We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One week of relexation”
Front of Villa pond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Villa pond
Front view with Apennine Mountains in background Lush River Valley view from balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Front of Villa pond
Front view with Apennine Mountains in background
Lush River Valley view from balcony
Front staircase landing to penthouse suites
Living room area
extra large bedrooms with queen size beds
Large self contained kitchens fully stocked
Red Sky in Eveing sunset
Aerial View of Villas and surrounding country side, our driveway, parking and various gardens
Rear balconies side view
Lower balcony
Full rear balconies
2nd floor balcony  400 sq.ft.
Main floor balcony
parking area carpots
parking area carports
Artichoke harvest from our gardens
Stuffed artichokes, bread crumbs, hamburger meat and spices
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sulmona, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
19412015
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“One week of relexation”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Giamia is located near Sulmona, 1 1/2 hour from Rome and 45 min. from the beach.
Mike was an amazing host. He greeded us with a bottle of wine and fresh figs, and was very knowledgeable about the area. He loves to about the history of the area. Sulmona has a market , grocery store, and restaurants and it is the confetti candy capital, A car is recommended to explore the area. The property is in a beautiful setting, on a hill overlooking the countryside and surrounding villages. It is really pretty at night. The property has many fruit trees, we were welcome to pick them. The apartment is very spacious and good value,the shower is huge,a welcome change to the hotels,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mike the owner was very helpfull ,very close to Sulmona,
Liked least: no aircondition
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malc0lmDa...
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
“GiaMia Villa September 2015”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife and I had the good fortune to choose G V for our stay in Abruzzo. By the time we arrived we had had enough of the touristy places, being jostled about and finding ourselves in crowded places. As advertised, it is quiet and peaceful and while it feels almost remote when you are there, it is only a few minutes’ drive to Sulmona where there are enough activities, restaurants and nightlife to fill anyone’s calendar. The Adriatic beaches are less than an hour away, kids were back in school so not crowded and the “Indian Summer” weather meant we could spend more time at the beach than we had originally planned.
The pace here was more relaxed and we had a huge terrace for morning coffee and even dining al fresco when we didn’t feel like going to a restaurant. With a fully equipped kitchen in the apartment it was a lot more fun to shop at the open markets and make a meal. Mike, the owner, had us picking fresh veggies and fruits from the abundant gardens. He has transformed the property by adding small lakes and ponds with waterfalls and a large deck that looks perfect for a wedding or party. A river runs along the edge of the property down at the bottom of the hill and a dozen cows are in the nearby pasture.
The best part, for me anyway, was the HUGE shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Every place else we stayed had a tiny box that you could barely turn around in, much less reach down to pick up a dropped bar of soap!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cultural experience and warmth and helpfulness of host
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alla K
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
“Unique Cultural Experience”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My two weeks stay Giamia Villas was very peaceful and I was surrounded by nature. I loved to walk daily the many gardens on the property and I picked artichokes, cherries and apricots that were in season. My hosts, Mike and Arnie were very helpful not only in providing information on the many beautiful locations to visit but also with their friendliness and companionship in the eveings and all their wonderful stories about the Village of Campo Di Fano and the surrounding area.

Sulmona the "City of Arts" it is one of kind experience to visit. Only two miles away and it dates back to the Roman Empire, it is a hub for 65 neighboring cities, towns, villages and hamlets. It is a wonderful gem with it's many shops, mercatos twice a week, it is also the production capital of a sweet candy "confetti" that is shipped world wide and it's friendly people that are ready to make you feel welcomed for coming to this hidden paradise.

The Villa is very homey, large kitchen and living room, very comfortable queen size bed, extra large shower, huge balcony that overlooks the property and the green river valley that is surrounded by mountains. The decor is very well done with lots of wood work and ceramic, very clean and relaxing to have lived in during my stay.

I was surprised at the many local free festivals that are occuring almost on a weekly basis in all the surrounding towns and hamlets. The "Cherry Festival" in the neighboring town of Raiano that I attended was a unique experience that will be engraved in my mind forever. It's many colors, it's joyous population, the singing, the laughter, the dancing, the food, the parade were all a truly rural Italian cultural experience.

Public transportation was available at the door steps of the Villas and it took me on a scenic trip of the beautiful countryside, once I got to Sulmona I took the train for a day trip to the city of Pescara on the Adriatic coast with it's beautiful white sandy beaches. I had lunch with a sea food selection that seemed it would never end. The following day rode the bus up into the mountains and visited the medievel town of Scanno. It's crystal clear blue water lake was a sight to behold. I had a picnic lunch under a shady tree and visited the town and its many small shops and once again I was amazed on how the local people where so friendly and ready to assist me when ever I needed help.

I will strongly recommend Giamia Villas and the Abruzzo Region with its sea shore, plains, valleys and mountains to all my relatives and friends, I am truly looking forward to returning again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cultural experience, the friendliness and homey atmosphere that the Villa provided.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2015
We thank you for your well written review, it was truly a pleasure to have hosted you for the two weeks that you stayed with us, looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Grounds, Mike & Arnie as resource persons
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing