We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Waldhaus(Sils im Engadin)
US$461
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Chesa Randolina(Sils im Engadin)
US$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkhotel Margna(Sils im Engadin)
US$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Post(Sils im Engadin)(Great Value!)
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pensiun Chesa Pool(Sils im Engadin)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Edelweiss(Sils im Engadin)(Great Value!)
US$230
US$215
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$267/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Schweizerhof(Sils-Segl Maria)
US$191
US$186
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Maria(Sils im Engadin)(Great Value!)
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Seraina(Sils im Engadin)(Great Value!)
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Chesa Grischa(Sils im Engadin)
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveller rating
81
15
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
15
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsset menucable carmain coursefamily owned hoteltwo nightspost officebreadmountain peakshalf boarda short bus ridesweet treatsfree travelinclusive passyogurtworld cupsmall villagesoup
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 98 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed for three nights at the end of a week's walking tour of the Engadine. On arrival we received a warm reception by the proprietor who runs this excellent hotel. The hotel is centrally located and next to paths round both the lakes, the Fex Valley (very beautiful) and higher walks above the lakes and close to the cable car. It is a traditional Swiss hotel with comfortable and spacious rooms. The meals were delicious. There is a set menu which everyone has (one can ask for alternatives when the menu is put up in the morning). We found every course on every day to be utterly delicious. It was the first time either of us had been offered 'seconds', which was welcome after full days in the hills. Service was top class and the hotel has a lovely friendly atmosphere. The packed lunch was also very good - we particularly enjoyed the hard boiled egg, which cam with an individual sachet of salt and three cherry tomatoes in their own bag. With two lovely sandwiches, fruit and chocolate it was the perfect lunch eaten high above the Silvaplana lake.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rosenau65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Amazing does not begin to describe this incredible hotel in one of Switzerland's most scenic valleys. Hotel Privata exceeded my expectations from the moment we arrived and did so every single day we were there. We were warmly greeted upon arrival after a long night of travel and I had arranged for a special birthday present to be sent ahead to the hotel for my partner and it was presented just adding to the splendor. The hotel is warm and inviting as well as the owners and staff. The help presented as to must do sights and adventures was great. A inclusive pass for trams and buses was part of our stay and it was a great value. Our first dinner was fantastic! Truly an epicurean delight , followed by a fantastic offering at breakfast of a wonderful buffet. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. Our second dinner was even better than the first, something, I did not expect and was greeted by the chefs as well, great touch! The room was a great view, very comfortable best, very clean and inviting. This is one of those places that I almost regret sharing since I would love to keep it to ourselves. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights while on a independent walking trip. The room and bath were small with a phone booth size shower, but everything in the room was of the highest quality and immaculate.
The building is in the traditional Engadin style - lots of light wood paneling and stone floors.
Half board which is breakfast and dinner
For breakfast a generous assortment of breads, yogurts, etc
The dinners are what will stay in my memory- set menu - 4 course - starter-soup-main course; carrot cream soup with vanilla, cherries in red wine with cinnamon ice cream, fresh figs. Amazing!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Livingthedream999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

i think this is about my fourth visit to hotel privata. and that in itself says something.
only a couple of minutes' walk from the post office bus stop, hotel privata is handy to everything in this small village. but that's just the start.
i was relieved to find the same chef (and many of the staff) are still here, which also says something about this family-owned hotel.
the food...ah, the food! go for the half board which includes breakfast and a four-course gourmet dinner.
a wonderful buffet breakfast starts the day with fresh fruit, juices, cereals, homemade birchermuesli, two types of egg dishes, half a dozen different types of still warm bread, various cheeses and cold cuts, and so much more...you get the idea.
complementary tea is offered in the afternoon, along with some small sweet treats. if the sun is shining, take your tea outside to enjoy the lovely garden.
for dinner, the chef focuses on mediterannean dishes - tasty, healthy, varied, attractively presented...and seconds are offered just on the off-chance you feel like a little more of the main course.
a good wine list includes several swiss wines which, because the country consumes most of what it produces, you probably won't find anywhere outside switzerland.
even the wi-fi has been upgraded to a strong signal in the rooms; previously the best connection was down on the main level.
there's attention to detail throughout the public areas and the knotty pine rooms - artistic touches, homey touches.
friendly and helpful staff ensure you have a pleasant, memorable visit. and if you do stay two or more days in the summer, you receive a card that entitles you to free travel on the local buses and, most importantly, on all the mountain gondolas and chairlifts in the area - and that can add up to a significant saving.
just a short bus ride from st moritz, sils is well located to explore the engadin(e) area. and for my money, hotel privata is certainly the place to stay.

Room Tip: the front looks out on the town square action (it's quiet at night). the back has more rooms with balconies and looks out on more trees.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We just returned yesterday from 3 nights in the Hotel Private and I wanted to take a moment to praise this wonderful hotel. Friendly, clean, great location, helpful, delightful rooms and best of all wonderful food. You won't go wrong with Hotel Privata.

Room Tip: there is no elevator so come with good knees.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jandcdickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews