We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Chesa Randolina(Sils im Engadin)
Book now, pay at stay
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Edelweiss(Sils im Engadin)(Great Value!)
US$429
US$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cervo Sils(Sils im Engadin)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Parkhotel Margna(Sils im Engadin)
US$310
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pensiun Chesa Pool(Sils im Engadin)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Schweizerhof(Sils-Segl Maria)
US$193
US$188
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Privata(Sils im Engadin)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Fex(Sils im Engadin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Seraina(Sils im Engadin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
262
25
4
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
25
4
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury hotelsils mariawine cellarhalf boardpublic areasfirst ratetrain stationst moritzthank you very muchswiss alpsworth every pennyenjoy your dinnerbreathtaking viewsan oasiswellness areamountain bikingengadin valley
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2017

Wow. I am at a loss for words...
This is a place of peace. This is where you come to escape the tastelessness of modern sensibilities, the mundanity and, often, the insanity of everyday life in the current world. You have to experience the Waldhaus at least once in your life. When you enter the Waldhaus you're entering a different world, where time stands still. Where string quartets perform the waltzes of Strauss as you enjoy your dinner after a long day of hiking around the lakes. Everything is done with with class and perfection at the Waldhaus. Although I traveled alone, I would say that this is the most romantic hotel I've ever stayed in and it would be the perfect option for a European honeymoon. Breakfast was particularly delightful - everything was fresh and local. The variety was stunning. I also enjoyed the newly-renovated spa and cannot imagine a more relaxing place on Earth. It was heartbreaking to leave the Waldhaus, but bittersweet... I won't be able to stay away for long!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SJMcGuire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldhaus-Sils, Inhaber at Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

We thank you a lot for your wonderful words. It gives us great pleasure to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Waldhaus.
We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Hotel Waldhaus Sils
Family Dietrich & Kienberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

I‘ve stayed three times in the Waldhaus. The hotel is located in a magnificent region. The atmosphere, the friendliness of the staff, the quality of the food and the rooms in this hotel are just perfect. Enjoy the unique mountain region in the Waldhaus, which advertises with the slogan „a familia affair“.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldhaus-Sils, Inhaber at Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thank you very much for your kind review. We have been delighted to welcome you back at the Waldhaus and are looking forward to your next visit.

Hotel Waldhaus Sils
Family Dietrich & Kienberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Even though I usually don't book half board, I did it here and it was excellent. The Waldhaus is like an oasis from another time above the Engadine Valley. We were there during full moon and had a room with a fantastic view over the lake. Usually I hate to wake up in the night - in the Waldhaus I was lucky to do so....we also enjoyed the bar, the excellent breakfast buffet, the dinner and the great hospitality of all the staff. Thanks a lot to everybody who made our stay unforgettable.

Room Tip: room with a view over the lake
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Annemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldhaus-Sils, Inhaber at Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Such a nice review – thank you a lot for your kind words. It is wonderful to hear that you had a unforgettable stay at the Waldhaus. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Hotel Waldhaus Sils
Family Dietrich & Kienberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

It was some time since I have been here last. The "Waldhaus" is a legend, an old lady, like a queen on her throne on the hill in the middle of the woods. And as it is like that, staying at the Waldhaus is a privilege and for the most part a joy.

When you book a room here you do it carefully, as it will cost you a lot. Therefore you know that this hotel is not a place to look for perfection, but for historical and therefore mostly charming imperfections.

The two brothers in charge do a lot, they know what heritage they are carrying on their shoulders. And they should be thanked for it. But, a tiny little but, sometimes you wish for a hotel director that radiates a more senior and, yes, more stern leadership.

For instance: dining and having breakfast at the Waldhaus is an experience of its own. Th sheer grandeur of the hall is breathtaking. And also here there is a "but" - and it relates directly to the one mentioned before: leadership of the personnel. Sometimes it feels very chaotic. Many small mistakes are made. Forgotten things, not having listened carefully. Is it a also language problem? Sometimes there are too many people running around and a bit too headless. Also in the morning it's not a relaxing atmosphere; too many people running around (staff and guests). Here I miss a clear leadership and clear tasks for the different types of servers.

The rooms are like the rooms are at the Waldhaus. In every respect historic - some ancient, some look out of the 80s. They have charme, most definitely, but don't look for perfection.

The newly built SPA is interesting if you look at it in a architectonic way, but otherwise it feels very cold, very clinical, very claustrophobic. It's an architect's dream, but otherwise very uncomfortable - and so terribly humourless. Much better is the pool upstairs, again out of the 80s, but good to take a swim. And with with a view into the woods.

People are very helpful and they keep surprising you knowing your name and room number.

All in all: a legend with some imperfections that are part of the charme. But more leadership of the staff is needed, especially at the restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mortimer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldhaus-Sils, Inhaber at Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you a lot for your positive but also constructive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay - after a long break – at the Waldhaus.

We are sorry that you felt uncomfortable during the diner and the breakfast and we are sorry if you got the impression of a hectic service team and there might have been some missunderstandings. Your feedback is important to us, than this should not be the case and like in all the others department, we aim to provide the guest a very good service, guest oriented, friendly and not to stiff.

We are pleased to hear that you like the swimming pool which had last year a very complex renovation and is dating from 1970. The newly built spa you don’t seem to like and it is true that the architectur of it was very important to us (not only to the architekt) and the spa itself we wanted to have sober without distractions.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you back in Sils-Maria.

Hotel Waldhaus Sils
Family Dietrich & Kienberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Quite simply the most luxuriously palatial mom-&pop-run B&B ever! Worth every penny!

There is a certain inexplicably magical tranquility that comes with being Engadin. This hotel captures this alpine nectar and literally bottles it. From the moment you arrive at reception where one of the owners is there to receive you with a ready smile, to the discrete yet exemplary service of the staff (the majority of who are probably still in their early twenties), you really are made to feel genuinely welcome to a world of glamour without gaudiness, and poise without pretentiousness.
Shown upstairs to the room you get views of Lakes on either side. The best views (with a balcony) are of Lake Sils, the early morning dew creates both a semi-translouscent mist which oozes wafts of a peaty pine scent so fresh its an enticement to venture into the mountains overlooking the lake.
Breakfast in the restaurant is a feast enough for any potentate. Enough anyway for the day's exertions. The high ceilings and woodland views give the breakfast room a liberating airiness, even when the restaurant is packed to the rafters.
Dinner at the other restaurant with its wood panels and low wood paneled ceilings gives a warm intimacy that compliments the exquisite creations of the chef. I recommend the Chateaubriand for two.
The trio/quartet play familiar classical and jazz favourites in the background.
The trio also serenaded guests in the garden area (eatery) behind the swimming pool and tennis courts. It's the next best place to read other than the balcony.
If you have time do visit the swimming pool, it is more functional than flashy.
Waldhaus really does live upto the very best standards you would find in Marquee hotels of the luxury chains. But it does this with the homeliness of a mom and pop bed&Breakfast (except the beds cost 10,000 euros and the breakfast is fit for a king).

It is expensive. But then again it is that good!

Room Tip: Get a room above the tree line for better views of Lake Sils
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldhaus-Sils, Inhaber at Hotel Waldhaus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Waldhaus to the fullest. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back very soon.

Hotel Waldhaus Sils
Familie Dietrich & Kienberger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews