We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Antica Badia(Volterra)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Volaterra(Volterra)
Book now, pay at stay
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Etruria(Volterra)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Locanda Il Boschetto(Volterra)(Great Value!)
US$78
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Porta all'Arco(Volterra)(Great Value!)
US$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chiostro delle Monache(Volterra)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
110
193
98
36
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
193
98
36
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationstayed here for two nightsinside the city wallstea coffeefour star ratingthird floorold citymedieval townnice pool areabeautiful citybreakfast buffetcomfortable hotelwalking holidayglass of winesan gimignanoconventreceptionist
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Stayed here for two nights as first stage of walking holiday. Arrived about 9pm and told we could still eat in restaurant if we came straight down from room which we did. Food was fine and good bottle of chianti classico at reasonable price. (Price of meal and wine turned out to be even more reasonable as we got 20% discount as we were residents). Room was ok but mattress was hard... a common theme of holiday, Had room overlooking swimming pool which we had intended to use but our only full day in Volterra was spoiled as there were thunderstorms all day.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apedin2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

Although the room is a little on the small size (but the building was a old convent back in the 1400s), our overnight stay here was excellent. The room had good air conditioning and a great little balcony over looking the pool from the third floor. ( The hotel has a lift ). No tea / coffee making facilities. The WiFi connection was very good and complementary. Breakfast was good and can be taken inside or outside in a nice court yard. The hotel is within the city walls which makes for easy walking to view the town highlights. The reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We didn't have a chance to use the pool - but it looked most inviting.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank grstoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

We had a great time in this hotel. Very good breakfast, great with the pool, perfect to live inside the city walls. We paid for parking and it was well worth it (spacy garage).

AC was fine but the 4-bedroom had some problems with the AC. Otherwise our four nights were perfect.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Annilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed here in a room for five. The room was average and the room needed another AC unit, it never got as cool as we wanted it. Breakfast was great, and the hotel overall was beautiful. The pool was refreshing there is a huge patio where many gathered for a pre dinner drink and cheese. The location was unbeatable, you could easily walk anywhere in this beautiful city. The parking garage was convenient. They have a terrace you can enjoy a glass of wine and look over the beautiful valley below. The rooms need updating, but for the price Hotel San Lino is well worth it. There is also a handy Laundromat two minute walk from the hotel. Volterra is a beautiful city and a great home base to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Randy939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Most things need updating, the air con is noisy and barely copes. The bathroom was a little tight and the shower hose leaked. But for the price it was good value and clean. Best aspect was location within the wall and a short walk to all Volterra has to offer. After a day on the feet the pool and loungers around it were a great place to relax before going out for the evening. Breakfast adequate rather than inspiring. Wifi can be very slow in the room

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews