from the dining room. Up 2 steps.then a pathway. Then about another 12 steps and then a steep slope . Clearly not for the disabled.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank dizzjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albornozpalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albornoz Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Dear guest,
we are really sorry for the discomfort you experienced during your stay in our hotel. Our structure was built to be disable friendly, but it is also true that, having the free access to the outdoor garden during summertime, we tend to use the breakfast/dining room placed up on the stairs to allowed our guests to have breakfast/dinner outside. Concerning the access to the outdoor pool, the current way to it is truly difficult for a disabled person, as you underlined, but we pointed that out to the management in order to improve it. About the bathroom, we have rooms for disabled, including bathroom with all disabled facilities, but you simply didn't ask for it in your reservation. Again we are really sorry for the discomfort you experienced but we are also happy to hear that you had a nice stay after all. Hoping you feel our concern about it, we wish you a happy summertime. Kind regards by all the staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Visited this hotel on 20Jan2017, it was easy to find the location, in a nice quiet area, abit far from the center of the town, but accessible by bus.
We rate this hotel 3 Star rather than 4 due to the following:
*The room was not so clean as we found hair on the bed sheet and in the toilet. There was no hot water in the room, we had to wait till next morning.
All the towels had very bad smell, we were disguisted to use it.
Amneties provided was not enough for 2 persons as per 4 star hotel.
Staff at night shift do not speak any language except Italian, he could not help or assist in our request.
We had an incident in the hotel parking, (my friend fell ) and the staff at the reception could not understand what we were trying to tell him, hence couldnt help.
**The good part was :
Our room had nice view to the fortress, and mountain.
The lady at the Reception in the morning was very helpful, speaks Italian, English & French fluent, very informative and helpful. She guided us to a nice resto in the town to visit and helped us to arrange our next town visit.
Spoleto is a nice small town, people are nice and friendly.
We could definitly visit this town again.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Nellutzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albornozpalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albornoz Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your nice review.

We're glad that you appreciate our spacious rooms and the nice view on the city.
However we're sorry that you didn't feel totally ease with the clean service... but if you had reported the problem to the reception desk, we could figure out a solution to your inconvenience or change your room with an other one. So next time, during your stay, please don't hesitate to let us know as we can fix the problem for you right away. Unfortunately, there's not much we can do over the internet after your departure!

Anyhow we would point out that you booked an Economy room and we gave you a free upgrade to an upper category room to offer a spectacular view on the fortress. We're glad you enjoy this.

About the parking issue, we're sorry for the inconvenience, but you could have left your car keys at the reception desk: we could take care of your car and you would have had nothing to worry about!

We thank you for appreciating the kindness and helpfulness of our staff!
Waiting for your next visit to Spoleto, we extend our warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Everywhere was really dated, the "art" in my room looked like false nail samples stuck on a wall and many had fallen off. The whole room needs modernising as does the hotel. It certainly wasn't what you'd expect for 4 star hotel.

The only positives - The staff were nice and breakfast was plentiful.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Abby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albornozpalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albornoz Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing the Albornoz Palace Hotel during your last stay in Spoleto. Anyhow we would like to point out that our hotel has a modern structure, recently renovated and our communal spaces and rooms all characterized by a contemporary style, they’re furnished with elegance and attention to details, with a linear designed by Poltrona Frau. The furniture, enriched by unique artworks, enhance the natural brightness of every space, as well as their comfort and accessibility. All our rooms satisfy all 4-star standard. However we thank you a lot for your compliments to the staff and about our rich buffet breakfast with high quality fresh products! Hoping to welcoming you soon, we extend our warmest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We stayed here, with friends, in the first half of June, We really liked this quirky, cheerful hotel , despite a few shortcomings in certain areas.

Let’s get those out of the way first – in truth, they barely impacted on our enjoyment of the hotel and Spoleto.

When you’re arriving first time by car, the car parking is poorly signposted and easy to miss. The public spaces of the hotel could do with a lick of paint and a plaster-repair job on the numerous chipped corners and scratched surfaces evidencing the wear and tear of many years. Because there’s so much emphasis on the visual aspect of the hotel, (because of the art and distinctively painted internal walls etc.), you actually notice these things more.

For all of the week-and-a-half that we were there, the bar and pool were closed. (It’s extremely disappointing to see an inaccurate denial of the latter by the hotel’s management appearing under another recent TripAdvisor post, as we checked more than once during our stay, not only with the front desk but at the pool itself, where on our last day there was a guy doing maintenance to the pool and refilling it who promised that the pool would open ”soon”. That was mid-June.)

Now the positives, which far outweigh the negatives. We found the hotel staff very pleasant, cheerful and eager to help, particularly the front desk staff. The deluxe double room we had booked (8 months earlier) was kindly upgraded to a suite, and was vast – more shelf and wardrobe space and power points than we have had in any other hotel in Italy. It was perfect, an absolutely superb space, immaculately clean, both elegant and practical. The free car parking (once you know where it is) is ample and secure. And the location is arguably the best in Spoleto. Close enough to walk into the historical centre in fifteen minutes, (an easy, level walk), and yet less than 100 metres from the north-south SS3 highway. (The hotel is so sturdily constructed that despite facing onto the road, we experienced no noise either from the road or from the rooms next to us and above & below).

And on top of all that, the hotel has real character -the art element is a distinctive differentiating feature. And it’s great value. We could have been given a room half the size of the one we had, and I would still have said that.

Despite a few small imperfections, we found the Albornoz Palace a great base for exploring Spoleto on foot and Southern Umbria by car. We’d certainly stay there again, and hope that we will one day.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Byablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albornozpalace, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Albornoz Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate the time you spent reviewing our hotel. Thank you for recommending it for a stay in the beautiful Spoleto. We would like to point out that our rooms and public spaces are continuosly renovated to offer a welcoming place to our guests. As regards the bar, if you needed something to drink, you could ask to our reception and you would have been served immediately. As regards the swimming pool, we apologize but this spring was very rainy in all Europe, so this extraordinary bad weather conditions didn't allow us to do the necessary maintenance works to have the pool ready for your arrival date. So we'd like to inform you that this year the pool has had to delay its opening due: you may consider this as an isolated case, for which we sincerely apologize. Many thanks for having appreciated the comfort and elegance of your room and our free parking service. We would be more than happy to welcome you again soon! Best regards from Albornoz Palace Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#1 of 29 in Spoleto
443 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Dei Duchi
Hotel Dei Duchi
#2 of 29 in Spoleto
566 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Charleston
Hotel Charleston
#8 of 29 in Spoleto
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#10 of 29 in Spoleto
143 reviews
0.6 km away
Palazzo Leti Residenza D'Epoca
4.5 km away
La Fattoria
La Fattoria
#6 of 29 in Spoleto
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albornoz Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albornoz Palace Hotel

Address: Viale Giacomo Matteotti, 16, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Spoleto
#6 Romantic Hotel in Spoleto
#6 Family Hotel in Spoleto
Price Range: RM369 - RM480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albornoz Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albornoz Palace is a modern hotel with its own pool and golf course set near Spoleto's historic centre. The hotel is modernly designed and decorated throughout with contemporary artwork. Rooms feature original paintings and views of the town and the Bridge of Towers. All have Wi-Fi, satellite TV and air conditioning. Most of them have been decorated by the renowned furniture brand Poltrona Frau. The Albornoz has a stylish restaurant serving Umbrian cuisine with a contemporary touch. Booking your stay directly on the hotel website, you will have a 10% discount on the restaurant a la carte prices! Breakfast includes homemade cakes, together with local ham and cheese. Albornoz Palace's entrance hall offers a lounge with a TV and free Wi-Fi. Spoleto Cathedral is 800 metres from Albornoz Palace. Free parking is provided on site, making exploring Umbria easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albornoz Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Albornoz Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing