We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dog heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodpecker Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Communal garden and views
Poppit Sands Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Newchapel, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Oct 2018
Thank you for your 5 bubble review! The cottages are well located to visit the superb surroundings and all the dogs love the beaches!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue L
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a find!”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just had a week's holiday in Woodpecker Barn & what a lovely cottage it is.
It's very clean & comfy & has everything you need. It's just perfect if you have dogs, with your own enclosed garden and the safe communal garden as well, they loved it and didn't want to leave!
Lots of places to eat nearby, we particularly liked The Nag's Head which is just down the hill & The Daffodil Inn which is a bit further away (about 10 miles), both are very dog friendly.
Chris & Clare are doing a fabulous job & we wouldn't hesitate to go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2018
Thank you so much Sue for your lovely review. We know how important it is for guests to have a 'home from home' and feel that they want to come back each day to a clean and comfy cottage. We also appreciate that a safe place for your dog to run around is essential too, so thank you for commenting on that.
We certainly hope to see you both again
Regards and thank you
Clare and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mut18
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed 25 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The Barn is in a superb location to aid the relaxation of West Wales. All the rooms were well equipped and decorated, we wanted for nothing. The enclosed garden and communal garden were a real bonus for our dog to enjoy.
Fabulous to be so encouraged to recycle and consider the environment.
Wonderful time, will return soon I hope.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2018
Thank you so much Dawn for your wonderful review. We are glad you found the cottages well equipped, we try to make guests stays like a home from home. Thank you for mentioning our recycling too, the environment is very important to us, which is also why we have swapped to glass bottles for milk.
Thank you again and hope to see you again soon
Regards
Clare and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TJBBristo...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy, modern barn conversion in lovely countryside”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed for a few days over New Year in one of Chris and Clare's barn conversions with our 8 month old daughter. They were very accommodating and provided a cot and high-chair. Our barn had modern decor and was well-equipped and easy to keep warm with electric heating. There are some nice walks from the barn and the beautiful pembrokeshire coastline within 30 mins drive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your break over New Year and appreciated the lovely surroundings.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stinkydog...
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
“An idyllic location for peace and tranquillity, and superb for dog owners”
Reviewed 15 January 2018 for a stay in October 2017

Located near Boncarth, Pembrokshire. Woodpecker Barn is part of a small group of four cottages called Valley View Cottages. Clare and Chris are wonderful hosts and made sure we were settled in with everything we needed. There was milk, tea, coffee, sugar and biccies in the cottage so we were able to have a cuppa the minute we arrived. The dogs were made welcome and the garden is secure as long as you haven't got a dog that likes to jump fences (our lurchers are too lazy to bother).
There is everything you could possibly need in the cottage including a washing machine and dishwasher (I don't even have one of these at home) and the cottage is immaculate and cosy.
The surrounding area is great for dog walks and there were maps and info sheets giving details of dog friendly places to walk and visit. The Wildlife Centre at Cardigan is a great place to walk and our favourite beach is Poppit Sands. There is a local pub and a small grocery shop a short drive away and there is a Tesco Superstore in Cardigan with a petrol station if need be.
This is such a beautiful place to stay and we have just booked again for 2018.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your kind words, it means a lot to us. We loved having you and your lovely dogs to stay and look forward to seeing you again in 2018.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing