We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Der Westerhof Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Das Tegernsee(Tegernsee)
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$319/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Leeberghof(Tegernsee)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ledererhof(Tegernsee)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Der Lieberhof(Tegernsee)
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Fackler(Tegernsee)
Priceline
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
106
42
13
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
42
13
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswonderful servicetrain stationsmall roomexcellent viewhotel stafflovely hotelbeautiful lakegreat breakfastnext morninghillbalconyguestsviewssaunawalksenjoymentgermany
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The hotel is up the hills and it offers a breathtaking view of Tegernsee. Quite a few mountain paths leading to and fro offers a great way to explore the surroundings. A really great experience to have breakfast at the hotel where the deck of the restaurant offers a panoramic view of the lake.
Great service by the people who run the place and they have a lovely restaurant close to lake which has great food and good collection of local wine.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the lake
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sm016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Guest,

what a wonderful review and what a "wunderbar experience". Thank you so much for your great recommendation!
So happy to realize that you enjoyed your stay as well as the breathtaking view from your room over lake Tegernsee. Great value for money as well as personality and individuality in guest service is our utmost goal.

We really appreciate the positive comments on behalf of our Restaurant "Westerhof Café im Stieler-Haus” as well. This property is our exterior restaurant in the city of Tegernsee, close to the lake.
Thanks a lot and hopefully you will have a chance for a second visit at the Hotel Der Westerhof.

Sunny regards from Tegernsee
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Spent 3 days at the traditional Westerhof Hotel. Stayed in the deluxe suite (43). Great space and exceptional view. Couches could be cleaned and or up graded.
Despite the heavy rain and winds for three days we still enjoyed our time.
Reception staff very helpful- Lisa at reception desk was most helpful and pleasant .
We were still able to enjoy the beautiful view of Tegensee Lake and mountains.
The breakfast selection was exceptional and very delicious.
However I was repulsed at one point when I almost swallow a piece of blond hair one morning for breakfast . Not blaming hotel staff, it could of been a guest playing and flipping with their hair.
One night our room accommodated six guests to watch the finale of the hit show The Bachelorette. The champagne, wine and beer was flowing and of course some guest not interested in the show ran onto the huge balcony for a smoke.
Overall a great hotel and surrounding hiking area.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Victor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Hello Victor, thank you so much for the great review. It can be a challenge that each guest we welcome finds just what they are looking for, and we are happy you did.
The view upon the lake and the mountains from each hotel rooms´ balcony is exceptional, you are absolutely right. Thank you also for the shout out on our reception staff, Lisa included, and on the variety of our breakfast selection. As we all know, there is nothing better than a great breakfast to start the day. Most of our summer season is sunny with beautiful blue sky and plenty of sunshine, nevertheless it can happen in the Alps that rain clouds are hanging around the area.
So probably you will return one day and we try to arrange sunshine before your arrival

Thank you for the positive comments and your recommendation.
Kind regards from Lake Tegernsee
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Beautifully maintained and situated on top of the hill with a great view, very friendly but a bit pricy for the size of the room. Great breakfast. Authentic feeling and art collection on the floors. Recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank denzey_berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear guests,
thank you for choosing the Hotel Der Westerhof during your stay in Tegernsee and thanks a lot for sharing your feedback with us.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the stunning views over the lake and the city.
We really appreciate the positive comments on behalf of the hotel staff as well as the rich variety of food at the breakfast buffet.
There are some other room categories besides the category classic, you have chosen. With larger room space and different interior design. For example our Business Rooms and several Suites. So please ask our front office team or get some inspiration
when using the online booking tool on our hotel website.
Looking forward seeing you again when you are back in the area.

Best regards
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Hotel up high on hill overlooking Lake Tegernsee so incredible views from our room. Friendly and helpful staff, amazing breakfasts and wonderful quiet location. However, our room was rather cramped, but this did not detract from our general enjoyment

Room Tip: All the rooms faced the view.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2017

Dear Guests, what a nice review to the start of the pre-summer season.
Thank you for all the lovely comments and please make it a point to return again someday. By the way, you are right, the Comfort Rooms are smaller and furnished in a more casual style than the rest of our guest rooms. Nevertheless the incredible view is included in all Westerhof rooms. Next time please ask for one of our De Luxe Rooms or a Junior Suite.
We will gladly welcome you back with a smile and do our best to make the experience even better. Sunny regards from Tegernsee
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

I had a very nice room with view on the lake. Everything was new and tidy. When I read the other posts, it seems that there are as well rooms which are much older. Maybe it makes sure to clarify this with the reservation.
I haven't tried the spa area, so no comment possible.
The breakfast was outstanding, nothing to complain. The hotel offers as well a shuttle service to go downtown.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dr Andreas G, Inhaber at Der Westerhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Thank you, short and to the point and very kind too! We are all glad you had a nice time and once again, I think it is our wonderful guests that bring out the best in us! Thank you again for the wonderful review and I hope we see you soon.

Kind regards from Lake Tegernsee
Dr. Andreas Greither
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews