We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$248
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Il Giglio e la Rosa(Varese)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B La Collina(Varese)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
175
48
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
48
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsunesco siteromantic hoteldel montebreathtaking viewslake vareseroom was largesanta mariaservice was impeccablewonderful fooda family run hotelperfect choicebeautiful locationthe hotel stafflovely hoteltwo nightssilviocolonna
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

We stopped for an afternoon break at this hotel. It is at the top of a funicular railway so this may attract business but it was quiet when we visited. The road up to the hotel from Varese is twisting with lots of narrow hair pins but I he views at the top are well worth the trip. There was not a lot on offer by way of food but the Toast was prepared and delivered by the nice staff and it was nice to take in the views from the outside veranda.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018

The hotel is on top of a hill and the view from your room is simply breathtaking. Dining at the restaurant was a revelation: The chef is a real master. This is not 'ordinary' Italian food, this is art! Congrats to the chef.
The hotel has good and safe parking facilities on site which we consider to be important.
We definitely will return!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view. It would be a pity if you cannot enjoy the view of Milano or Como and the Como lake.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

A really picturesque, charming location high in the Varese mountain. Staff were lovely and helpful. Our room was really cute and had great views of the mountain out over the balcony. The food was incredible (the chef is a JRE young chef winner!) and the wine list excellent. There's also a fireplace near the restaurant for cosy pre-dinner drinks. Although this region is more popular in summer, I think this hotel a real hidden gem for a winter weekend away too!

Room Tip: All the rooms have balconies I think!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lml613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

The location of this hotel is very special, being on the Sacro Monte UNESCO site. Our spacious room and lovely large balcony overlooked the town of Varese, its lake and beyond. The little medieval 'town' with it's narrow cobbled streets and the 14 chapels winding down the hill, is a real escape from it all. The breakfasts were lovely, the staff very friendly and the dinners were cooked by an extremely accomplished chef who was often around and had good English. We were on a half board deal with Secret Escapes which included a tasting menu on one night and we treated ourselves to the a la carte menu on another night. About an hour's drive to Lake Como and 40 minutes to Lake Maggiore.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Witchfinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

I choose Hotel Colonna because of the amazing reviews. Be forewarned that the hotel is nearly 20 minutes driving up the mountain from the center of Varese. Once you arrive you will realize that you made the right decision. The Hotel Colonna is a family run hotel. Mother Vanna takes care of you whether you arrive early or depart in the wee hours of the morning. She is an amazingly caring mother that reminds me of my own parent. She even made us breakfast at 5:30 am as we had to depart early for Malpensa after our stay. Her son Nicola is accommodating too. The chef Silvio who runs the restaurant prepares authentic local cuisine with precision using fresh ingredients and a capable Italian team. The lodging is very comfortable with a terrace that offers a commanding view overlooking the valley and Varese. In the little village of Sacre Monte, be sure to visit the UNESCO church, its crypt, the Museo Baroffio and the stupendous & eclectic Casa Museo Lodovico Pogliaghi Would I stay here again? Yes. Would I recommend it to others? Yes.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoPro2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews