We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough ... but in need of serious refresher.”
Review of Hotel du Golf

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Golf
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Let’s get this out of the way first, this is not a bad hotel as such, but definitely not living up to expectations considering it is advertised as a traditional luxury chalet style family hotel.

The hotel is slightly old fashioned save for the spa and breakfast area. The rooms looks like they haven’t been renovated in a long time, are very warms and stuffy, the beds pretty uncomfortable. The basement play area seems like it has been borrowed straight form the nearest youth hostel.

Valley-facing rooms have nice views over the mountains but no kettle, iron, coffee or tea. Book on the wrong side and you overlook the road and get woken up by the train whistle below. Nice restaurant with friendly staff and overall good food but slow service and incorrect final bill.

Overall, this is not a bad hotel, but definitely not living up to 4-star expectations. Given you’re in a Swiss ski resort, you can expect to be overcharged somewhat but Hotel du Golf is taking this principle it quite a bit far unless you’re buying your stay on offer.

Room Tip: Valley-facing rooms are a must
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Round_Earth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Golf
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights, just off season in January to take advantage of a short ski break.

The hotel was slightly old fashioned save for the huge renovated ground floor that contains the spa and conference rooms. But my room was large with a lovely spacious bathroom.

I had picked the hotel for ease of access to the ski slopes as it is 50 m from the train station. Perfect also if arriving by public transport.

I was unable to take advantage of the special 20% discount this past low season week because I was a single traveller.... :( but, did take advantage of the resort's reduced price ski pass incentive tied to this hotel - which was a godsend to the budget!

Breakfast was super - big, varied and help yourself - with plenty of sandwich making options for picnic up the mountain.

The huge plus about the hotel was not the family management but the young and enthusiastic front of house staff. All absolutely delightful - friendly and multi-lingual. Thank you Barbora, Alex, Tomas, Lena. Amber - you were all a credit to the hotel.

The restaurant for dinner had a 60chf menu but I discovered you could just pay for one course or take the meal to your room. I was alone so the beautiful dining room and log fire was wasted on me!

The only real downside was the INCREDIBLY hard mattresses in 216. I couldn't sleep the first night but after mentioning it was provided with an additional duvet to sleep on. My room overlooked the roundabout so I could hear some traffic and the regular train trundling by. But was otherwise comfy.

The spa is free for guests with rives provided. The highlight for me was the hot tub on the terrace overlooking the mountains.

In summary - a very traditional hotel with typical prices for the resort. Lovely for a short visit such as mine.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sleepdeprivedmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

My son and I spent two weeks at the Hotel du Golf. We enjoyed our stay very much. The service was impeccable and the restaurants were excellent. The view was amazing! The hotel has added a spa which is enticing, as well. This is a great family hotel steps from the train station in Villars-Sur-Ollon.

I would choose the Hotel du Golf again!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank dneige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Enjoyed a snow free week at the Golf, but enjoyed the stay. Family room with a great view and staff helpful. Rooms ok, but beds pretty uncomfortable and need changing. Would be happy to return to see the guys at New Generation Ski School.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shaun M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2016

On the excellent side, it's very easy to get from the hotel to the villars ski slopes. We hop on the shuttle which is 2 minutes away from the hotel door, and we're on the slopes in 5 minutes. That's great and that was our main reason for booking the hotel.

On the good side, the dinner at the hotel is great.

On the less good side, the hotel is a little expensive. I know and accept that a hotel in a ski resort, in the middle of the ski season on a weekend, will cost a lot. We paid nearly 800-. for a weekend, incl breaki but not including more. That's a lot of money for a 4 star. Again, that might be the market price and no one put a gun to our head, but it's just expensive in ansolute terms. Add the ski lift prices, dinner and lunch and ski equipment, and you quickly get to around 1500 for a weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcgeneva2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Villars-sur-Ollon
0.5 km away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
648 reviews
0.1 km away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
164 reviews
0.4 km away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#5 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Residence Panorama Villars
Residence Panorama Villars
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
58 reviews
10.5 km away
Grand Hotel Des Bains
Grand Hotel Des Bains
#1 of 1 in Lavey-les-Bains
253 reviews
6.7 km away
Hotel Le Grand Chalet
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Golf

Address: Avenue Centrale 152, Villars-sur-Ollon 1884, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Villars-sur-Ollon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Villars-sur-Ollon
Price Range: RM1,031 - RM1,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Golf 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel du Golf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Hotel Villars Sur Ollon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing