We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
68
37
5
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
37
5
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching shower and toilet overlooking the lake rafflesia flower wild boar great host his wife friendly owner felt like home beautiful surroundings cakes getting wet spacious balcony interesting people steve fishing treks
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2020

This resort is in a stunning location on a tiny island in the middle of Banding Lake. The accommodation and food is far from luxurious but still good and clean.
We were sent a full itinerary prior to the trip but soon found out this was very loosely followed, there was a lot of sitting around before we started any activities. The boat tours were great though, Bohan was a great guide, looking out for birds and signs of elephants, we even came across tiger cub tracks on one of the treks!

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank natalies505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2020

Back to nature after months of lock down...an eco stay at the eco resort in an eco environment with a group of eco senior buddies....met up with the eco friendly owner (hubby and wife)...shared with us the experiences of staying in the island.
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay at the resort and the activities there; swimming in the cold clean dam, fishing, canoeing, bird watching....

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eco-buddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2020 via mobile

It’s hard to sum up the feeling of staying here. The property is beautiful, lush with plants, the cottages are so cozy, and with their own balconies and semi outdoor showers. The lake water was freshwater and warm for swimming. The hosts Steve and his wife were wonderful. The food was plentiful and delicious, many local dishes. The kids loved afternoon tea and cakes. But best of all was going on safari each day by boat and/or hike. Our guide Borhan was so knowledgeable and friendly and accommodating and took us to many different parts of the lake. We saw 2 packs of wild boars, hornbill birds, a monitor lizard, otters, a large fowl I can’t remover the name of, and a monkey. We saw all the signs of elephants, the dung, footprints, the mud on the trees where they scratch, the saltlick. It was thrilling looking for them and sleeping just knowing they were in the forest somewhere around us. We saw the rafflesia flower in its early stages as it wasn’t near blooming time. We went on the 4 day 3 night Temmengor tour which I recommend. We went by easy and inexpensive coach bus from Butterworth to a jetty where the hosts picked us up. They were very helpful prior to arriving with figuring out transport and helped us get transport back too. This was by taxi which was very convenient and reasonable as the bus back would have required a transfer and much longer. I would highly recommend staying here.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Tammy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2020

We (2 adults, 3 Kids) stayed 4 nights at this unique place. Friendly staff, beautiful surroundings and welcoming feeling. The small huts are basic but comfortable with a small terrace with nice views over the lake. There is a big common area where you can hang around, drink tea, play games, look at the forrest and lake, talk and relax. Or go down to the lake to take a swim.
We went on several trips with our good guide Burhan - saw a lot of elephant pooh(!), a group of wild boar, hornbill and many butterflies and other insects.
This place is really made with love to the nature and an invitation to indulge and learn about the forrest.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Marieloenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2020

Can't wait to have you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019

My son and myself had wonderful time in Belum Eco Resort just before 2019 Christmas. My son's favorite was fishing and the hotel owner did everything for my son to succeed: we had the freshly caught by 9 years old fish for our dinner :). Eventually, Belum Eco Resort offers a unique combination of remoteness and tranquility, and at the same time one can keep themselves as busy at he wants. We loved our daily excursions. We loved a company of total strangers, which turned out to be nice, friendly, interesting people. We had quite a few easygoing talks with the hotel owner, and enjoyed them a lot. Definitely we are looking forward to visit beautiful, clean, refreshing Belum Eco Resort again: it's less than 3 hours drive from humid, hot, busy Penang where we are living. And the road didn't cause us any problem at all.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Djimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khong S, Owner at Belum Eco-Resort Sdn.Bhd., responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2019

Thanks for the feedback and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews