We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days At Sea Beach Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Trafalgar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Wow! I am more than excited to inform the World of the experiences we had with Days At Sea. I chose this outstanding paradise from many (as a surprise to my wife), to celebrate her birthday, and there are no words that can express what we experienced.

Let's look at a few points that make Days At Sea our best holiday destination so far, by far:
* The family (Marise, Eric, Prudence, Christine, Patricia, and Bab' Khuse) was exceptional, and their abundance kindness makes one think they are cut from the same cloth - we never felt a "lodge experience", but a home experience.
* Exquisite design for our suite - Inyoni (bird), with a complete view of an Indian ocean.
* The food. Hands off to the family, we were wowed by all we had, especially the cup-cakes to celebrate the birthday - we had to ask to take them away and feasted on them on the way home - personally, I had never tasted something like those cakes...
* Ocean - an adventurous walk of 200 metres from the suites gets one into a long stretch of
white sandy beach.

Is this all? No. There is so much more...just book and experience for yourself!

One more thing, this paradise, is so not for "passerby", but for a long stay to experience the best this family has to offer.

Mr & Mrs Ndlovu,
Richards Bay, KZN
30 Sep. 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tseli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

We are very grateful that you took your precious time for this wonderful review. It was great having you at our little spot of paradise and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012

We are from Dubai and tried to escape the heat. First time in South Africa on a direct flight to Durban. We read about this hotel and it was even better than we thought. Everything was flawless from suite to service. Very respectful and friendly, very personal and respectful also with our religion. Good Halal food and not trying to convince of what we do not want. The surrounding nature is paradise and we felt extremely safe. It was warm but not too hot and for us it has been a wonderful place. The Umkhomo Suite is big but intimate with a private terrace overlooking the ocean. We were respected and treated like VIPs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohammed_mDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushara, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

It is always a pleasure having guests who honor our efforts to tailor your stay to fit the expectations or even more. Thank you so much for taking your time writing these nice words. We are very grateful that you were so respectful and friendly towards the whole team. Our doors are always wide open for you and we hope to have you back in a short time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Days at Sea Boutique Lodge embodies all that any sophisticated leisure traveller might wish to encounter and more. It is not often that a single Property can play with and impress all the senses in one clean measure : Days at Sea does exactly this ! Before even entering the Property you hear rolling waves or the relaxing calmness of the sea, which is a short walking distance away through a pretty rambling pathway, once inside the "Ibiza" style mood music is both entrancing and captivating; from all angles the discreetly placed buildings making up the Lodge fit in seamlessly with the surroundings and the cleverly positioned rooms offer panoramic views of the ocean outside and internally there is an eclectic collection and placement of artwork conceived and executed by the owner and founder of this idyllic spot ; the fresh ocean breeze and lush tropical gardens contribute to the myriad natural smells that assault with pleasure ; the taste factor is one that will be truly memorable as attention to details out of the compact but attentive kitchen is unmatched along the South Coast - a true testament to the commitment made by the owners who are experienced Global travellers with sophisticated palates - not forgetting of course a Cellar with a truly exceptional collection of fines wines collected over a period of time and stored under ideal conditions ; the external and internal sculptures plus bespoke designed wooden and cane furniture in the public and lounging areas add tactile elements that are unique and some of the grand OTT private loungers in each room not only contribute to the interesting decor but simply invite comfortable day-time and night-time lounging.

Days at Sea is extremely private and ideal for both domestic and International travellers who will appreciate a non-vanilla approach to hospitality - service delivery is highly personalised and tailor-made to match individual requirements be it late breakfasts, private dinners, beach massages, golf excursions or simply R&R . The Lodge policy on children under 12 suited me as this is truly an Adult environment and is positioned accordingly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushara, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Yegas, as our much valued guest we have to thank you once again for having been with us. We know about your tight time schedule and we appreciate so much that you took some minutes of you time to write this detailed review. The team hopes to see you back soon to share some of the beautiful evenings with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Our travel through South Africa brought us to a small place on Durbans South Coast called Days At Sea. We are all golfers and did not that much from the area. The website looked nice and we booked there with three couples. I must say: this was like the lucky draw! We ended up more with our cocktails at the pool overlooking the ocean than playing golf. They gave us the best suites and the service is that of a luxury hotel. When you go there you must try the dinners. The food is like 3 Michelin stars and the wine choices are over the top. Most of us had a massage and the therapist was not only pretty and charming, she was very good and sorted out my shoulder problems. I am not an art fanatic but the rooms are so beautifully furnished with modern artworks that I started to read in the books about the artists. For all of us it was a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dennis g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for your kind review. It is always so important for us, to have the feed back from our guests in order to keep our level as is. We hope to see you back again soon at DAYS AT SEA!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

If you want to experience the feel of the inside of a clear cut
'blue' diamond... This is it!!
Such modern and trendy tranquillity can only have been achieved by a genius..
all this style, without disturbing the natural surroundings...
Well done!! Thanks for all the generosity and utmost friendliness.
Wish I was not 620km away.....

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marinaDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYSATSEA, Owner at Days At Sea Beach Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2012

It was a great pleasure for us to have you at our little spot of paradise. We always work hard on improvements to be able to offer a memorable experience. Thank you for the friendly compliments and for comparing the Lodge with a blue clear diamant. Despite your long drive we hope to see you back soon to share some of these unforgettable nights with food and wine and Pavarotti...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trafalgar
1.8 km away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
15 km away
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
Wild Coast Sun Hotel
#2 of 4 in Port Edward
253 reviews
11.2 km away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 km away
La Cote d'Azur
La Cote d'Azur
#3 of 6 in Margate
72 reviews
13.3 km away
Splendid Inn Port Edward
Splendid Inn Port Edward
#4 of 4 in Port Edward
97 reviews
0.4 km away
Nakai Beach Homestay
Nakai Beach Homestay
#1 of 2 in Trafalgar
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days At Sea Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days At Sea Beach Lodge

Address: 39 Effingham Parade, Trafalgar 4275, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Trafalgar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trafalgar
Price Range: RM611 - RM3,409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Days At Sea Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days at Sea. Entrance to a vision. Days At Sea is a place of luxury, privacy and peace. We are proud to have a platinum awarded wine cellar by Diners International, a private French style restaurant as well as a Chill Out Lounge with Cafe Del Mar Music for your sundowner. Days At Sea has been rated 9 to 10 by British Airways Horizon Magazine and is published in the Hideaways Hotels Klocke 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 ,2013,2014 and 2015 as one of the 100 most beautiful hideaway hotels of the world. It is a place full of art and lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Days At Sea Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing