We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mayer & Splendid
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Just had a wonderful ten night stay in this perfectly located hotel. In the center of Desenzano beside shops and restaurants. We had a lovely spacious Junior Suite overlooking the lake nice big room lovely bathroom and a spacious balcony to sit and admire the lake. The ferry stop is right beside the hotel great for exploring the lake. The breakfast was plentiful and tasty ask the waitress for coffee as it is much nicer than from the machine and the waitress name who I did not get is so helpful and friendly. The reception staff very nice and helpful Gendilina so welcoming and helpful a credit to the hotel as we're all the staff we met keep,it up it's great to see.
The room was kept spotless by the staff the hotel very clean and products replaced as needed. We availed of the Splendid card which gave us a nice free bottle of wine In the room as well as free water and minerals in the mini bar. The hotel gives free bikes to explore the area my only tip here is they could do with a few new ones but its a minor issue. A small gym is also available and a paid spa area. All in all I found this a great hotel with great staff and would definitely return.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank clodagh h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

I liked everything about this hotel (except the adjacent Bar Mayer - see separate review). The reception staff were welcoming and always friendly; the hotel's wine bar (NOT the Café Mayer but the one integral to the hotel) was very welcoming and produced an excellent cold plate of meat and cheese, served by a charming young waitress whose charm and hospitality is one of the hotel's real assets.

My room a "Lord Byron" room was spacious and well comfortable. To be honest the balconies are too small to be much use but relative to the hotel class and the cost this is unsurprising and reflects the age of the building. There are plenty of bathroom products and a kettle is provided with some tea and instant coffee (no decaf). Cleaning is thorough.

Breakfast is really very good for the class of hotel and the price. The machine coffee is awful but fresh espresso is available on request. There were fresh scrambled eggs every morning. Toaster, fresh fruit - all the things you do not always find and served in a sunny airy room with lake views.

Overall it is thoroughly good value and a wonderful location. Althiough walking distance from the station it is uphill and a good 20 minutes so I would not recommend trying to walk it with a suitcase. However taxis are readily available and not expensive.

The hotel recommends a few restaurants some of which I thought were exceessively exopensive - but I tried Gattolardo and went back a second night. It was very good.

Room Tip: Front and side view rooms have lake views - avoid the attic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Only a 3 star hotel but in a great location overlooking the lake & opposite the ferry terminal which is perfect for visiting other towns on the lake. It is worth upgrading to a junior suite so you get a balcony at the front of the hotel. The reception staff are very helpful & breakfast plentiful. Please note the bar does not open until at least 7.30 pm and there is no restaurant in the evening's but lots of places to dine out very close by - we would highly recommend Alla Stella restaurant and also Columbus which are both close by

Room Tip: Junior suite with a large balcony at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BrightonColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Good hotel in a great location overlooking Lake Garda. The lake road runs in front of the hotel but there were barriers preventing through traffic. I don't know if this is a permanent arrangement but as it reduced any traffic noise dramatically, it suited us perfectly. The ferry terminal is ideally situated just a few steps away.( Incidentally a daily ticket for the south of the lake is a more cost effective way of visiting nearby resorts than separate ferry trips. It was too hot for us to even contemplate a bus trip!)

The hotel room was fairly spacious, traditionally decorated with dark furniture and a well appointed bathroom. The balcony overlooked the lake & was just about large enough to hold two small folding chairs. There were shutters on the windows which meant you could screen the early morning light. The air conditioning was very efficient & could be easily adjusted, unlike some other places where operating time is restricted or is centrally controlled.

There was a good selection of cereal, fresh & tinned fruit, pastries, ham, cheese, nuts, dried fruit, bread & hot food for breakfast. The fresh orange juice was particularly tasty & very popular. Order your coffee from the bar rather than use the machine as it is much nicer.

I was a bit disappointed that there was no evening restaurant at the hotel but as there were several nearby this wasn't really an issue.

The staff were friendly & helpful & I would definitely stay here again if I return to Desenzano.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travelkidx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We received the best possible service from Paulo at Hotel Mayer during our recent visit to Desenzano. Nothing was too much trouble and he always went the extra mile. A lovely, welcoming hotel owned by someone who takes pride in giving great service to his customers! Thank you Paulo, particularly for finding us taxis in our hour of need.Great hotel in a prime location with fabulous views over Lake Garda and exceptional customer service!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank decoflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Desenzano Del Garda hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#4 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
390 reviews
0.3 km away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#2 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
602 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
Hotel Acquaviva del Garda
#9 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#1 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
678 reviews
3.7 km away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
721 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Piccola Vela
Hotel Piccola Vela
#6 of 41 in Desenzano Del Garda
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayer & Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayer & Splendid

Address: Piazza Papa Ulisse 10, 25015, Desenzano Del Garda, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Desenzano Del Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Desenzano Del Garda
Price Range: RM 492 - RM 858 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mayer & Splendid 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE MAYER & SPLENDID HOTEL! Ours is a well-known hotel in Desenzano del Garda, where history, tradition and professionalism come together to make your stay unforgettable. The Hotel has delightful views of the lake. It is situated in the heart of the historical centre of Desenzano, and provides for enjoyable moments of complete relaxationwith a choice of different types of rooms, all finely furnished in detail. Our hotel is ideal as a starting point for exploring the beauty of Lake Garda and unique cities such as Venice, Verona, Mantua and Brescia and Milan, or simply for enjoying a typical lakeside holiday. Hotel Mayer will satisfy all your requirements. Book now!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mayer & Splendid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mayer And Splendid
Hotel Mayer & Splendid Desenzano Del Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing