We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only best in Switzerland ”
Review of Hotel Eden Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Eden Roc
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ascona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

You might disagree with the building architecture
You might disagree with the room size and style
You might disagree with its outrageous price
BUT
the best location of ANY hotel on Lago Maggiore
Excellent service of all the staff during our stay.
After an outstanding breakfast (with a view) go for a swim in either of there pools or in the lake. Have lunch at the small restaurant hanging over the late. Take a complimentary electric-bike and ride through town. If you do not want to stay at on of the 3 Gault & Millau Restaurants the concierge will manage to get you the best tables in any restaurants around the area. And finally finish the day with a cocktail prepared by Switzerland's best barman. What else are you looking for ?
Not for nothing they got rated best Swiss Hotel, the concierge and the barman also got best Swiss ratings in there area. Pretty sure I do not know about all distinctions

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Goeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

We spent one night in the "best hotel of Switzerland" according to Sonntagszeitung: A shocker and disappointment!

- The hotel looks like an old appartment building from the backside
- When arriving at main lobby, we were sent to another building with a reception that looks totaly outdated and dark
- The room we got is old style, super tiny bathroom and not even a coffee machine
- We were first sent to a part of the lakeside where all the sunbeds had bird dropings...and no towels
- After this very annyoing start I asked for the managing director and got some apologies and a tour of the hotel...not very helpful
- The service at the pool was super slow
- The restrooms in the mainpool area are unisex and had no more toilet paper and napkins!!!!!
- Subjective: The art, colors, furniture, carpets etc. are so outdated and do not match

Overall, we do not understand how this hotel has such high rankings. There are so many nicer 5 stars hotel in Switzerland.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheFrequentGig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Eden_Roc, Manager at Hotel Eden Roc, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

We refer to your recent stay at the hotel Eden Roc and regret that the whole visit has been a disaster and that you did not like the style of the hotel and the rooms in the Eden Roc Marina. A famous Ticino interior designer decorated lately these rooms that are usually very much appreciated by our clients. But as we all know - decoration and style is always depend on the personal taste of a person.

We apologize for the slow service at the pool, the dirty sunbeds and for the fact that the toilet paper and napkins had not been refilled. That is not our usual standard and we understand your disappointment.

It is a pity that you did not enjoy the time at the Hotel Eden Roc and once again we apologize for all the inconvenience caused.

Kind regards

HOTEL EDEN ROC

Andreas Gartmann
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

This was the fabulous hotel we chose when our first choice turned out not to be as expected. This is right on the water in Ascona and is absolutely fabulous. The room was clean and quiet. The included breakfast was amazing, including all sorts of delicious items plus champagne, coffee, fresh juices. There are three pools outside, and each is lovelier than the other. The hotel staff is wonderful, very friendly and accommodating. We loved everything about this place, but especially our luncheon at La Casetta, right on the water in an old historic building (you sit outside, surrounded by water and gorgeous scenery.) This building is where the secret treaty to end WW2 in Italy was signed. A plaque on the wall documents this. I would go back in a heart beat, and hope to do that someday.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 116marylouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

This is perhaps one of the most beautiful locations on Lake Maggiore. The hotel literally borders the lake with the most stunning views onto the mountains,

I've never stayed in the hotel but have dined there often. Sunday Brunch is quite exceptional, an incredible buffet choice of starters, pasta, mains, desert and cheese, as well as some breakfast items. It is a brunch after all! Service is very friendly and efficient with an outstanding wine list.

It's not a "cheap" lunch but this is a 5* hotel and is priced accordingly. Having said that considering the overall standard the price is reasonable compared to other top hotels and restaurants.

I take lunch there and then wander onto the deck next to the lake where I take my place on a sofa enjoying a Rum, Tea and a good cigar. the setting is just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuganoPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

We like the EDEN ROC, because it's located direct at the lake, just steps to jump in and swim. At cool or rainy days, we use the heated In/Outdoor-Pool and the magnificent Wellness area. And at evenings just steps away we like to stroll along the Boutiques and to have dinner at one of the many excellent Italian Restaurants.

Room Tip: Take a Lake View room on an upper floor: Quiet and best View. It's worth the Money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 104marcele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascona
1.5 km away
Castello del Sole Beach Resort & SPA
1.3 km away
Giardino Ascona
Giardino Ascona
#3 of 32 in Ascona
346 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Casa Berno
Hotel Casa Berno
#12 of 32 in Ascona
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Art Hotel Riposo
Art Hotel Riposo
#2 of 32 in Ascona
355 reviews
22.1 km away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.1 km away
Hotel Ascovilla
Hotel Ascovilla
#7 of 32 in Ascona
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden Roc

Address: via Albarelle 16, Ascona 6612, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lake Maggiore > Ascona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ascona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ascona
#3 Spa Hotel in Ascona
#3 Family Hotel in Ascona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ascona
#5 Business Hotel in Ascona
Price Range: RM1,708 - RM4,652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Eden Roc 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eden Roc Ascona is a true small gem with unique Mediterranean charm. The five-star resort stands out for its spaciousness and unrivalled lakeside view. In addition to its 37 suites and 58 rooms the hotel offers a 2000sqm spa. The inspiration for the design of the luxurious wellbeing area, with water world, sauna and seven new treatment rooms plus hairdressing salon was provided by the natural beauties of Ticino - more precisely, seven local flower species and the many colours of the lake, ranging from silver gray to sky blue. The Eden Roc Marina contains 16 rooms, a casual restaurant and an unrivalled range of water sport activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Eden Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Roc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing