We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location ”
Review of Is Arenas Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Is Arenas Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narbolia
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Nice small Appartements with terrace in a beautiful garden with pine trees. They offer permanent shuttle between pool and beach. The beach area is private with modern big daybeds. The breakfast is not always a five star standard also the dinner. During our stay the management was seriously improving service after some complaints. The spa and water gym is great. We will come back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank fibsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRAHotels_Mgmt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for staying at Is Arenas Resort.
We are happy to read your appreciation about our Garden Suites, nestled in the beautiful and wild natural oasis on the Western Sardinian coast. We agree with you about our infinite golden beach, the perfect set for Guests relaxation.

We thank you for your words about Staff daily efforts to make you feel like home. Be sure that we will share your suggestions with all the Management to better understand how improving our standards.

Looking forward to welcome you again next summer.

Best regards,

MIRA Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

I really would like to be able to recommend this resort, as there are some excellent features and the staff are clearly trying their best.
The main issue is the restaurant, which offers a great breakfast but dismal lunch and dinners. Service is slow, confusing, dishes get lost or served cold, under or over cooked or a simply bad on occasion.
Given the excellence of local produce and regional restaurants, this is a real pity.
You're 20 min out from anywhere else so eating out every night is self defeating.
On the up though, great beach that although public will be empty of other tourists, great rooms, agreeable pool and charming pine forest.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Auldric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRAHotels_Mgmt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Is Arenas Resort for your holidays.

Thank you for your words about our Resort location, nestled in a great setting, where you can relax yourself surrounded by Sardinian nature and peace, inside a protected area, with a pine forest, where the characteristic fragrance of Mediterranean vegetation fills the air.

Regarding all our Staff, we pay great attention to continuously train it because our aim is always to welcome at best and to help our Guests, our aim is to create positive emotions and unique experiences, focusing on a spontaneous and overall assistance to the Guest and make you feel like home.

Concerning the restaurant service and food, we would like to apologize if it was not as you wished, let us underline that we are focusing all our efforts to the culinary offer, trying to bring to the table the best Italian excellence: a selection of flavors, Sardinian, Italian and Mediterranean, which ends into an innovative, refined and healthy buffet.

We would like you to know that we have already shared your comments with the Food & Beverage Manager, because we want to enrich our offer and improve our standards.

Thank you for the time spent for this review: mostly the critical comments are useful to improve our services.
Best regards,
MIRA Hotels Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Our family holiday experience in this hotel has been hugely disappointing.
The rooms were anything but cosy, the decoration was done without any care whatsoever. My parents had a huge wet mark on the wall in front of their bed, what a view! :( However, this wouldn't be that bad... We were willing to put up with it.
What was extremly poor was service and general attitude of people who worked there. They were not bad people, don't get me wrong but they were not trained to take care of their guests at all. They were rude, their English was very poor and very often they forgot what we ordered.
Food was another big dissapointement. Not only the quality was below average, it was served cold too many times!
Last but not least, there were so many wasps everywhere, in all the restaurants and even on the beach.
I would recommend everyone who is considering to stay at this hotel to stay away from it! It is so expensive but its quality is simply unable to match the world standard of five star hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Klára H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRAHotels_Mgmt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Is Arenas Resort for your holidays.
We are sorry to read your general disappointment regarding your stay. Referring to our rooms, let us point out that they are all wide and decorated accoding to an elegant but sober design, to re-create the pine forest mediterranean atmosphere where our Resort is nestled.

Regarding your most critical comments, we would like to apologize for all the bad manners of our Staff. We have already shared all your notes with the General Manager to better understand what really happened and to prevent that this kind of inconvenience may be repeated in the future. It’s really hard to face your words, since we make an effort every day to train our people welcoming at best all our Guests and to make them feel at home.

About your comment related to the massive presence of insects, we want to underline first, our location, a natural protected oasis. Let us inform you that to reduce the presence of insects in the area surrounding the Hotel, we have adopted some specific measures. Some member of our Staff is dedicated to the monitoring and “ecological” capture of insects such as bees, wasps and horns. As you certainly know, the brutal disinfection in not allowed, because they are considered fundamental for the ecosystem balance. However, the extraordinary last days heat has increased their presence and we have already asked for a specific and massive intervention. However, please accept our apologies.

Thank you for the time spent for this review: mostly the critical comments are useful to improve our services.

Best regards,

MIRA Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We came to the hotel with our two children. Of course they enjoyed the pool and beach but for the parents everything is a constant headache. Management is so poor in this hotel i do not even know where to start.

- my husband wanted to do some sports and asked on the first day where the gym is. This seemed to be an akward topic and after a few more questions it turns out they so not have a gym (but think they r a 5 star hotel). As he was quite angry they opened him the possibility to use a small room in the spa area where they had put one bike and a bench. The first time he then wanted to use it, he could not enter the spa as someone had a massage and they had locked the door.

-pricing is totally off in this hotel and everything happens with no knowledge or sense for anything. Bruschetta in the pool/main restaurant cost 18 euros (its bred and tomatoes) and a caprese with bufalla mozzarella is charged at 12.
- but then the bill comes with 16 euros. The first day i said its written in the menu with 12 and then the waitress responded yeah for normal mozzarella but you got the buffala. Ok fair enough but inform me about it. Two days later we eat that again and i checked better and the bufalla is written in the menu with 12. They again wanted to charge us a wrong price and where pretty unpolite and did not want to believe us until we showed them their menu.
-our 2 1/2 year old son wanted to eat once his pasta at the pool. When my husband tried to order them one waiter said to the other one in italian "we r not gonna carry everything to the pool".
They did not allow us to do that so we came to sit down in the restaurant But they ket you eat caprese and other things at the pool. Everything happens randomly in this hotel.
- two times the kids pasta was charged to us at 4 euros and one time it was suddenly 10.no one really knows what they r doing. All staff seems so untrained. Its not their fault its the management. The children buffet (chicken nuggets and penne) they want to charge at 30 euro per kid but our son really can only eat a small plate and after some comments of my husband they allowed us to eat for 4 euros.
- the beach bar has such great potential but food is very bad and max 3 star. I ordered there some bruschetta and i got bred with three big slices of tomatoes and no taste. It was a joke for an italian restaurant in a 5 star hotel.
- the staff at the beach and pool is also useless. They do not help you with towels or with chairs etc. one of the staff walked around with huge sunglasses and always in a bad mood. Once my husband and him clashed a little by accident. My husband started leaving the pool with my son and the pool boy happened to pass by. My husband had not seen him as he had his back to him and with a unwanted move the sunglasses of the poolboy fell on the floor. The guy then told my husband "attenzione" with an angry aggressive face like "watch out". My husband rechecked with him and the sunglasses had no scratches but we still could not believe the behavior in a 5 star hotel.

- the resort and room service are very nice but for a family who wants to enjoy their summer holidays and who think they book a5 star hotel i would stay away. We heard from some guests who came already last year that the management changed and last year it was 1000 times better and nicer staff.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRAHotels_Mgmt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing Is Arenas Resort as location of your holiday.
We are sorry to read your review about your travel experience. Firstly, we apologize for all the inconveniences you met and let us apologize mainly about our Restaurant services; be sure that your notes have already been reported to the Food & Beverage Manager and to the General Manger, to be able to understand better how improving our standard services without disappointing Guests expectation

Regarding the prices, we are going to collect more details to better understand the reason why of this confusion, since they are well exposed in all our menus.

Besides, let us express our apologies about Staff behavior, especially because of our holiday philosophy, based on genuine, honest, sincere hospitality. Regarding your comment about the Hotel Management, we want you to know that in these last 2 years the Management has always been the same, by MIRA Hotels & Resorts. Our aim is to create positive emotions and unique experiences, focusing on a spontaneous and overall assistance to the Guest and make you feel like home.

Thank you for the time spent for this review: mostly the critical comments are useful to improve our services.

Best regards,

MIRA Hotels Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Sardinia is well known for some of the Mediterranean’s most awesome beaches... and for Costa Smeralda; the glitzy tourist destination in the north. But if swank and glamour aren’t your thing, you’ll also find happiness when you travel to the island's relatively unknown and untouched western coast were unspoiled nature with many great swimming opportunities and wonderful hotels await you, like the Is Arenas Resort near Oristano in Narbolia. This place is simply magical; a true oasis far away from big crowds and all the bling-bling. It is set in a large pine forest located only a short walk from 5 km of untainted beach. The eco-friendly resort features a low-rise main building surrounded by numerous small bungalows, all blending in harmoniously with the natural landscape. There is a large pool, spacious green courtyards and endless shaded trails through lush woodlands. Everything in the hotel is luxurious. The rooms are spacious, well lit and stylishly furnished. Expert staff provides quality wellness treatments in the spa – from where you can also access the steam bath, unless you want to work up a sweat next door in the fitness centre, or enjoy a round of golf on the well-maintained 18-hole course adjacent to the hotel. As for food and drink, aside a rich breakfast buffet, the elegant restaurant in the main building serves typical Italian dishes that are perfectly cooked with fresh, local produce. And best of all, you can eat on the open-air terrace where Giampiero; the always good-humored Maître d’Hôtel, expertly knows how to make you feel at home. I truly enjoyed 5 amazing days spent here with my wife. In fact, this has got to be the best ever, most memorable summer vacation, yet!

Now, after all this praise, it is important to let the Is Arenas Resort owners know that not everything is flawless (yet) in paradise. Many of the waiters in the restaurant are far from being professional. They stand around or aimlessly run in circles trying to look busy. There are way too many mistakes when it comes to ordering, service or billing. The same applies to staff at the reception desk. Whilst one or two people make an honest effort to be courteous and helpful, others just don’t care and are totally incapable of providing assistance. Mind you, there are several watchful ‘direttores’ up and about, but none of them are of any use... other than offer an occasional smile. I do have to say, however, that after complaining a couple of times, management did sent a bottle of chilled ‘Prosecco’ to our room – which we very much appreciated.

What the Is Arenas Resort (badly) needs is a talented, proven leader that successfully sorts out staffing and organizational issues that will make this place truly deserving of a 5-star rating.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank restaurant71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIRAHotels_Mgmt, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Is Arenas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing to stay at Is Arenas Resort.

We agree with you regarding the beautiful setting of our Resort: inside a protected area, with a pine forest, where the characteristic fragrance of Mediterranean vegetation fills the air. We designed our rooms to reflect the surrounding natural area, combining aspects like space, silence, nature and harmony with an elegant but simple architectural style.

Concerning the restaurant food, we would like to thank you for your words about our culinary offer: we try every day to bring to the table the best local excellence: a selection of flavors, Sardinian, Italian and Mediterranean, which ends into an innovative, refined and healthy menu. We also thank you for mentioning one member of our Staff: we will happily share your comment with him.

Referring your comment about the waiters and Reception staff, we want to underline that we pay great attention to continuously train our people because our aim is always to welcome at best and to help our Guests; all of them are constantly committed to identifying and meeting the needs of our Guests, suggesting what to do, what to see in the surroundings, organizing for them excursions by bike, off-road and by boat. However, we apologize if someone of them has not been able to make you feel like at home.

Finally be sure that all your notes, mostly the critical ones, are really helpful to improve our standard. We want to thank you for spending your time to share them with us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future, we send you our best regards,

MIRA Hotels Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narbolia
137.4 km away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#6 of 33 in Villasimius
1,508 reviews
128.3 km away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
873 reviews
61.9 km away
Hotel Punta Negra
Hotel Punta Negra
#1 of 2 in Fertilia
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.7 km away
El Faro Hotel
El Faro Hotel
#6 of 49 in Alghero
991 reviews
63.7 km away
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
Corte Rosada Resort & SPA
#10 of 49 in Alghero
734 reviews
61.3 km away
Hotel dei Pini
Hotel dei Pini
#7 of 49 in Alghero
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Is Arenas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Is Arenas Resort

Address: Loc. Pineta di Is Arenas SS 292 km 113,4, 09070 Narbolia, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Oristano > Narbolia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Narbolia
Price Range: RM659 - RM2,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Is Arenas Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A refined 5-star Resort in a modern and elegant style, notable for its unique location, immersed in the beautiful Is Arenas pine forest, a protected area of particular environmental importance. The pine forest is a Mediterranean microclimate that regenerates the spirit and warms the soul, and not just in the summer: 800 hectares of undulating cluster pine foliage that blend into a 6km stretch of pristine beach that slopes gently into the crystal-clear sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Is Arenas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Is Arenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing