We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at a good price”
Review of Hotel Hoevelmann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Hoevelmann
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Xanten
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here this week on business. Having been to Xanten on maybe a dozen or so occasions, this is the first stay in the Hoevelmann - I was very impressed.
The room was spotlessly clean - I left finger marks on the stainless steel bathroom fittings !. The view of the square from my fourth floor room was really nice, and the cathedral clock didn't wake me once.
Breakfast good and plentiful, and the little take away cake in a bag was a nice touch.

Word of warning - the shower takes some working out !. I have never seen a tap like it and it took a couple of attempts to get it fired up.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had but one night in Xanten, a short visit to visit LVR-Archaeological Park Xanten. We booked the Hotel Hoevelmann online and with emails (in awful German on my part) several months earlier from Australia, and then arrived hoping all would be well. And it was!

The hotel has a perfect spot on the square - walk out the front door and you have shops and restaurants all around. The rooms aren't large, but we had a great two-room suite for our family - a single bed in the room inside the door for our daughter, then a bathroom to one side and the bedroom to the other. The breakfast had some interesting variations on the traditional cold meats and cheeses; several types of yogurt made a nice change.

Overall, it seems to be a well-run hotel in a great location in Xanten.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nawlinsgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Only stayed one night. Lovely little village with lots of history. Good restaurant. Great service, even searched for a toaster to make me toast at breakfast. The homemade jam souvenir was a nice a touch. Would stay again when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Take your earplugs and keep the windows closed. Nice hotel and great location, though.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edwardt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Xanten was a recommendation on trip advisor because we had cheap fights to WEEZE. The taxi driver at the airport didn't know how to get there but sat nav helped. The Hovellmann hotel is centre of this small town about the size of Haddington or Bathgate in Scotland, but we loved its old historic buildings, lovely square and central location of the hotel for all our sorties. The breakfast was substantial and late we went in about 10 each day, rooms at the rear of the hotel had warm sunshine streaming through, bells from the Cathedral affected the front facing rooms. Worth a visit to the archeology park and the roman museum, do both over the weekend and you can buy one ticket that serves both visits for 9 euro. We ate tin the large italien restaurant in the square food reasonably priced at 100 euro for 4 with drinks ( lots of wine) and 2 courses plus coffee.

Beautiful windmill, old properties and the highlight for me the cavern taverna next to the Van Bebber hotel

Loved it

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ghirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Xanten hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel an de Marspoort
Hotel an de Marspoort
#1 of 7 in Xanten
43 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Van Bebber
Hotel Van Bebber
#6 of 7 in Xanten
59 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Furstenberger Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Nibelungen Hof
Nibelungen Hof
#5 of 7 in Xanten
40 reviews
4.8 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Birten
#7 of 7 in Xanten
5 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Restaurant Neumaier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hoevelmann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hoevelmann

Address: Markt 31-33, 46509 Xanten, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Xanten
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Xanten
Price Range: RM 434 - RM 481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hoevelmann 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Hoevelmann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing