We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, great food, great atmosphere”
Review of King William IV

King William IV
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Chigwell
Price range: US$13 - US$37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: A Chigwell Favourite. A well stocked Bar which has historically been the place to be seen on a weekend evening, fused with a Dining Room, whose reputation for great quality fresh food is gaining momentum. Suitable for all ages, the King William IV Chigwell has been put firmly back on the map and is winning rave reviews from our guests. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Reviewed 29 April 2018

I have visited twice now, once for lunch with teenagers and once for dinner. Both occasions all the food that was ordered was lovely. Service was great. From the bar staff to those serving the food, all service was fab. Very pleasant to deal with. Atmosphere was lovely very relaxing, wasn't made to feel that we was being rushed. Defiantly will be visiting again and again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Hi Wendy W, thank you so much for your positive comments about The King William IV! We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Best wishes,
The King William IV, Chigwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

Three of us came this evening and the food didn’t disappoint. The food was very hot when served and delicious. Staff were also very friendly. My only complaint is that the serving staff were striking a dog inside the bar area and then serving food to the tables. Not the best of hygiene.

Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Natalie S, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The King William IV, Chigwell!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018

Lovely afternoon out. Great food and fabulous efficient pleasant staff. The Manager is s really nice man, very friendly and welcoming. I had sea bass which was cooked lovely and the desserts are divine. I do not drink but they do gorgeous mocktails, very reasonably priced. The elderflower sherbert is beaufiful. Decor is really nice in this restaurant/pub and my friends and I felt very comfortable here. We will certainly be going back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Morning Christine, Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience at The King William IV, we are very happy with the positive review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Four of us invaded this delightful eatery for lunch on Tuesday. We were greeted promptly and shown to our table. The decor is a mix of modern and rustic with quirky prints on the walls. There's a large, full bar area in the front with a split-level area for pub lunches and drinks. The restaurant extends into a capacious conservatory area. We had soon placed our respective orders: duck liver pate with gooseberry; the lobster pot; scallops with crispy bacon on mashed, mint peas; and basil soup. All these starters met with full approval, especially the duck liver and gooseberry where the combination of flavours really made my palate come alive. There then followed sea bass and trimmings; a crab and chorizo linguine; and crab fishcakes. All of these dishes were devoured with relish. This culinary perfection was christened with a brilliant Chenin Blanc, which complemented our meal superbly. The only minor criticism is that the wine could have been more chilled when brought to the table. We found room for dessert: lemon cheesecake; a hot chocolate brownie with ice cream. Great. We concluded this gastronomic debauchery with a lemon tea and Port, and Americanos and Amaretto. The waiting staff were attentive, friendly, and professional. The new manager is a truly lovely guy with great people skills, and is accommodating and helpful and the light banter was uplifting. Our compliments to the chef, the manager, and all at King William for a stupendous dining experience. Based on this standard, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this eatery to all. Well done and we hope to see you all again soon. Keep smiling.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi Barry, Many thanks for the very positive review, it was a pleasure to serve you and your guests the other day and were glad you enjoyed your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon, take care. Lewis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

A really nice place. I live local. Hannah and Machiek are the nicest staff you could meet. Just thought I should mention that! As I’m so good at complaining when I’m not happy

Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at King William IV, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Andy. Thanks for the great review, I will pass on your comments to Hannah and Machiek. WE look forward to seeing you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King William IV also viewed

 
Buckhurst Hill, Essex
 

Been to King William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing