We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Incredible social history experience

More stuff than I have ever seen before at a social history museum. My favourite was the... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2021
Gandalf321
,
Brisbane, Australia
via mobile
Surprisingly Big

You could spend a good few hours taking a walk through time here. There is so much to see and on... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2021
asforster
via mobile
Read all 367 reviews
  
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
295
64
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
295
64
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope making hervey bay couple of hours interesting displays local history on display brought back memories well worth the visit few hours step back in time all ages harvey bay live demonstrations great collection different buildings volunteer run volunteers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

More stuff than I have ever seen before at a social history museum. My favourite was the re-creation of a schoolhouse of 1891.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank Gandalf321
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Thanks for the 5 Stars Gandalf321, Much appreciated. Regards Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2021 via mobile

You could spend a good few hours taking a walk through time here. There is so much to see and on Sundays, there is working displays of a blacksmith at work and other such things. We were pleasantly surprised at how big this museum is. Lots of things to look at and ponder on. The workers are very welcoming and pleasant. Stop by next time your in Harvey Bay.

Date of experience: October 2021
Thank asforster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2021

So pleased you had a good time Asforster. I will pass on to our volunteers. Regards Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2021 via mobile

This place was the highlight of our Hervey Bay trip, even over whale watching. We’re huge history nerds and the historical village delivered. So many amazing photos and artefacts from years gone by (some too recent, making me feel old! Haha). We had such an amazing afternoon here and don’t even get me started on the volunteers! They were an absolute delight to be around. We would highly recommend a visit here and will be telling everyone who will listen to add this to their to-do list whilst in Hervey Bay!

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank MrsBoyes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2021

What a great review MrsBoyles19
I will make sure it goes into our Newsletterfor the volunteers to see.
Better than Whale watching is a first... Many Thanks
Regards Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2021 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing. It has a huge area, and everything you want to see from a church ,blacksmith shop and so much more .Fascinating era.
Takes about 2 hours to get around but well and truly worth it. Don't miss this..

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank Linda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

Thanks for your review Linda, Much appreciated. Regards Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2021

Well worth 2+ hours.
This is a volunteer run display and the hours and hard work over decades to get this display together AND to keep it functioning; need to be appreciated. They are not aiming to be Historical World Fun Park to entertain your short attention span kids.
We went early on a Sunday afternoon to include the blacksmith / farrier activity; which added to the visit.
There are 1000s of objects on display.
You do need to make the effort to read the background notes (where supplied) but we very much enjoyed our 3 hour visit.
I always also enjoy trying to photograph old wheels, steel cogs and sundry bric a brac.

Date of experience: September 2021
1  Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2021

Thanks for your review and the 5 stars, Much appreciated. Well said.Regards Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews