We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and peaceful!”
Review of Hotel Privata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Privata
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sils im Engadin
Reviewed 26 September 2017

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Privata for two nights in September 2017. It is a beautiful hotel set in the very quaint village of Sils Maria. The room is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. I think they have the BEST showers of any place I have stayed at! The breakfast is fantastic with plenty of food choices. They do offer set dinner but we did not eat at the hotel. The staff is very helpful and eager to help with places to see and hiking routes. They even give free transportation cards per person to go up the cable cars and ride on the buses for free--that saves a lot of money. The village is just a joy to walk around and it is peaceful change from St. Moritz. Stay here! You will LOVE it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SonaGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

We stayed for three nights at the end of a week's walking tour of the Engadine. On arrival we received a warm reception by the proprietor who runs this excellent hotel. The hotel is centrally located and next to paths round both the lakes, the Fex Valley (very beautiful) and higher walks above the lakes and close to the cable car. It is a traditional Swiss hotel with comfortable and spacious rooms. The meals were delicious. There is a set menu which everyone has (one can ask for alternatives when the menu is put up in the morning). We found every course on every day to be utterly delicious. It was the first time either of us had been offered 'seconds', which was welcome after full days in the hills. Service was top class and the hotel has a lovely friendly atmosphere. The packed lunch was also very good - we particularly enjoyed the hard boiled egg, which cam with an individual sachet of salt and three cherry tomatoes in their own bag. With two lovely sandwiches, fruit and chocolate it was the perfect lunch eaten high above the Silvaplana lake.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rosenau65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Amazing does not begin to describe this incredible hotel in one of Switzerland's most scenic valleys. Hotel Privata exceeded my expectations from the moment we arrived and did so every single day we were there. We were warmly greeted upon arrival after a long night of travel and I had arranged for a special birthday present to be sent ahead to the hotel for my partner and it was presented just adding to the splendor. The hotel is warm and inviting as well as the owners and staff. The help presented as to must do sights and adventures was great. A inclusive pass for trams and buses was part of our stay and it was a great value. Our first dinner was fantastic! Truly an epicurean delight , followed by a fantastic offering at breakfast of a wonderful buffet. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. Our second dinner was even better than the first, something, I did not expect and was greeted by the chefs as well, great touch! The room was a great view, very comfortable best, very clean and inviting. This is one of those places that I almost regret sharing since I would love to keep it to ourselves. We will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 3 nights while on a independent walking trip. The room and bath were small with a phone booth size shower, but everything in the room was of the highest quality and immaculate.
The building is in the traditional Engadin style - lots of light wood paneling and stone floors.
Half board which is breakfast and dinner
For breakfast a generous assortment of breads, yogurts, etc
The dinners are what will stay in my memory- set menu - 4 course - starter-soup-main course; carrot cream soup with vanilla, cherries in red wine with cinnamon ice cream, fresh figs. Amazing!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Livingthedream999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

i think this is about my fourth visit to hotel privata. and that in itself says something.
only a couple of minutes' walk from the post office bus stop, hotel privata is handy to everything in this small village. but that's just the start.
i was relieved to find the same chef (and many of the staff) are still here, which also says something about this family-owned hotel.
the food...ah, the food! go for the half board which includes breakfast and a four-course gourmet dinner.
a wonderful buffet breakfast starts the day with fresh fruit, juices, cereals, homemade birchermuesli, two types of egg dishes, half a dozen different types of still warm bread, various cheeses and cold cuts, and so much more...you get the idea.
complementary tea is offered in the afternoon, along with some small sweet treats. if the sun is shining, take your tea outside to enjoy the lovely garden.
for dinner, the chef focuses on mediterannean dishes - tasty, healthy, varied, attractively presented...and seconds are offered just on the off-chance you feel like a little more of the main course.
a good wine list includes several swiss wines which, because the country consumes most of what it produces, you probably won't find anywhere outside switzerland.
even the wi-fi has been upgraded to a strong signal in the rooms; previously the best connection was down on the main level.
there's attention to detail throughout the public areas and the knotty pine rooms - artistic touches, homey touches.
friendly and helpful staff ensure you have a pleasant, memorable visit. and if you do stay two or more days in the summer, you receive a card that entitles you to free travel on the local buses and, most importantly, on all the mountain gondolas and chairlifts in the area - and that can add up to a significant saving.
just a short bus ride from st moritz, sils is well located to explore the engadin(e) area. and for my money, hotel privata is certainly the place to stay.

Room Tip: the front looks out on the town square action (it's quiet at night). the back has more rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sils im Engadin hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#1 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
281 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Schweizerhof
Hotel Schweizerhof
#1 of 1 in Sils-Segl Maria
170 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Cervo Sils
Hotel Cervo Sils
#7 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
71 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Chesa Randolina
Hotel Chesa Randolina
#4 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
71 reviews
0.7 km away
Parkhotel Margna
Parkhotel Margna
#6 of 13 in Sils im Engadin
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Privata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Privata

Address: Via da Marias 83, Sils im Engadin 7514, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Sils im Engadin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sils im Engadin
Price Range: RM1,097 - RM1,358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Privata 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wenn Sie langer als 1 Nacht bleiben, nutzen Sie im Sommer die Seilbahn und die offentlichen Verkehrsmittel kostenfrei. Im Winter erhalten sie Ermassigungen auf Skipasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Privata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing