We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Italian Countryside”
Review of Pianciano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spoleto
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pianciano
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My children and I stayed at Pianciano in June and it was perfection. I can't top what past reviews have said, I can only recommend an absolute must if you want to feel like a Umbrian.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
There are newer reviews for Pianciano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2012

After growing up in Norway and Switzerland, I've found the past 25 years in the US to be somewhat foreign despite being a citizen. There is something numbing about the ubiquitous mini-malls and sprawling development. It all feels fleeting and disposable. As a result, I constantly find myself dreaming of rough masonry walls, hand-hewn beams, tile roofs, centuries-old serene villages... and Pianciano is the perfect expression of that dream.

My wife and I spent the first week of June in La Roccia. When we arrived, the trellis was in full bloom, a bottle of wine was waiting, and Claudia invited us to have a glass of wine with the family, up for the week-end from Rome. Francesco showed up with fresh ricotta from the neighboring village. We tasted a local white wine and were told about the wine festival taking place in Spoleto that week-end. We discussed world affairs, politics, history over bread, proscuitto, wine, and assorted cheeses late into the evening, surrounded by their family, their friends, dogs and old stone walls that have heard it all before. For me, it was unadulterated bliss.

For the rest of the week, we were able to easily visit Spoleto, Assisi, Montefalco, Siena, Rome, Norcia - all within 2 hours by train or car. Knowing that every day-trip would end with a refreshing swim in the pool overlooking the olive orchards and the valley below was encouragement to go do it again the next day. We had an absolutely fantastic time, and can't wait for the opportunity to return.

Thank you Francesco and Claudia for sharing your property and your time. Ci vediamo presto spero!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

As you drive deeper into the valley flanked by steep hills lined with rows of olive trees and the punctuating lilac of the Albero di Giuda, you know you're up for something unique. Tucked away up the hillside, this property is a gem. The owners have restored an old medieval "borghetto" with impeccable taste while remaining true to the original style and the surrounding landscape. Each unit has its own distinct charm, and they are all wonderfully comfortable and fully equipped with all amenities. The location is a perfect blend of privacy and centrality, allowing for easy day trips to neighboring exquisite historic sites, while making for a stay that is as peaceful and private as can be. The area is a culinary paradise, and the locally produced olive oils, meats, truffles, cheeses and the regional cuisine are nothing short of excellent. This is Italy at its best. Claudia, Francesco, Eva and Aziz are wonderful hosts who will go to great lengths to ensure that your experience is something you will look forward to repeating. And sharing, so here we go - now, don't tell anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Two couples stayed for a week on this wonderful estate. Here are some of the words I would use--beauty, comfort, and peace. Our hosts did everything to assure that we were comfortable and that our vacation was lovely. They arranged for a meal to be cooked for us at the house we were in--a definite treat. Someone was available to us in case we had a question or a problem. We enjoyed sitting out on our front porch after a day of exploring the hill cities. The beds were comfortable, which was certainly important to us. We would recommend this without reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I spent hours looking for an authentic, peaceful place to stay that was also clean and beautiful. Pianciano did not disappoint at all. We knew we were off to a good start when we had to open the gate to get to the property. It just sets the tone for the privacy and beauty of Pianciano. Our cottage was fantastic and we enjoyed a fire in the fireplace each and every night. We loved pizza night and still think of the delicious pizza. We also loved our tour of the mansion and the views of it from our house.
The location is perfect for so many of the day trips that we took. We were grateful for the local restaurant that we went to several times after a long day of exploring.
If you are looking for an authentic place to visit that it beautiful and a great base from which to explore than this is your spot. My daughters ages 9 and 11 loved running around and playing with the resident dog and cat.
It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Spoleto hotels
0.2 km away
Le Logge di Silvignano
Le Logge di Silvignano
#16 of 48 in Spoleto
81 reviews
11.5 km away
Agriturismo Rivoli
Agriturismo Rivoli
#4 of 54 in Spoleto
220 reviews
20.8 km away
Country House Ristorante "Il Prato"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
Albergo Paradiso
Albergo Paradiso
#1 of 2 in Monteluco
101 reviews
7.3 km away
Hotel Restaurant Vecchio Forno
11.4 km away
Ferretti
Ferretti
#2 of 2 in Monteluco
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pianciano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pianciano

Address: Loc. Silvignano, 06049, Spoleto, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Spoleto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Spoleto
Price Range: RM250 - RM350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ancient hamlet with spectacular view on countless olive trees and historical mansion. Incredibly peaceful location, in a large estate, 11km from Spoleto. Closed to Assisi, Perugia, Montefalco. Accurately restored and furnished villas.Wifi. Swimming pool, private garden, steambath. Unobtrusive custodians on spot. Possible to rent from a romantic "room with a view" to the entire hamlet (max 20). Self catering, dinner on request, wooden oven pizza on request. Cooking lessons. Tour guide, Wildlife guide. Farm products. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing