We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Restaurant Erbprinz
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Watthalden(Ettlingen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
134
65
25
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
65
25
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent staffbeautiful hotelold schoolfree of chargenice buffet breakfasttrain stopold townreception staffold stylenext morningshort walknice barroom servicespapartskarlsruhebusiness
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

I have stayed here a few times when in Ettlingen.
The place is very nice, a bit traditional and not run into these days. Very nice bar, restaurant and breakfast with a large selection. Internet is free but a bit weak in some areas.
Parking available but they charge for it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Sredna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Pros:
- Very reasonable price for a very good hotel
- Location: close to the beautiful Ettlingen center
- Breakfast: Great varietly and very tasteful

Cons:
- Staff not always friendly and not always knowledgable
- Parking with extra fee. This was not mentioned when checking in. Yes, it was mentioned at the very bottom of our email confirmation, but still came as a surprise. As we had not touched the car for 4 days, we would have parked somewhere else

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

On a recent business visit to the Karlsruhe region, The Hotel Erbprinz was recommended to me as an alternative place to the Radisson Blue or Novotel nearby. I arrived by car to find a hotel in the center of town. The small parking area was nearly full but I squeezed in.

Check in was pleasant but the room was located at the end of a maze of hallways that belied the fact that this hotel has been built in pieces. The room was austere and warm. There didn't appear to be any air conditioning. I opened the window that was only a few meters from somebody's private balcony on the building next door. The bed was small and uncomfortable and the bathroom just as small. There wasn't enough outlets for all by devices to charge.

The next morning I made my way to the breakfast room which was quite the opposite of the other parts of the hotel. It was sunny and cheerful and offered a compelling array of things to eat.

By no means was this place a budget hotel but it wasn't priced out of range for my travel policy either (unlike the in house restaurant). I will not likely stay here again because it isn't really set up for business travelers.

Parking is on site when there are spaces left. Internet was slow to unusable. AC was not to be found. The city center is on the doorstep with tons of eating establishments from which to chose.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank IMFLYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel transmits luxury and high rollers. Lobby, reception and etc. look very luxurious.
Location is excellent, just a cross the street of Ettlingen old city. This very convenient.
However rephrasing Tolkien, not all that glitters is gold.
The Hotel is very complicated and it is hard to move around. Rooms maintain “old style” with fake leather straps on furniture instead of handles. Didn’t like it very much. Rooms are not luxurious.
Breakfast buffet is excellent, but also expensive, 28€.
Hotel rate is also high.
Bottom line, if you are on the budget, it is nit for you.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank albert12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed at this hotel with friends. They claim it is 5 stars (i would say - close) and they've got a Michelin star. Not sure why some said they had to pay for parking - ours was free outside. The room was very cozy, clean, had a free lock box, we liked the bathroom. It was a bit loud one morning due to construction in their inner yard. Beds were nice and comfortable. The best part was of course their pool, jacuzzis and 4 different kinds of hot baths, including a Roman Bath with salts and a real Finnish Sauna at about 200 Fahrenheit. They had a nice selection of free hot teas to go with it. We were lucky to be there off season in the middle of the week, so the whole jacuzzi/sauna was basically used only by us. Nice European breakfast, with large selection of breads, cheese, sausage, fish, fresh squeezed juices, champagne, decent coffee etc. We also had one night with dinner included, which was classic German cuisine, nothing exceptional, but hearty and not bad at all. Additional perk is the town itself -- it is a quaint small German town with a decent variety of shops and restaurants, everything within walking distance. If you have a few days to kill in Germany, would certainly recommend the place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inner yard are very quiet. Also, try to book with a deal (e.g. groupon etc.)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LeoP220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews