We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't recommend this company ”
Review of Glass Bottom Boat

Glass Bottom Boat
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Leigh
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Goat Island NZ Glass Bottom Boat is a popular, fully commentated 45-minute tour showcasing the area’s abundant marine life, fauna, birds, reefs and caves. During the trip, guests learn about the history, preservation and protection of New Zealand’s first marine reserve. For those wishing to get a closer look, kayaks, wetsuits and snorkel gear are available for hire at the beach. Bookings are essential. Guests may book on the beach, however booking online or by phone is recommended to secure your seat.
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

We booked the glass bottom boat tour and drove a lot of kilometers. As we arrived (waisted our half day because of the tour) there was nobody so we waited until the tour should start. Unfortunately there was no sign saying the conditions are too bad (water not clear enough) and we didn't get a text message from the company. Just after asking some other guys we got told that the tour couldn't take place today. At first we didn't fit a refund as well. A couple days later we got a message saying we could do the tour today, but we were already in Tauranga. Two weeks after the tour we still got no refund even if they say you get one after five days. So we had to write them a message with a complaint. On this they just sent us an automatic generated message back that they refunded the money. Finally after about two weeks we got our money back instead of 4 days or whatever they promise you!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott P, Owner at Glass Bottom Boat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Its unfortunate that people do not read the conditions of purchase, it states to check the web site or phone to insure the boat is sailing due to weather conditions, we also send a text message if we are not sailing due to conditions but this only works if you have your cell phone on or provide the correct number. sorry for any inconvenience but we do try our best to provide one of the cheapest and educational tours in New Zealand, hope you have a great journey in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Great time with the family, we were lucky enough to see dolphins playing and splashing right beside the boat.
Would defiantly recommend it to others and take a picnic and enjoy the beautiful view before or after the boat trip or there are many good cafes to choose from on the way there.

Thank mandyr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

I had a very nice time and I really would like to come back to glass bottom boat with JMR group and my own family.

Thank you.

The Guy was very informed and he talked about the diferent types of fishes there are in New Zealand seas and I also saw the different types of sea weed under the sea bed.

From Claire Scott.

Thank NewZealandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The skipper was very friendly and knowledgeable, and the view around was awesome. However, the view under the glass bottom was not as attractive as expected, partly due to too many heads reflected form the opposite bench, partly due to lack of various fish under the water.

Thank Sunny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Toke the tour with 5 year old son and found skipper very friendly, knowledgeable and definitely made the trip interesting and fun for everyone.

Suitable for all ages and fitness levels as comes right up on beach to get on and off.

Thank CurliWinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glass Bottom Boat also viewed

 

Been to Glass Bottom Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing