We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely position. Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sommaroy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We had 5 nights out of season when the hotel was quiet.
We were room upgraded and put at end of a corridor at our request so very quiet and comfortable.
Excellent breakfast and tasty and very well presented evening meal.
Staff helpful and even provided coffee and picnic breakfast as we had to leave at 4am for airport deadline at Tromso.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob21_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gøran M, Digital Ambassador at Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks for your kind words, we really appreciate that! 4am is early!

Welcome back to Sommaroy!

Goran M / Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

I visited Sommaroy for 3 days last year in 2016, and it was the best time of my life. I stayed in a cabin, and the views were just incredible. I would walk out onto the fjords, and beach and walk up along the small mountains every day and it was just breath taking. The cabins themselves were immaculate and with great facilities. they hat a hot tub too, and i ate at the hotel. at the time i was a vegetarian and they were incredibly accommodating and the food was delicious. Since i have been it has been renovated and it looks EVEN better (if thats possible)??!! I had the most amazing time. Nearby theres a place you can kayak ect, rent bikes, and theres a small shop for food and souvenirs, and its near Tromso too (another of my favourite places). In all, a fantastic place to spend in summer or winter ( i am yet to go in winter) but if you're going to sommaroy or anywhere near trams, you have to go here. Bucket list criteria! Tusen takk Sommarøy!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lizzie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

I had the incredible privilege of being a guest for three days at the Arctic hotel. I was absolutely stunned by the beauty of the area and touched by the incredible hospitality, high standard, impeccable food and friendly beyond believe service. The owner manager creates a great atmosphere by his humour stories and his care and attention for detail. An amazing place to hold business meetings for those that want to get in touch with nature boat tours to see the Eagles whatever it might be an arctic hotel is by far one of the best places I've stayed in the world!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Sparpook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Stayed for 2 nights whilst on a tour of Tromso area in November. The hotel was in the midst of massive rennovations which to be honest was a bit messy. We were upgraded to a cabin to keep us away from the works they were lovely. Food in the hotel was excellent and staff friendly and accomodating. We had included a whale watch tour which was excellent from the jetty near the hotel and saw the orcas & humpbacks. I am sure the works are now complete and from what I could see from the plans shown it will be a alot better now. Would return to take a new look if return to the area.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CHRIS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

We stayed at Sommaroy Arctic Hotel for three nights, in Cabin 46, suitable for six people, three bedrooms, kitchen, lounge, diner, shower room. The cabin was a short walk from the main hotel. The cabin was one of many looking over the lagoon. It was clean comfortable, ideal for self catering. Also to our surprise sauna, which we used ech day. Outside the cabin was a balcony with a table with two benches which could also six people. The northern lights normally come from the west, and from the balcony each night we were so very lucky to witness a truly magnificent display. The colour in the sky have to be seen to be believed. The snow on the ground, made it a wonderful winter wonderland. Everyone at the hotel were nice and very helpful. Perfect in every way. We hope to return soon.

Room Tip: I think to lay a little extra and have a cabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sommaroy
37.6 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#2 of 18 in Tromso
402 reviews
37.5 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
37.4 km away
Clarion Hotel The Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.6 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tromso
37.2 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0 km away
Hamn in Senja
Hamn in Senja
#1 of 1 in Hamn
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso

Address: Skipsholmvegen 22, Sommaroy 9110, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Sommaroy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sommaroy
Price Range: RM610 - RM1,758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the west side of Tromsø, a mere 45 minutes from the city centre lies the fascinating pearl of nature, Sommarøy, where you meet chalk-white beaches, cosy coves, holms and reefs that encircle the hotel and everything we have to offer our guests. In close combat with the forces of nature, we facilitate authentic coastal experiences at sea and on land. Activities, wellness, coastal culture and a lively local community – and all the service and facilities you expect of a modern hotel in the kingdom of Ottar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Sommaroy Arctic Hotel Tromso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing