We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic take away”
Review of The Rose Cottage

The Rose Cottage
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Rufford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a Friday night takeaway, easy to order and payment - excellent service from staff, food was outstanding really enjoyable and a great treat to end the week.
Would recommend to a friend and will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank katieniddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1,094)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 1,094 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the most amazing take away Sunday roast today. Great customer service over the phone when we called to place our order and all measures were in place to make it as safe as possible when collecting. We were greeted by a very helpful and friendly member of staff on the door and our food was ready for our collection time. Great value for money for the portion sizes. We will definitely be back! Thank you.

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank Katie2012Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

We had been out walking our dog nearby and were looking for somewhere nice to eat and we definitely found that here. Our dog was made most welcome and we had a lovely table. The decor here was amazing, so cosy with lots of candlelight! The staff were all so polite and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. All the family enjoyed eating here. The food, the decor, atmosphere and service all absolutely fantastic. We had a lovely evening so thank you for your hospitality. I would definitely return here if in the area and would recommend to anyone looking for a lovely pub to eat in that also welcomes dogs which was a bonus.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank 825leilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020

I was expecting better. Went for an anniversary meal and we first ordered drinks - not sure tier 3 rules allowed us to do that before ordering food but then who knows? First disappointment, no real ale, but I could understand why. We ordered the seafood sharing platter for starters which promised dips and a selection of breads. Ignore the plural if you go there. It came with tartare sauce and a few slices of white bloomer - nothing special and certainly not a selection of breads. The duck main was good but the monkfish and king prawn curry was disappointingly bland and not large. The most disappointing aspect of our visit was the reaction to my request for a full pint of beer. I was told that the glass was oversized and that the head was part of the pint. When I asked to see the line which indicated the pint measure there was none and the excuses given would certainly not have satisfied a weights and measures inspector. I didn't pursue the matter any further as that would have upset my wife on our anniversary. We didn't bother with a dessert.

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
694simonw, Owner at The Rose Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2020

Disappointed to see this review,with regards to ales we have keg ale,this is due to us being a destination location and cannot warrant cask as it has a very short life.
Unfortunately on the evening you did not once mention you was not happy with any of your meal,if you had mentioned we would of done our upmost to rectify.
Anyone that drinks ale would want a head on there beer,no one said the glass was oversized unsure where this has come from,I was told you spoke quite rudely to the staff that night though,the industry is hard enough at the moment and staff work incredibly hard.
Thankyou for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2020

Fabulous meal, lasagne, fish curry and cheesecake. Table at 7.45, excellent service, good staff. Great ambience, clean, well stocked

Date of visit: November 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rose Cottage also viewed

Ravenshead, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 
Edwinstowe, Mansfield
Edwinstowe, Mansfield
 

Been to The Rose Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.