We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (40)
Filter reviews
40 results
Traveller rating
30
9
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
9
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 40 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Bushbuck cottage while road tripping down the garden route. A beautiful, peaceful farm and a comfy cottage. People are so friendly in the Eastern Cape. We will be back! Thank you Lezl for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica Jade V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2014

We booked two cottages from Lezl one day before we were to arrive and luckily they had availability for our party of seven. Four of us stayed in Njala and three in Porcupine. They were absolutely lovely: tastefully furnished, beautiful linens, and even a bottle of wine in each cottage! What a wonderful touch and the only place we have experienced that (all of us love our red!). Lezl greeted us when we pulled in and we were lucky enough to play with their adorable dogs outside and have a good chat. She mentioned a few times to not hesitate to knock on her door should we need anything. The following morning, one of the drivers in our group who had been suffering from a few days of diarrhea became worse overnight. Her husband found Lezl's brother-in-law early the next morning on the farm and he said the nearest hospital was in Port Elizabeth. So off they went in the minibus. Lezl texted them a while later to ask how she was doing. They were back from PE by noon and able to make the elephant ride at Addo. By the evening though, fever had returned and our patient was not doing well. So the following morning she returned to the hospital with hubby and her mom, only to get admitted for at least two days. Hubby was not going to leave her so it meant the remaining four were at the cottages without transport for the whole day. Lezl had been over in the morning to see how the patient was, and said she would take the four into Addo and they could lunch somewhere. Beyond generous. Not only did she spend her WHOLE day driving our group around, she also ended up driving all of them to the hospital at Port Elizabeth where a plan was made for them to drive the minibus back to the cottages and hubby could rent a second car for himself. Lezl went so above and beyond for our group, our thanks are simply not enough. She was so lovely and makes one feel comfortable from the gitgo, but the time she took out of her busy day just exceeded any and all expectations of anywhere we have stayed in the entire world, not just SA. We wish we could give 10 stars instead of five. Please consider a stop here if you are EVER in this area. You will be so happy you did.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Great place to go to Addo National park or do the game drive at Schotia. We stayed in 2 cottages, myself with 2 kids in one room that was more than spacious, very well kept and had a great farm feel to it. Very clean and quiet, with Lezl being a fantastic host to make you feel welcome

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matrask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I am so glad that we chose this lost little farm in the middle of no where for our 4 day mini-honeymoon. We got there (on a almost 40 degree day), with champagne waiting for us and a nice cool room. It was so quiet, just what we needed after a hectic wedding weekend. Lezl was a great guest, she made us different breakfasts everyday and even drove to Port Elizabeth because we wanted to Braai steak one night! She really goes out of her way for her guests. We took a few dips in the pool, played some golf and went on an amazing game drive (Schotia Safari)! Everything was worth it! Thank you Green Tree Cottages :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leska87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Lizl was an amazing friendly host that really gave us a warm welcome. Addo National Park is very nearby! The surroundings are beautiful. The road nearby is a bit noisy in the night, but for the rest it was a very nice stay! We as vegetarians received veggie meals that were specially prepared for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noisy road
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wouter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews