We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
16
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
12
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had but one night in Xanten, a short visit to visit LVR-Archaeological Park Xanten. We booked the Hotel Hoevelmann online and with emails (in awful German on my part) several months earlier from Australia, and then arrived hoping all would be well. And it was!

The hotel has a perfect spot on the square - walk out the front door and you have shops and restaurants all around. The rooms aren't large, but we had a great two-room suite for our family - a single bed in the room inside the door for our daughter, then a bathroom to one side and the bedroom to the other. The breakfast had some interesting variations on the traditional cold meats and cheeses; several types of yogurt made a nice change.

Overall, it seems to be a well-run hotel in a great location in Xanten.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nawlinsgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Only stayed one night. Lovely little village with lots of history. Good restaurant. Great service, even searched for a toaster to make me toast at breakfast. The homemade jam souvenir was a nice a touch. Would stay again when we return.

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Take your earplugs and keep the windows closed. Nice hotel and great location, though.

Date of stay: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edwardt26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2009

Xanten was a recommendation on trip advisor because we had cheap fights to WEEZE. The taxi driver at the airport didn't know how to get there but sat nav helped. The Hovellmann hotel is centre of this small town about the size of Haddington or Bathgate in Scotland, but we loved its old historic buildings, lovely square and central location of the hotel for all our sorties. The breakfast was substantial and late we went in about 10 each day, rooms at the rear of the hotel had warm sunshine streaming through, bells from the Cathedral affected the front facing rooms. Worth a visit to the archeology park and the roman museum, do both over the weekend and you can buy one ticket that serves both visits for 9 euro. We ate tin the large italien restaurant in the square food reasonably priced at 100 euro for 4 with drinks ( lots of wine) and 2 courses plus coffee.

Beautiful windmill, old properties and the highlight for me the cavern taverna next to the Van Bebber hotel

Loved it

Date of stay: April 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaxcon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2008

The hotel is located right in the middle of the town and an easy 15 minute walk from the train station. Facing the town square, the hotel provides a family atomosphere.
The room was spacious, clean quite even though the interior was not new - but not worn.
Breakfast good with srambeled eggs- nothing special but perfectly fine.
I was surprised that the hotel was amost fully booked already when I asked for one room (friday / saturday) three weeks before arrival.
The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. I even asked for feed-back when I checked out. I would defenitely stay there again !

Date of stay: September 2008
5  Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews