We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Chambres du Glacier
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We spent three great nights in Les Chambres du Glacier. The room was comfortable, clean and had a fantastic view of Liberte square below. The owner Carlos and his family were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. I am a sound sleeper but my girl friend is not. The square got noisy at night but with the double set of balcony doors closed the room got very quite and she had no trouble sleeping at all. Sarlat is a beautiful town with a countless old medieval alleys to explore. Les Chambres du Glacier is right in the center and I am very glad we chose it after looking at many other choices online.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNG1366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2013

Carlos and his wife were very friendly and helpful. The room (number 1) was enormous, with a great balcony/view on the main market square. Very stylish / authentic. Possibly not for light sleepers (middle of the town) but we really enjoyed the one night here, best enjoyed on market days (Wed / Sat).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Our room was fairly basic but very large , clean and comfortable. Could do with some extra items such as tea/coffee making facilities but this is a minor quibble as the cafe is directly below. Iron and ironing board would however be appreciated. The key to this accommodation is the location. Open the doors to your balcony and look out on history. Would not want to stay anywhere else in Sarlat. Friendly and helpful hosts with a couple of staff who speak reasonable English. Communication was not a problem.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

we stayed here in June 2012, have only recently returned hence the delay in posting this review....we had been recommended to Sarlat from friends and had trouble locating this B&B initially to book, but so glad we were successful....the room we had was huge, clean, fairly basic, but hey we're in a very very old building!! Carlos, Filo and Bruno were exceptional hosts, tho we had a little struggle with understanding each other on some occasions....brekky is included and OMG, the jams, coissants and baguettes are to die for...as are the espresso coffee. We ate at the restuarant downstairs, as well as directly opposite and next door and never disappointed....it was very very hot there in June and with no fans/cooling, it just made for more trips to the magnificent icecream shop literally outside the door!!!!! Sarlat is a magnificent place to visit, full of so much history and it felt like we were on a movie set.....we were fortunate enough on the last night to be entertained by musicians for "National French Music Day', which was actually weird as all the songs were in English and basically 70/80's songs, so we were in our element....a great atmosphere tho and was lovely to see all the locals and tourists mingling....highly recommended B&B and town.....as others have mentioned, you need to park your car for the duration, we found a free all day spot up the little laneway alongside the public park, tho Carlos gave us the all clear to bring our car to pack it, on the morning of departure (7.30am) rather than making multiple trips!!! (a non market day too!!)....the markets (Wed/Sat) are fantastic and you MUST try the nougat!!!

Room Tip: for a few days dont worry about the noise....its wonderful watching the locals set up for market day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sterwuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was a really lovely hotel overlooking the main square of Sarlat. The windows and small balconies overlook restaurants, cafes and on Saturday morning the markets which is fascinating to watch from your window. We had no issues with noise. The location is close to everything.

Our room was huge but sparsley furnished. The bed was good and the bathroom enourmous and very modern.

The owners were freindly though it seemed only one speaks good English which is to be expected in the country and did not cause us any issue. Breakfast served in the restaurant was very good. The jams are some of the best I have ever had.

There is no parking at the hotel as it is in a pedestrianised area but there is parking about a 5 minute walk away.

We had a small problem finding the place to begin with but you just need to go into the restaurant of the same name.

Writing this I am finding myself missing some of the finer foods from this delightful area none of which I was permitted to take back in to Australia so I had better start planning my next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sarlat-la-Caneda hotels
0.1 km away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
407 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
675 reviews
0.2 km away
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
Les Cordeliers Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 60 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Domaine Bois de Capy
Domaine Bois de Capy
#3 of 4 in Proissans
2 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Restaurant l'Escale
Hotel Restaurant l'Escale
#5 of 5 in Sainte Nathalene
12 reviews
7 km away
La Treille
La Treille
#3 of 3 in Vitrac
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chambres du Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chambres du Glacier

Address: 9 Place de la Liberte, 24200, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sarlat-la-Caneda
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Les Chambres Du Glacier France/Sarlat-La-Caneda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing