We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5)
Filter reviews
5 results
Traveller rating
3
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shepherds hut lovely garden fire pit alpacas pips emma fakenham hosts accommodation site
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
Reviewed 9 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed 1 night in Pips Cabin, (mum and daughter). Emma and Dave were so kind and helpful. We’d never glamped before so weren’t sure what to bring. The accommodation was lovely and warm with heating and everything we needed was provided, we also had a separate bathroom for our own use. They then introduced us to their alpacas which made it very special and we shall definitely return.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jschof69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

Fabulous two night stay with the cutest shepherds hut (Rubies) which was super clean and very quaint. Lovely sunsets cute alpacas and fab facilities like personal fire pit and bbq. Lovely garden with another communal cooking area and near to everything you want to see in Norfolk! One extra things the hosts are SO lovely!

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 218mariew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2020 via mobile

Had a wonderful overnight stay here, the whole site is beautiful. Shepherds hut was a great size, bed was comfy and had lots of amenities in the kitchenette.

We were even able to walk the alpacas! What a wonderful experience, the hosts were lovely too and have truly done a great job. We got a chinese in Fakenham to deliver to the site so no problems for food, theres a pub 7 minutes away by walking but they were fully booked. We will certainly be back!

Only 2 downsides were that the Potting shed was not open due to covid, but we were not informed of this prior to our visit. Secondly that we were told towels were included but didn’t have any in the hut, we brought our own anyway so was not a problem.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank danirose8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2020

Being an experienced camper, the thought of Glamping or posh/lazy camping wasn’t too daunting for me so was relaxed about giving it a go. Set near the lovely village of Colkirk with the market town of Fakenham a few miles up the road, ‘The Oaks’ is in a good location with coastal towns/beaches within 15-30 mile range including the famous Wells Next to Sea and Holkham bay with its beautifully stretched beaches. It is subtly placed in a field off Whissonett road easily accessible from Colkirk. You come in to an amply sized loosed stone car park complimented by old railway sleepers. The owners live on the site by the entrance in a static chalet. Clustered by them is the farm shed and the alpaca pen. Chickens also roam around free, a nice family farm feel but without the muck and smells. On the opposite side of the car park sits the communal area, which has an outdoor kithchenette and a gas BBQ plus other appliances, there is also a communal lounge with comfy leather sofas and satellite TV all this surrounded by a lovely garden filled with a number of flowers, herbs and even tomatoes; unfortunately however due to COVID-19 we were unable to enjoy these facilities but they look so good I had to mention them. Over from there is a nice big hammock should you wish to chill. Walking away from the car park now, you are guided by mowed tracks into the grass through a well laid out field intertwining with longer grass which was currently having its rag root removed. Along the southerly hedge line you have 2 structures mostly made out of corrugated steel and have similar facilities to a caravan. The further away you go the accommodation becomes smaller and less grand, with the final two sharing a nearby washroom which has a nice big changing area, shower, sink and a flushable toilet; these facilities were really clean, albeit they look a bit unfinished however everything you need works perfectly and does not look distasteful. Due to COVID-19 we were able to use these facilities alone as the owners were not renting two out at once to follow the guidelines We stayed in the only ‘Pod’ that the site has to offer, a small wooden fixture called ‘The Pips’ it is a predominantly wood built structure shaped like an acorn and fits a double bed or twin beds with a small bedside table and a corner table where the provided kettle, cups, water decanter and glasses sit. Next to the window is a double socket. There is also a small wall mounted heater under the other window. Windows and the door sit at the front complete with good quality roll down blinds and a small window at the rear. The north facing view out of the front is lovely even when lay on the bed, looking out to the longer and shorter grass and a lovely big oak tree. The accommodation itself was clean, the field was tidy and easy to traverse. Decking leads into the pod which the roof slightly over hangs so that you have some shade without needing to go inside if the sun is in the right place, a quirky rustic candle powered lantern sits on one side of the door with a rusted metal box ample enough to throw you boots and other items in should you wish. To the left of the pod is a small area for you to sit in private with your provided lounge chairs, a BBQ and fire pit are also provided as well as an old cable reel which can be moved easily and placed down as a sturdy table. Round the back of the pod is a proper dustbin and a plumbed in and insulated water tap.

We found it mostly very quiet when we were there and we were so relaxed that during our full day (out of the two nights we stayed) we actually stayed on the site all day. Things I will need to advise though, when the wind blows it can be noisy through the trees, naturally, although that didn’t necessarily bother us. It did get a bit windy in our ‘private’ area and we sometimes resorted to sitting on the decking as the pod created a great wind break. You are in the sun for the majority of the day as well, the pod inside can get quite room when the temperature gets above 20 degrees also, although still provides nice shade.

If you are spending your time on the site you will occasionally hear the fighter jet planes doing training manoeuvres from their nearby base, they tend to hug the coastline but will of cause stray inland. On a clear day they are beautiful to watch and we found them thoroughly entertaining; they only operate in socialable hours, earliest we heard one was 0835. Appreciate however that this may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but we enjoyed it and helped pass the day.

As with all things nature you will get bugs around, flies, wasps, beetles etc. On the second night we found we had quite a few flies had come into the pod, fine during darkness but once the light started to seep in they became active and were buzzing around, eventually we found them bunched up on the door waiting for it to be opened. We put this down to perhaps the provided bin which did have some banana skins left in as maybe being the culprit for their interest in the pod. Also will see the odd wasp, and being a cider drinker I countered a few which would periodically nose dive into my drink meaning I had to chuck it away. Fire pits, BBQs and finding them distractions helps with keeping them away, thankfully they were few and far between and we didn’t get inundated.

The hosts were brilliant, Dave and Emma made us feel so welcome, came and chatted to us like we had known them for years. Offered us utensils etc they also sell fire wood and charcoal on site for £5 a pop if you get short. They provided us with a cooler box with iced blocks for free to keep our food in which was top quality. They both work very hard to keep the place tidy, Dave out with his lawnmower and strimmer and Emma (all PPE’d) whilst she cleaned the accommodation in between guests, certainly felt like a well oiled machine. You would also occasionally see their children walking the four family alpacas.

The stay for two nights cost us £139 which had to be done via Booking.com, you may think this sounds a lot for fundamentally a hut in the middle of a field, but is is so much more than that. Certainly cheaper and offers far more of an experience than staying in a hotel.

It was a wonderful experience, which we both throughly enjoyed, it could be near perfect but I don’t think anything ever is. We will certainly be visiting there again we loved it.

Room tip: If you want more hospitable facilities then chose the bigger structures which have en suites.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80DNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews