We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh the views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Der Westerhof Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tegernsee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Stayed for a special occasion and communication with the hotel was spot on. They decorated the room with the items sent and a great effort was made to make our stay special, and it was.

Room was a delux double, must admit I was expecting a little more from the room, but the fantastic view from the room over the surrounding area and the fantastic lake more than made up for it. Having the balcony to sit out and enjoy the cool mountain air and the town below was perfect.

The public areas are smart, if eclectic and there is always something of interest to catch your eye in the labyrinth of corridors.

The breakfast can be taken on the outdoor terrace which of course affords the same wonderful outlook. Breakfast itself was extremely tasty with quality ingredients all served perfectly.

We went out sailing one day with the hotel which was great fun, first time for everything. You can walk into town down the trails from the hotel as well as plenty of walks around the area, takes about 15mins, coming back a different matter!

We had a celebratory dinner at the Stieler-Haus beside the lake, picked up and taken had a wonderful private evening then picked up and driven back to the hotel.

Would I recommend a stay here, absolutely and hope to visit again in the future

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Englandsscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear guest,

I was absolutely thrilled when reading your “outstanding” review this morning!

It is so great to hear that we came through for you during this special occasion. This is what our business of hospitality is all about! Thanks for your lovely words and I promise to share this with everyone who impacted your stay.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back again pretty soon. Please feel free to drop me a note.

Warmest Regards from Lake Tegernsee
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for Der Westerhof Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

The hotel is up the hills and it offers a breathtaking view of Tegernsee. Quite a few mountain paths leading to and fro offers a great way to explore the surroundings. A really great experience to have breakfast at the hotel where the deck of the restaurant offers a panoramic view of the lake.
Great service by the people who run the place and they have a lovely restaurant close to lake which has great food and good collection of local wine.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the lake
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sm016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

what a wonderful review and what a "wunderbar experience". Thank you so much for your great recommendation!
So happy to realize that you enjoyed your stay as well as the breathtaking view from your room over lake Tegernsee. Great value for money as well as personality and individuality in guest service is our utmost goal.

We really appreciate the positive comments on behalf of our Restaurant "Westerhof Café im Stieler-Haus” as well. This property is our exterior restaurant in the city of Tegernsee, close to the lake.
Thanks a lot and hopefully you will have a chance for a second visit at the Hotel Der Westerhof.

Sunny regards from Tegernsee
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 days at the traditional Westerhof Hotel. Stayed in the deluxe suite (43). Great space and exceptional view. Couches could be cleaned and or up graded.
Despite the heavy rain and winds for three days we still enjoyed our time.
Reception staff very helpful- Lisa at reception desk was most helpful and pleasant .
We were still able to enjoy the beautiful view of Tegensee Lake and mountains.
The breakfast selection was exceptional and very delicious.
However I was repulsed at one point when I almost swallow a piece of blond hair one morning for breakfast . Not blaming hotel staff, it could of been a guest playing and flipping with their hair.
One night our room accommodated six guests to watch the finale of the hit show The Bachelorette. The champagne, wine and beer was flowing and of course some guest not interested in the show ran onto the huge balcony for a smoke.
Overall a great hotel and surrounding hiking area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Hello Victor, thank you so much for the great review. It can be a challenge that each guest we welcome finds just what they are looking for, and we are happy you did.
The view upon the lake and the mountains from each hotel rooms´ balcony is exceptional, you are absolutely right. Thank you also for the shout out on our reception staff, Lisa included, and on the variety of our breakfast selection. As we all know, there is nothing better than a great breakfast to start the day. Most of our summer season is sunny with beautiful blue sky and plenty of sunshine, nevertheless it can happen in the Alps that rain clouds are hanging around the area.
So probably you will return one day and we try to arrange sunshine before your arrival

Thank you for the positive comments and your recommendation.
Kind regards from Lake Tegernsee
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Beautifully maintained and situated on top of the hill with a great view, very friendly but a bit pricy for the size of the room. Great breakfast. Authentic feeling and art collection on the floors. Recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank denzey_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear guests,
thank you for choosing the Hotel Der Westerhof during your stay in Tegernsee and thanks a lot for sharing your feedback with us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the stunning views over the lake and the city.
We really appreciate the positive comments on behalf of the hotel staff as well as the rich variety of food at the breakfast buffet.
There are some other room categories besides the category classic, you have chosen. With larger room space and different interior design. For example our Business Rooms and several Suites. So please ask our front office team or get some inspiration
when using the online booking tool on our hotel website.
Looking forward seeing you again when you are back in the area.

Best regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Hotel up high on hill overlooking Lake Tegernsee so incredible views from our room. Friendly and helpful staff, amazing breakfasts and wonderful quiet location. However, our room was rather cramped, but this did not detract from our general enjoyment

Room Tip: All the rooms faced the view.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Guests, what a nice review to the start of the pre-summer season.
Thank you for all the lovely comments and please make it a point to return again someday. By the way, you are right, the Comfort Rooms are smaller and furnished in a more casual style than the rest of our guest rooms. Nevertheless the incredible view is included in all Westerhof rooms. Next time please ask for one of our De Luxe Rooms or a Junior Suite.
We will gladly welcome you back with a smile and do our best to make the experience even better. Sunny regards from Tegernsee
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegernsee
0.3 km away
Das Tegernsee
Das Tegernsee
#1 of 9 in Tegernsee
449 reviews
0.8 km away
Seehotel Luitpold
Seehotel Luitpold
#2 of 9 in Tegernsee
151 reviews
2.3 km away
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
Althoff Seehotel Ueberfahrt
#2 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Aparthotel Fackler
Aparthotel Fackler
#6 of 9 in Tegernsee
14 reviews
2.4 km away
Bachmair Hotel am See
Bachmair Hotel am See
#9 of 12 in Rottach-Egern
158 reviews
11.2 km away
Arabella Alpenhotel am Spitzingsee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Westerhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Westerhof Hotel

Address: Olaf-Gulbransson-Str. 19, 83684 Tegernsee, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Tegernsee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Tegernsee
Price Range: RM884 - RM1,657 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Westerhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Westerhof, formerly part of the Tegernsee monastery, is set in a sunny location in the traditional Tegernsee Tal valley approx. 180m above the lake. The old Bavarian farmhouse hosts a family-run hotel with tastefully equipped rooms. Sunbathing terrace in the park, south-facing balconies with stunning views of the Alpine foothills and the valley. Numerous hiking trails and ski slopes nearby. A playground for your kids, library and conference rooms with internet access also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Der Westerhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing