We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second visit and will certainly not be our last”
Review of Levanna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Levanna
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Tignes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

This was Jane and myself second visit to the Levanna for our ski trip to Tignes and we highly rate it and be under no illusion at my age which is 59 I have very high standards.
The location for access to the slopes is great with direct access from the ski room on to the slopes and nearby lifts.
You can easily ski back to the hotel via a black or blue run, fantastic when you are tired after a hard day on the planks.
Speaking of the ski room, both Jane and I have skied all over Europe and this is one of the best ski rooms I have ever come across. It's is spacious with plenty seating and each room has its own lockable large locker with internal heating for your ski kit so it's nice and dry for the next day skiing.
The rooms are comfortable and cosy with separate toilet and shower/bath.
The food (we were half board) is of a very high standard and extremely tasty.
The menu has a wide choice to suit all palettes.
I was surprised to read recently of a minority of scathing reviews of the Levanna and in particular it's staff.
I have found the staff to be friendly and will engage you in conversation if you make the effort.
Yes they are busy at meal times and perhaps do not have the time to spend a long time chatting whilst other patrons are awaiting their meals but I have never encountered any rudeness quite the opposite.
Perhaps some of these critics need to actually speak to engage with the staff.
I had some great chat with Ira and the proprietaire Mrs Marguerite and was always made most welcome.
I also met a number of return guests who have nothing but praise for the Levanna and its staff.
Jane and I will certainly be returning and I wholeheartedly recommend the Levanna for any ski trip to Tignes.
Jane and I are off to Leipzig in the summer so look out for our reviews.
Take care and remember The world is yours to see.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank citydetective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2017

The good - location and bedroom size and cleanliness.
The rest - rude staff except breakfast staff who were extremely busy. No night porter. Breakfast horrible - the same tired sugar covered cereals, inedible croissants, grey meat platter, anything cooked as long as it's an egg etc. You need to pay for wifi which is often slow/unreliable - can't be used for Skype or FaceTime. Really? You pay for wifi in this price of hotel? Uncomfortable beds. The lounge area, like the rest of the hotel is furnished to a good standard, but only ever saw one guest in there. No atmosphere or conviviality.
The bar staff don't seem to be managed at all and give the impression that the hotel is for them not for the customers. lack of good management was apparent.
Overall wouldn't recommend this hotel unless you're desperate to ski and cant find anything else and not surprisingly this place often has rooms when no one else does.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank peesnbeens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Although at the end of our week’s stay in Le Levanna we were very satisfied with it as a ski hotel unfortunately our first impressions were poor. As our flight and transfer were both delayed due to weather and traffic we arrived 2.5 hours late (at 22:00). We were given our room keys and told where our rooms were located. When we enquired about some refreshments (as the dining room was still open and we should have had dinner there that evening), we were told that no more food being served. We pointed out that it must be feasible for a hotel to provide guests whose arrival has been delayed with some food. We were told to go downstairs to the bar area and ask there. Eventually a platter of cold meats, cheese and bread (which was perfectly adequate as a snack) was grudgingly provided. A friendly welcome from the owner and/or her team and a spontaneous offer of some refreshments would have been a very different start....!

This hotel is in an excellent location for access to the main lifts in Tignes Le Lac and it is virtually ‘ski-in, ski-out’. It has an industrious team of staff especially in the dining room but at times they seem overstretched. Meals were very good on the whole. In the evening the starters and desserts were Michelin star class but some of the main courses (eg pork/lamb chop with some sauce) were disappointing. Our room was warm, well maintained but a little cramped. There was some extraneous noise from the room above us during the night but otherwise the hotel was quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank LondonArgonaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Returned for my second stay - this time with friends (with family last time). The location is excellent for skiing, lift access and the local bars. The food is pretty good for residents staying a week. Breakfast is simple with extras available. Dinner is a table d'hote with two choices on starters & mains but with no cost options and supplements in the a la carte alternative. The rooms are adequate (even for a 3 adult triple), clean & tidy. The terrace bar/restaurant makes a good venue for lunch or post-ski drinks. the evening bar is very small and closes after dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the piste are probably worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sagatourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I completely agree with the last review. The hotel is in a superb location and the rooms and food are excellent. However we experienced problems with the lady owner - very rude to her staff and even some guests - and the female waitress. Maybe she has something against the English because we noticed that the service we (and other English guests) received was far poorer than that given to the French guests - slow service, wrong order, incorrect billing. She was full of smiles for the French guests. The rest of the staff were very friendly and efficient. The biggest shock was to find the lady owner and some of the staff smoking in the public bar at night. Is this actually allowed in France?

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the lake are lovely and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank pollyperkins357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levannahotel, Propriétaire at Levanna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

I am sure you can be completely agree with the answer of the last French review...
We don't have any problems with English Guests, but just with You MR CHAUDARY.
This Your third time in the hotel and It was every time the same, so What ?
Mr MARGUERIT OWNER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tignes hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel le Refuge
Hotel le Refuge
#1 of 37 in Tignes
245 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Le Gentiana
Hotel Le Gentiana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
342 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Taos
Le Taos
#7 of 37 in Tignes
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#3 of 37 in Tignes
400 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Paquis Hotel
Le Paquis Hotel
#10 of 37 in Tignes
137 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Les Campanules
Hotel Les Campanules
#4 of 37 in Tignes
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Levanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Levanna

Address: rue du Rosset | BP72, 73320 Tignes, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Tignes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tignes
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tignes
Price Range: RM832 - RM2,244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Levanna 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Levanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Levanna Hotel Tignes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing