We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of San Lino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Lino
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Yesterday my partner and I returned from a weekend at this hotel in Volterra. We live a few hours away, and this was our first time visiting the town. After visiting several other Tuscan hill towns, we expected it to be difficult to access the hotel, we were very wrong! The drive was a piece of cake, right through the walls and in to the parking lot and we were good to go. This is almost unheard of for staying inside the walls of an Italian city, usually things are much more complicated. For parking at San Lino, you just have to turn left directly after the trees & benches that are beside the hotel. I checked google street view before going so that we knew exactly what to do, you don't want to find yourself stopping in these tiny streets if you can help it. Also be advised the parking spots are small, this is also typical of Italy. Get the smallest rental car you can manage for your trip, and have someone guide you into the spot. The hotel staff were very friendly and spoke excellent English. We booked a superior room which was on the large side for Italy and fairly nice. The walls felt a bit sparse, but the bed was comfortable and the room had everything we needed and was very clean. The shower was small but this is also typical of Italy! It was not claustrophobic though because it was glass. The air conditioning was also very good, it took a few minutes to get going but then the room stayed comfortably cool for our entire stay (and we like it fairly cold). The hotel is only a few minutes walk from everything in Volterra, including the Roman Amphitheater and fantastic restaurants. There is a very slight incline into town, but it's honestly nothing to worry about, I promise you. The pool was a nice bonus, and very refreshing on a hot Italian summer day. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and it was exactly what we needed for a relaxing weekend in Volterra.

The only reason that I gave this hotel a 4 instead of a 5 is that there are a few small things that could be improved in relation to service. First off, when I asked for a towel for the pool, I was asked to come to reception to get it myself. For a 4 star hotel that was a bit strange. Also at breakfast the first day the staff were not very friendly and do not serve you coffee or even really speak with you if they can help it, they simply bring the food to the buffet and clean tables. The breakfast itself was typical Italian, pastries, meat, cheese, and cereal. However, the croissants and other pastries were fresh and tasty and there was a good selection of cereal, which is great if you want to eat a bit healthier (bur seriously, try the croissants, they were great!). The only snag is the coffee... I did read before booking that it comes from a machine. In Italy this happens sometimes at bigger hotels, however, my partner said the coffee was not very good, which doesn't (and shouldn't) happen in Italy. This machine was also very very slow, creating a line up for coffee that would not be necessary if the machine were replaced or if staff were to bring coffee to the tables. We noted a (real) espresso machine in the bar area right by the dining area, but it was not used for breakfast. Perhaps it is only used for ordering from the bar or restaurant? This seems silly to me. There was also no option in the automated machine other than espresso (or lungo espresso) and hot water for tea. No cappuccino!! Also unheard of in Italy, as far as I'm concerned. The last negative point was related to the pool, it was very very cold, which is fine as it was hot out. But I did not bargain for all the BUGS and such floating in the pool! A few leaves wouldn't bother me, but there were many dead hornets and large bugs, it was fairly gross. I love swimming so I figured out that if you stuck to the right side of the pool there was no debris for some reason. This hotel really needs to get the pool cleaned more often, otherwise it is a nice pool and an enjoyable bonus that you don't often find inside the walls, especially given the decent prices at this hotel. We were also asked by cleaning staff at 11am when we were going to leave the room... this was a surprise as well. As we were just there for a weekend and not actually on vacation, we took the opportunity for a lazy morning of relaxing at the hotel before venturing out in the heat. At the same time, 11am seems a bit early to start knocking on doors. We felt pressured to leave the room a bit earlier than we intended. At the same time, she was very apologetic about it.

So, overall, a great hotel. It could use a few minor improvements, but, I would definitely recommend it! The location is superb, with affordable an parking garage, and a pool, all within the walls of ancient Volterra!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a superior, it was overlooking the pool which was very nice. A street view might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianInItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

114 - 118 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

A great location and we stayed for 5 nights to see Andrea Bocelli in Lajatico all arranged by Ariannandfriends.Delighted with everything but due to a full hotel I had to stand in line for my morning breakfast coffee from and inadequate machine (mind you it was delicious if slow) We got what one could expect.Nice, courteous staff, well mannered, informantive and helpful front desk.Free parking 2 minuted from the hotel door.Can recommend this hotel .

Room Tip: a room overlooking the swimming pool is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lastrollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and went to see Andrea Bocelli in Lajatico, a magical event always. The hotel staff arranged our transfers to the venue and it all went without a hitch. Our hotel was lovely, right in the centre of Volterra. Includes car parking, at an extra charge each day. Our room faced the pool and the whole hotel had a nice feel to it. The whole staff were lovely and so helpful. Alice and Jane on reception particularly so. They went out of their way to help. Breakfast was very good, varied and plentiful, and we were able to eat in the little courtyard each morning, which made it more special. Volterra is a lovely place to visit and even more so to spend a few nights. The San Lino Hotel was good value and in a very good spot, and we would thoroughly recommend it for anyone wanting to stay in Volterra especially if you like to have a swim as well. Lovely relaxing stay.

Room Tip: We were with friends on the 2nd floor, their room was at the front and this was lovely. We were at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirraltravellers446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hotel San Lino is set in a great place, at 5 minutes from piazza dei priori and very close to all the must -to -see things in Volterra;

we loved our room, and the personnell (my best regards to the old man who made us parking and to the young lady who works in the morning :) ; breakfast is ok, but the best part it's the pool! very quiet and clean, the perfect place to relax after a whole day walking :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea191284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

What a great location, just inside the archway.
Staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and the breakfasts are really good.
The only downside is that we booked a superior room, and it certainly wasnt superior at all. It was very small and very basically furnished, the only good thing was it had a tiny roof terrace which overlooked the pool but even that could only fit two chairs.
The wifi is free and we had no trouble with getting it in our room.
could do with tea and coffee facilities being available in the room.
Would definitely come again but not in room 304, too small.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazells63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Volterra hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Etruria
Hotel Etruria
#3 of 25 in Volterra
285 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel La Locanda
Hotel La Locanda
#4 of 25 in Volterra
376 reviews
0.7 km away
Park Hotel le Fonti
Park Hotel le Fonti
#6 of 25 in Volterra
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Villa Rioddi
Villa Rioddi
#2 of 25 in Volterra
327 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Porta all'Arco
Villa Porta all'Arco
#8 of 25 in Volterra
211 reviews
9.1 km away
Diacceroni Agriturismo Biologico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lino

Address: Via San Lino 26, 56048, Volterra, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Volterra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Volterra
Price Range: RM398 - RM542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Lino 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Lino is a 4 - stars Hotel set within the medieval walls of Volterra, only a 5-minute walk from the central Piazza dei Priori. It offers a fresh garden with outdoor swimming pool and panoramic sun terrace. Wi-Fi is free all over the hotel, even if it's not easy to realize a wiFi connection in a structure created in the 14th century.All rooms come with an en suite bathroom, satellite TV, and a minibar. Some feature a rustic Tuscan style, with wooden furniture and terracotta floors.San Lino Hotel is also a 5-minute walk from the Roman Amphitheatre. A garage is available on site.In the morning, a various continental breakfast buffet's waiting for our guests, during the summer months, it's even possibile to get the breakfast outside in our courtyard. The Restaurant "I Papi" offers you a light lunch and a special evening service with traditional specialities and also selected fish preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your San Lino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lino Volterra
San Lino Hotel Volterra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing