We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Val Chaviere Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 3 Vallees(Val Thorens)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pashmina(Val Thorens)
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Village Montana(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Langley Hotel Tango(Val Thorens)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
93
83
17
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
83
17
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoupmain coursefondue eveningcourse mealset menuski roompositioned hotelyogurtcleaned daily with fresh towelscheese selectioncook your ownplenty of hot waterfantastic locationmeat fondueski areaboot roomshower over bath
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for a week in mid January 2018 for the second time. All the food is good especially the breakfast choices and the dinner sweets. The rooms are not huge but are certainly adequate and there is a lift to all floors including the ski room which has instant access to a nice green slope. This gives easy access to all the lifts in the town and the ski-in access is also superb. All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and all spoke very good English! ( Don't forget that you are in France so is there not an onus for you to learn some French!).
We are both in our mid seventies and still skiing and would not stay in any other hotel in Val Thorens. We have tried other more expensive ones which are not as good as this one.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

We’ve just returned from another weeks skiing in Val Thorens and stayed at Hotel Val Chaviere. I think maybe our 5th visit to this hotel. It’s the best positioned hotel in Resort, literally ski in - ski out. Clean and warm, very comfortable beds in typically smallish rooms for ski hotels. But plenty big enough for couples. Lovely buffet breakfast, and excellent 5-course evening meals. And the staff/management are excellent, and nothing too much trouble. Unfortunately my wife was involved in a skiing accident towards the end of the holiday (NOT her fault ) and the response from the staff was brilliant and very caring. They even made various phone calls to hospital/medical centre on our behalf. There response to the situation was far better than that of our ski company!! More about that later maybe, depending on their response to my email to them.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Chas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

We booked half board for our skiing holiday. The food was exceptional and the service was super. The room had everything you would need it was warm and plenty hot water. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Westbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

The hotel is right on one of the main green/blue ski slopes. You can ski to the hotel ski store. The ski schools are about a 2 minute ski away (20 mins walk because of snow!).

The room we have is a "hill" view, and it's wonderful.

We have a comfortable double bed, with a single one in an anti room. Toilet and bathroom (with bath) are in good order, and well decorated.

Breakfast is a buffet, with dinner a 5 course set menu. So far we have had lamb, pork and duck. Helpings are generous.

Would I stay here again? Yes.

Oh, and we have a balcony, and even in minus 11 temperature, when the sun shines you can sun bathe!!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank colin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018

We chose this hotel due to it's location on the slopes and it did not disappoint, it took my son less than 1 minute to ski from boot room to ski school each morning.
The rooms are very comfortable and immaculate, they have an excellent housekeeping team.
The food was lovely, our son particularly enjoyed the fondue evening and thought it was great fun. He is a bit of a fussy eater and on the evenings when I knew he wouldn't eat the main meal they were very accommodating and always cooked him something he liked.
There are lots of comfortable seating areas to relax before or after dinner.
I cannot speak highly enough about the staff, without exception they were all very friendly, efficient and professional, nothing was too much trouble.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank lammy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews