We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dolphin Dance Lodge(Port Elizabeth)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Summerstrand)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$91
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
30
9
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
9
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights at The Green Tree cottage with our 3 small children. What a fantastic stay we had! We loved this cottage and Lezl is such a warm, friendly and fantastic host! The Nyala Cottage that we stayed in comes with 2 bedrooms, a big dining area and living area and an additional bunk beds to accommodation big family like us. Huge breakfast spread provided every morning from cereal, fruits, muffins, french toast, ham, cheese etc. We stayed during the Easter week holiday and Lezl went all the way make our Easter holiday a memorable one especially for the kids by giving the children Easter eggs and preparing hot cross-buns for breakfast!

The property is so well managed and comes with a small pool. But the real winner for us with this property is the petting farm that belongs to Lezl's son! It's occupiers made up of roosters, rabbits, goats, ducks and their wonderful dogs and cats kept our children happy and contented all day!

Location is also convenient to Addo National Park though it is a bit of a drive to reach there, about 20 minutes. Then again, unless you stay in one of the camps inside the park itself, most accommodations out of the park will involves a bit of driving.

We definitely had a fantastic stay in The Green Tree and will not be hesitant to recommend this wonderful property! This is a superb place to stay for family travelling with children. A real winner for us!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron-Shima H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Loved every minute of our stay at 'Green Tree' Lezl not only a charming and welcoming hostess, but for U.K. visitors ( and no doubt others) most helpful when it came to making the most of our stay. A beautiful tranquil spot and conveniently close to Addo Elephant Park. The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. Charactable with a good South African atmosphere. Very appealing - would love to go back. A huge thank you to Lezl and to her husband for being so willing to give us a lift when we needed one. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

First time we have stayed at a farm facility. We self catered We were well received by the charming Lezl. Cottage was nicely furnished with grand old solid wood products.It was well equipped in the kitchen area and very clean. There was a huge fireplace which would be great to sit by in winter evenings. Birdlife was never ending and it was only 20 mins to the Addo game reserve. Will definitely return and use the B and B next time if only 2 of us stay. Has a nice touch farm for the kids.Our overseas guests also thoroughly enjoyed their stay as they were free to roam the farm and surrounds.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FRED B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Although we were initally concerned that it was a little of the beaten track, when we arrived - it was paradise!
We were treated like royalty. Coming home to beautifully home cooked meals after a day of animal spotting at Addo made the trip complete.

I'd return there in a heart beat!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room there!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We spent wonderful 3 nights at the Green Tree Guest Cottage in October 2011. The Porcupine Cottage was perfect for our family of 3. Lezl is a lovely, warm-hearted person and has been a wonderful host, helpful us organising our day trips. She prepared the best cooked breakfasts we had during our 2 weeks' trip throughout SA, and also prepared delicious hot dinners for us, served at our Cottage. The Green Tree Cottages are ideal for families with children, due to the animals and nature around. The proximity to Game Reserves, such as Schotia and Amakhala, is ideal, and the close-by Farm Stall is worth visiting. Our 6 year-old daughter will always remember the morning meetings with Lezl's two baby kittens...
We will definitely return and can only highly recommend! Thanks a lot!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrittagoesSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews