We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pianciano
Nearby Hotels
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Fattoria(Spoleto)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$179
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Sogno(Spoleto)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
73
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

After growing up in Norway and Switzerland, I've found the past 25 years in the US to be somewhat foreign despite being a citizen. There is something numbing about the ubiquitous mini-malls and sprawling development. It all feels fleeting and disposable. As a result, I constantly find myself dreaming of rough masonry walls, hand-hewn beams, tile roofs, centuries-old serene villages... and Pianciano is the perfect expression of that dream.

My wife and I spent the first week of June in La Roccia. When we arrived, the trellis was in full bloom, a bottle of wine was waiting, and Claudia invited us to have a glass of wine with the family, up for the week-end from Rome. Francesco showed up with fresh ricotta from the neighboring village. We tasted a local white wine and were told about the wine festival taking place in Spoleto that week-end. We discussed world affairs, politics, history over bread, proscuitto, wine, and assorted cheeses late into the evening, surrounded by their family, their friends, dogs and old stone walls that have heard it all before. For me, it was unadulterated bliss.

For the rest of the week, we were able to easily visit Spoleto, Assisi, Montefalco, Siena, Rome, Norcia - all within 2 hours by train or car. Knowing that every day-trip would end with a refreshing swim in the pool overlooking the olive orchards and the valley below was encouragement to go do it again the next day. We had an absolutely fantastic time, and can't wait for the opportunity to return.

Thank you Francesco and Claudia for sharing your property and your time. Ci vediamo presto spero!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyingArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

As you drive deeper into the valley flanked by steep hills lined with rows of olive trees and the punctuating lilac of the Albero di Giuda, you know you're up for something unique. Tucked away up the hillside, this property is a gem. The owners have restored an old medieval "borghetto" with impeccable taste while remaining true to the original style and the surrounding landscape. Each unit has its own distinct charm, and they are all wonderfully comfortable and fully equipped with all amenities. The location is a perfect blend of privacy and centrality, allowing for easy day trips to neighboring exquisite historic sites, while making for a stay that is as peaceful and private as can be. The area is a culinary paradise, and the locally produced olive oils, meats, truffles, cheeses and the regional cuisine are nothing short of excellent. This is Italy at its best. Claudia, Francesco, Eva and Aziz are wonderful hosts who will go to great lengths to ensure that your experience is something you will look forward to repeating. And sharing, so here we go - now, don't tell anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Two couples stayed for a week on this wonderful estate. Here are some of the words I would use--beauty, comfort, and peace. Our hosts did everything to assure that we were comfortable and that our vacation was lovely. They arranged for a meal to be cooked for us at the house we were in--a definite treat. Someone was available to us in case we had a question or a problem. We enjoyed sitting out on our front porch after a day of exploring the hill cities. The beds were comfortable, which was certainly important to us. We would recommend this without reservation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I spent hours looking for an authentic, peaceful place to stay that was also clean and beautiful. Pianciano did not disappoint at all. We knew we were off to a good start when we had to open the gate to get to the property. It just sets the tone for the privacy and beauty of Pianciano. Our cottage was fantastic and we enjoyed a fire in the fireplace each and every night. We loved pizza night and still think of the delicious pizza. We also loved our tour of the mansion and the views of it from our house.
The location is perfect for so many of the day trips that we took. We were grateful for the local restaurant that we went to several times after a long day of exploring.
If you are looking for an authentic place to visit that it beautiful and a great base from which to explore than this is your spot. My daughters ages 9 and 11 loved running around and playing with the resident dog and cat.
It will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

This was our second trip to Pianciano, which included our grown children. They loved it!! The villas are lovely, and the location is beautifully situated on a secluded hillside surrounded by olive trees and is also easily assess-able for touring nearby hill towns. The villas are beautifully decorated and fully appointed with wifi, tv and modern facilities, all in a 13th century stone villa! There is a delicious pizza place just down the road and great cappuccino at the local gas station/cafe with friendly owners. The local hilltowns offer seasonal truffle dishes, black celery dishes and wonderful wine (Montefalco Rosso) and pasta dishes. Would totally recommend and hope to return a third time soon!

Room Tip: n/a this is a villa with a very fully appointed kitchen
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsm1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews