We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely honeymoon, gorgeous hideaway hotel”
Review of Capo La Gala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capo La Gala Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Vico Equense
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We have just returned from 4 day stay at capo la gala. We really enjoyed our stay as it was our honeymoon. The room was lovely but what really made it was the plunge pool and the views. Just incredible and so relaxing.
A few minor things that are worth noting:
1) taxi from hotel to airport is expensive- I would rent a car as would be much cheaper. Great that only 30 mins from the airport though
2) receptionists- so cold and very unwelcoming. The rest of the staff were great and very attentive. The lady that showed us to our room was very cold. Also on arrival you get shown to a small room for a welcome drink. The room is not great and would be so much better to have a drink and enjoy the view.
Finally it's expensive, so as long as prepared for that then enjoy it!

We had great meal at the Michelin stared restaurant and would recommend. The breakfast was lovely too! How can you not enjoy the view. Many thanks also goes to Michele the barman who recommended a pizza place to go to and serves great cocktails. Altogether a great stay but a few minor things meant that couldn't quite give it five stars.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Camilla88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Stay in the capo le gala 5* hotel and was just amazing. Views were out of this world so relaxing just the place to chill out.staff lovely and helpfull.spa is very nice.breakfast was very nice and recieved great service.
Only thing that wasnt was for us was the maxi resturant food and choice and was very expensive ok if the odd night but every night would give you a big bill if you dine in there every night.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sharonstubley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

At 10 minutes by train from Sorrento, this place is more restful and beautiful than old hotels you can find on the Amalfi Coast.
Stunning view, listening to the wave sound to find your sleep.
The swimming pool should be heated, luckily we were authorized to use the heated pool inside the spa with our kids as there were nobody else in the spa. The Jacuzzi outside was broken :-(.
The classic room does have a view on the sea but could be improved in terms of setting.
The ladies at the reception were helpful even if we've got contrary information that were a bit surprising, but anyway they tried their best...

Free shuttle to reach the train station, then take the Circumvesuvia train to Sorrento (10 minutes) and you will avoid huge traffic jam

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VGGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Came here with my wife on our honeymoon wanting to stay somewhere special. Whilst the hotel is in a very nice location - the service and experience was far below what was expected from a apparent 5 star hotel. During our stay the pool and outdoor area were closed for maintenance for 3 days - no one told us anything. WiFI barely worked in the room and the rooms are tiny. We went to try their cocktail bar which had a really nice menu only to find out it was the bartenders day off so we couldn't order from this menu.

Oh, and if you want an ice bucket in your room that will be 10 Euro...

When i raised these issues with staff - their response was substandard and indifferent.

A really disappointing experience. Don't waste your money here.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Les C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and paid to be upgraded to a room with a private pool- it was worth every penny! Unfortunately this room was only available for 2 nights so on the 3rd night we moved to a room with a terrace and it was nice- but nowhere near the same at the room with the private pool!

The breakfast was nice- cold meats, cheese, fruits, cakes, pizza and even lasagna- then you could order your choice of eggs or pancakes if you wanted something hot too.

The sea was quite rough when we arrived so we couldn't go in it but we loved watching the waves crashing on the rocks and went to the spa for a very relaxing massage (€85 each) and to use the pool and sauna and steam room (included in hotel stay/ free). The following day the sea was lovely and calm and we had bought a lilo with us to the hotel to chill out on. (I would recommend this!)

Both of the restaurants were lovely although the Maxi restaurant was very expensive! It was a treat for us on our honeymoon and we thoroughly savoured every moment!!
The lunch time restaurant was great too! The food was fresh and top quality- we were only disappointed as during our 4day stay the pizza oven was not working once!

The hotel staff were wonderful and very friendly. The most friendly was the bar man who was always happy to see us!

The local town Vico Equense is quaint and small with some cute pizza restaurants. We got a taxi to Sorrento one afternoon and it was €60 each way. Nice drive and great to see it but way more touristy and less authentic than vico Equense.

This stay was expensive but a total treat and I would love love love to return to to hotel one day! I would thoroughly recommend it!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gabby m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vico Equense
3.4 km away
Hotel Mega Mare
Hotel Mega Mare
#1 of 20 in Vico Equense
1,396 reviews
2.2 km away
Grand Hotel Angiolieri
1.5 km away
Astoria Vico Hotel
Astoria Vico Hotel
#3 of 20 in Vico Equense
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Bellevue Syrene
Bellevue Syrene
#4 of 100 in Sorrento
1,157 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#13 of 20 in Vico Equense
224 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Ancore Hotel
Le Ancore Hotel
#7 of 20 in Vico Equense
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capo La Gala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capo La Gala Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Serio 8 | Sorrento coast road, 80069, Vico Equense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Vico Equense
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vico Equense
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Vico Equense
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vico Equense
#4 Family Hotel in Vico Equense
Price Range: RM1,475 - RM2,796 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Capo La Gala Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegance, luxury and modernity are perfectly mixed and in harmony with the environment in gorgeous scenery where plants, rocks and the view of an endless sea make the hotel appear as a real ship anchored to an island. The hotel offers 23 rooms with sea view terrace equipped with every comfort. The restaurant maxi has been awarded with its first Michelin star on the 2010 Michelin guide. A unique secret place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Capo La Gala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capo La Gala Hotel Vico Equense, Italy - Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing