We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote resort, very attractive but with problems”
Review of Is Arenas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Is Arenas Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narbolia
Reviewed 12 June 2017

We recently spent a week here, but the food varied from sort of edible to awful, the table service was slow and amateurish to the point of being slapstick comedy. Maid & room service was hit and miss: sometimes, you had towels and turn down service and sometimes you did not. We are not golfers, but those golfers who traveled with us rated the course as so so. If you are traveling with a sports car with low ground clearance be aware that the long entry road is full of pot holes. We cannot say much about the beach as it was too windy and too hot while we were there. We were told that the hotel had just changed ownership and / or management and perhaps things will improve, but we would personally not try it again. They are nice people and we wish them the best of luck.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingMIRA2017, Marketing at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing to stay at Is Arenas Resort.

We regret to read that dining experience we proposed was not as you wished. Our restaurants offer an interesting combination of Sardinian, Italian and Mediterranean tastes. We will promptly share all your remarks on service to the Restaurant Manager, so as to prevent that inconvenience may be repeated in the future.

We are also really sorry for your comment about our services. Anyway, we would like to thank you for time and words that you has dedicated to your travel notes and we want you to know that all the critical comments will be reported to all the Department Managers, so as to prevent that inconvenience may be repeated in the future.
For us, the most important aim is the satisfaction of our Guests.

Best Regards,

MIRA Hotels & Resorts Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2016

Fantastically quiet resort in a large pine forest. Very well maintained (pool, rooms, reception and dining and terraces) with professional service. Permanent shuttle bus to 300 meters away 6km long sandy beach with nice hotel beach bar overlooking the sometimes wild sea.

Unfortunately, neither before nor at our arrival; the tour operator or the hotel management informed us that the resort area golf course could no longer be used by resort guests. After some negotiation, the golf office allowed us to play with friendly courtesy; what reconciled us again, however, left a negative memory because the information was only available upon request and after laborious negotiations.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huvevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsabile M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear Huvevi,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience at Is Arenas Resort. We are proud you have enjoyed our location, the beautiful surrounding nature and our professional service: we place constantly in this maximum commitment to fully satisfy each of our guests.
About the Golf, we want to point out that the nearby golf course has a different management and owners from the hotel one, so unfortunately there was nothing we could do about the decisions of the Golf course property to keep it closed this summer season.
Due to this uncertain situation, as new management of the Hotel, we decided months ago to change the commercial name of the Resort, as you can see in our web site, and to not offered any Golf facilities or Golf packages.
Hoping to welcome you again at is Arenas Resort.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a weeks honeymoon in mid September. The setting is absolutely beautiful and grounds clean, stylish and well looked after. Staff very helpful and friendly, Alvino really looked after is as did the lovely beach shuttle driver.

Be aware that without a car you will be totally isolated from the rest of Sardinia as there is nothing within walking distance. We were disappointed that because of this the prices are pretty outrageous - 5 euros for a bottle of mineral water and 8euros for a local beer which we paid as little as 1.50 for at a bar in the neighbouring village, although admittedly at the hotel you sometimes get some snacks with it.

The restaurant is also expensive but the set menu was outstanding and worth the 118 euros with wine.
Take a trip through the forest to the pizzeria 'west coast' for mind blowing pizza and beer for 10euros each! Even at night it was fine to walk through the woods (there is a nice wide path from the beach) and only 1.5km.

Breakfast was also outstanding, roasted veg, eggs, ricotta, carpaccio of loads of fish, the most artery busting cake pastry selection and more.

Had a nice massage in the spa (not for the prudish as I was presented with a paper thong to wear!) which was nice, although the jacuzzi was unfortunately filthy, with pine tree debris and cloudy water. The steam room was lovely as was the chill out area although the gym was just an exercise bike and a weight bench!

All in all a secluded paradise - somewhere I would go back if I wanted to recuperate from the stresses of life, but you might be better somewhere busier if you are not hiring a car.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bonnieboobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

My first time in Sardinia on a beach with perfect surroundings, great services and a friendly staff attentive to each and every detail. Great possibilities to cool out or to do a very active vacation. Great golf course as well to satisfy both the amateur and the pro. Biking through the nearby woods, even if you are not in good shape, with top equipment and the typical Mediterranean coast and woods ready to be discovered.
The hotel rooms are wide and complete with all the details you expect from a resort of this kind. I had dinner both at the pool side restaurant and several snacks at the beach café and I enjoyed both ways. I will return for sure

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlf550124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Waked to Is Arenas from our hotel (Is Benas Country Lodge - 6.5 miles round trip through forest) for a light lunch. The hotel itself is very nice new and well laid out. Extremely friendly & welcoming staff. We walked to the beach through the well laid out grounds with individual rooms & suites.

The well maintained & equipped beach area was about a 8-10 minute walk but there is a buggy service if you wished.

Lovely beach cafe set off the beach playing great music & serving a good choice of snacks & mains. The downside was the price. Bread, olives & salami were brought to the table. We ordered 2 toasted sandwiches which came with crisps & 2 beers which came in very flimsy plastic cups & were very small. My husband had another beer & the bill came to €37. £9 a glass for the beer. Ridiculous.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Responsabile M, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Frances H ,
we thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for the appreciations made on the structure of the Hotel, the friendliness of the staff and the organization of the beach. The Beach Club where you had lunch is characterized by its unique location, being completely immersed in a vast pine forest, with a terrace with an amazing panoramic view and a top-quality dishes offer.
Highlighted these aspects, we can say that the prices are right in line with those of the most renowned Resort in the region.
We regret that you have written a penalizing review to the resort despite having tried only a small part of it (a lunch at the Beach Club) as an external customer. In the surrounding area you can find cheaper restaurants, but obviously with a different level of service.
We hope strongly to have you again at the hotel maybe this time as a guest, so you can take full advantage of the resort giving a rating that considers all the aspects and services as a whole.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narbolia
134.5 km away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
1,508 reviews
125.7 km away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
64.3 km away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
66.3 km away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
989 reviews
66.3 km away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
734 reviews
63.8 km away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#7 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Is Arenas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Is Arenas Resort

Address: Loc. Pineta di Is Arenas SS 292 km 113,4, 09070 Narbolia, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Narbolia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narbolia
Price Range: RM670 - RM2,843 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Is Arenas Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined 5-star Resort in a modern and elegant style, notable for its unique location, immersed in the beautiful Is Arenas pine forest, a protected area of particular environmental importance. The pine forest is a Mediterranean microclimate that regenerates the spirit and warms the soul, and not just in the summer: 800 hectares of undulating cluster pine foliage that blend into a 6km stretch of pristine beach that slopes gently into the crystal-clear sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Is Arenas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Is Arenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing