We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
68
41
8
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
41
8
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews friendly staff comfortable beds bread restaurant home denmark inside town sea kro wine menu meals travel museum
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as it's halfway between Copenhagen and Aarhus. We didn't like the options in Odense. Very glad we extended our search.

The village has the sea on one side and a lake on the other with a walking/cycling path running alongside.

The hotel has great parking, great staff, the family room was spacious. It's an old style building so expect a rustic feel than a modern one, I prefer the latter but this hotel does rustic well.

There is a restaurant for breakfast and that was a good spread of food.

The staff left at 9/9.30 to go home and there is an honesty bar in the lounge which I thought was a great idea.

The hotel itself is very spacious and clearly also gets used for conferences.

The restaurant was expensive so we turned right and 5 minutes up the road was a cheap and great quality pizza place.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank MDowning1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibeng530, Ejer at Munkebo Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2016

Dear MDowning.

Thank you for your nice words
- hope to welcome you back some other time

All the Best
Finn & Iben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016

This is a traditional Danish Kro with a face lift. They served Danish food of best quality. We talked to the owner, he said before they served luxury food for the rich, however they wanted to open their doors for a larger audience. So they did, preserving the freshness and high quality of their menus, while serving portions that everybody is willing to pay for. And you will be pleased by the service, for sure.
And the taste. I was very very happy to choose this restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank anitarichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibeng530, Ejer at Munkebo Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016
Google Translation

Kære Anitarichter
Tusind tak for de pæne ord, og tusind tak fordi du tager dig tiden til at skrive her på sitet.
Vi håber vi får mulighed for at byde jer velkommen her til ved en anden lejlighed.
De Bedste Hilsener
Finn & Iben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Very nice room in a calm neighbourhood. Breakfast is fine and the re4staurant can also be recommended. Fine views over Kerteminde Bredning from the restaurant. Nice and friendly staff. Easy access as the main road from Odense to Kerteminde is near by - yet the noise is not very higt.

Stayed: September 2015
1  Thank Jonas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibeng530, Ejer at Munkebo Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2016
Google Translation

Kære Jonas
Tusind tak for de pæne ord, og tusind tak fordi du tager dig tiden til at skrive her på sitet.
Vi håber at få mulighed for at byde jer velkommen hertil ved en anden lejlighed.
De Bedste Hilsener
Finn & Iben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

The room is not bad its quite big of a room, if you like a bit vintage couches, regular TV washroom update inside not bad overall. It has a bed and breakfast everyday good food lots of different food, fresh food very day has lots of room if not enough, they have another area to fit more tables, if you have parties you can reserve the area. on the other side of the hotel the have two different areas one room is for meeting or private party, the the big room its more for relaxing area with vintage couches tables and TV if you just want to relax after you dinner.

Room Tip: nice place to relax for couples of days. not much of noise quite both sides.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benfica808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iben G, Ejer at Munkebo Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the nice words. And thank you for taking your time to write about us. We will be looking forward to welcome you back.
Best Wishes
Finn & Iben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015

After a very expensive stay in Copenhagen at a good but not spectacular hotel the Munkebo Kro was pure joy.

It is located in a tiny village of quaint homes outside Odense. The hotel is charming, spotlessly clean and even better than its website photos. We received an exceptionally warm welcome, found very comfortable beds and the best dinner of our trip.

Our room above the lobby looked out over the front courtyard, where a few tables were set out for guests to enjoy a drink or snack on a nice day, and had a view of the water.

All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Second floor water view rooms are very nice but there is no elevator although staff willingly help with luggage.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iben G, Ejer at Munkebo Kro, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2016

Dear Fraser
Thank you very much for the nice words. And thank you for taking your time to write about us. We will be looking forward to welcome you back.
Best Wishes
Finn & Iben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews